孟加拉国

孟加拉小摄影师用镜头记录生活

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Bangladesh/2009/Tanvir Murad Topu
在孟加拉的巴鲁格莱姆(Balugram), 18岁的法丽达.卡屯(Forida Khatun)在给她身患残疾的妹妹塔吉默哈尔(Tajmohal)照相。舒克塔拉(Shuktara)是30名接受了联合国儿童基金会和欧盟支持的摄影培训的青少年之一。

孟加拉国达卡,2010年1月20日 – 三个月前,鲁柏亚.阿克特尔.什姆(Rubaiya Akhter Shimu)还从没用过照相机。今天,她正在一个摄影作品展上向数百人讲述摄影的力量,摄影展中包括了她的一些作品。

原来,14岁的鲁柏亚和其他29名孟加拉青少年一道,接受了基本摄影技巧强化培训。这项培训是联合国儿童基金会、欧盟委员会和帕斯沙拉(Patshala),以及南亚摄影学院共同发起的倡议的一部分。每名学生都拿到了一部照相机进行为期一周的摄影创作。

在当地社区拍照时,鲁柏亚听到一个女人在房子里哭泣。她走进去,然后把那位妇女遭丈夫殴打的情景照了下来。

鲁柏亚说:“晚上,那个丈夫在村里老人的陪伴下来到我家。他要我把照片删了。他还跟我保证他再也不会打他的妻子了。我当时就意识到一张照片如何可以反映社会的现实。”

照片讲述故事

这个项目旨在激励这些年轻人用摄影讲述自己的故事,并向他们介绍一种全新的表达方式。结果收集到了一系列触目惊人并使人感动的照片,表达了他们生活中的美与丑,并指出了孟加拉社会中存在的更广泛的问题。

为了庆祝《儿童权利公约》发表20周年,联合国儿童基金会在达卡喜来登酒店举办了这个摄影展。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Bangladesh/2009/Tanvir Murad Topu
7岁的舒克塔拉.卡屯用照片记录在孟加拉巴鲁格莱姆一家水泥厂工作的8岁童工。

记录现实问题

欧盟委员会驻孟加拉代表团团长兼大使斯特凡.弗罗维因(Stefan Frowein)博士跟观众们说,很多儿童日常生活中的现实仍与《儿童权利公约》中规定的标准形成巨大的反差。

他说:“数百万的儿童仍然没有获得优质教育、适当保健和社会关爱的机会。还有很多最恶劣形式的童工、性剥削和暴力虐待的受害者。

许多小摄影师决定,用镜头向世界反映这些复杂的社会问题。

克服困难

17岁的舒克塔拉主要关注的是童工问题,因为很多儿童在她家街对面的水泥工厂工作。

她说:“儿童是下一代领导人。如果他们被剥夺了应有的权利…他们将不能成为国家的主人。”

同很多参加培训的人一样,舒克塔拉在接近她的摄影对象方面遇到了一些困难,尤其因为她作为一个女孩子,很难进入男人的地盘。克服这项挑战帮助她建立了自信和主见。

一位摄影教师说:“这些青少年很关注社会。他们积极努力地拍摄照片来记录他们自己和其他孩子所面对的艰难现实。”

对法丽达(Forida)来说,决定摄影的主题很容易。法丽达和她的家人非常了解残疾人所面对的歧视,因为她的父亲和两个妹妹都患有侏儒症 。法丽达说:“我希望我的照片能让人们对残疾人问题敏感起来。”

法丽达的妹妹塔吉默哈尔(Tajmohal)刚出生时生长正常,但是到三岁的时候,她开始发育迟缓。为了养家,塔吉默哈尔做裁缝、搞刺绣 ,每天挣不到两美元。

这个名为《你是否看到了我的世界》的展览,正在木尔普(Jamalpur)、Chapainawabganj和巴古纳(Barguna)区做巡回展览,展览的照片就是在这些地区拍摄的。此外,为了让住在偏远乡村的人们也能看到这些照片,联合国儿童基金会还将用人力车和牛车做把这些照片送到乡村。一本收录了这些照片的摄影集也已经出版。


 

 

视频(英文)

正在孟加拉举办的一个摄影展,展出的照片全部是由接受了联合国儿童基金会摄影培训的青少年拍摄的。
 视频   |

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

儿童权利公约

搜索

Bangladesh

Young people in Bangladesh show their world through photos

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Bangladesh/2009/Tanvir Murad Topu
Farida Khatun, 18, taking a picture of her sister Tajmohal, who has a physical disability , in Balugram, Bangladesh . Shuktara is among 30 adolescents who received photography training supported by UNICEF and the European Commission.

By Casey McCarthy and Sophie McNamara

DHAKA, Bangladesh , 20 January 2010 – As of three months ago, Rubaiya Akhter Shimu had never used a camera. Today, she is explaining the power of photography to a crowd of hundreds at the launch of a photo exhibition including several of her works.

Rubaiya, 14, is one of 30 Bangladeshi teenagers who received five days of intensive training in basic photography as part of joint initiative between UNICEF, the European Commission and Patshala, the South Asian Institute of Photography.  Each student was given a camera to take photos for a week.

While taking photographs in her local district, Rubaiya heard a woman crying inside a house. She went in and took a photo of the woman being beaten by her husband.

“In the evening, the husband came to my house accompanied by elderly people of the village. He asked me to delete the picture. He also promised me that he will never beat his wife again. I realised then how a picture can tell the story of a society,” says Rubaiya.

A picture can tell a story

The project aimed to inspire these young people to tell their stories using photography as a tool, and to introduce them to a new mode of expression. The result is a collection of striking and moving images that expressed the beauty and tragedy of their lives, and pointing at wider issues in the Bangladeshi society.

The launch of the exhibition at the Dhaka Sheraton Hotel was part of the celebration of the 20th anniversary of the Convention on the Rights of the Child (CRC).

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Bangladesh/2009/Tanvir Murad Topu
Shuktara Khatun, 17, photographs children as young as eight working at a cement factory in Balugram, Bangladesh.

Daily reality

Ambassador and Head of the Delegation of the European Commission to Bangladesh, Dr. Stefan Frowein, told the audience that the daily reality for many children is still in sharp contrast to the standards set in the CRC.

“Millions of children still lack the chance for quality education, proper health and social care. There are still many victims of the worst forms of child labour, sexual exploitation and violent abuse,” he said.

Most of the young photographers decided to reflect these complex societal issues.

The next generation

Shuktara, 17, focused on child labour because many children work in a cement business across the road from her house.

“Children are our next generation of leaders. If they are deprived of their rights... they will not be able to lead us,” she said.

Like many trainees, Shuktara had some difficulty gaining access to her subjects, particularly as a woman entering a male-dominated arena. Overcoming this challenge helped build her self confidence and assertiveness.  

“These adolescents are very thoughtful about their society,” said one of the photography teachers. “They are so desperate to take great photographs that capture the struggle they themselves or other children face.”
 
Supporting the family

For Forida, one of the young students, the decision of what to photograph was simple. Forida and her family know all too well the prejudice faced by the disabled — her father and two sisters have dwarfism. “I hope my photos will help to sensitize people in Bangladesh about disability,” said Forida.

Forida’s sister, Tajmohal, had a normal growth rate during her infancy, but at three years of age, her growth was stunted. To help support the family, Tajmohal works as a tailor and embroiderer, making less than two dollars a day.

The exhibition called ‘Do you see my world?’ is now touring the districts of Jamalpur, Chapainawabganj and Barguna, where the photos were taken. There will also be a mobile exhibition on the back of rickshaws and bullock carts, allowing remote villages to see the photographs. The photos have also been published in a book to raise awareness of the issues these young people face in their daily life.


 

 

Video

UNICEF correspondent Chris Niles reports on a mobile photo exhibition by young people in Bangladesh.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

CRC @ 20

New enhanced search