孟加拉国

孟加拉的穷人遭受由经济衰退引起的“沉默的危机”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/BANA2007-00125/Noorani
在孟加拉达卡老城布利恒河岸边的贫民区里,九岁的穆妮正在公用厨房做饭。为帮助贴补家用,她在河岸的一个垃圾场捡废金属。

莎拉.克劳报道

孟加拉达卡,2009年4月8日 – 在达卡杂乱无序的贫民区,卫生工作者们穿过卡初克赫特市场狭窄曲折的小巷,看到洗衣、做饭和清理卫生的情景,他们感觉到了一种紧迫感。

 点击此处观看视频

这些卫生工作者的任务是挨家挨户派发装在小袋里的微量营养粉。他们向母亲们解释如何将营养粉加到准备好的婴儿食物中。营养粉含有减缓腹泻的锌、预防贫血的铁、促进大脑发育的碘、以及矿物质和多种维生素。

贫民区的母亲们已经给他们的婴儿喂食微量营养素有几个月了,现在她们开始觉察出效果。

卢帕.麦杜尔.伊斯兰一边在膝盖上摇着12个月大的努普尔,一边说:“她开始吃营养粉以后,体重增加了。”

三分之二的收入用于食品

然而,根据联合国儿童基金会孟加拉办事处、世界粮食计划署和公共卫生营养研究院最近的一份调查报告显示,孟加拉最艰难的时期还未到来。在过去的两年中,该国无法控制的不可抗力对最贫困的人群造成了沉重的打击。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/BANA2007-00063/Noorani
在孟加拉达卡的萨达伽特码头,一位妇女正向贫困的工人售卖烂水果,这些工人买不起昂贵的水果。

2007年,一场极为严重的飓风和洪水灾难摧毁了农作物。而印度实行的贸易壁垒和出口禁令使去年三月的稻米价格增加了一倍。

到2008年年底,家庭收入的三分之二用于食品,比2000年的50%有所增加。而即使在丰收年,也有将近60%的孟加拉家庭没有足够的食物。

调查显示,营养不良与家庭食品不足之间有着明确的联系,粮食不足家庭的儿童患营养不良的比例较高。年龄在6个月至5岁的受访儿童中,近一半发育不良。同时,这些儿童中有近40%的人体重不足。

“沉默的危机”

联合国儿童基金会驻孟加拉代表卡雷尔.德.如依(Carel de Rooy)说:“看看营养不良问题,自九十年代以来没有取得任何进展。这就是为什么这是一场沉默的危机。这是今天的情势,而在这期间,经济增长情况是很好的。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/BANA2007-00129/Noorani
孟加拉儿童在他们生活的达卡老城贫民区。

由联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴派发的微量营养素对情况有所帮助,但还需要更多的支持。严重的儿童营养不良正危险地接近危机水平。去年,粮食价格的飞涨引起循环借贷。现在,世界经济危机正导致失业。

莫提.卡恩是在偏僻地区众多的经济危机受害者之一。自从他结束马来西亚的工作回来之后,他的家庭不得不削减所有生活必需品的支出。

大规模失业

卡恩先生说:“我为没有储蓄而感到非常惭愧。孩子们希望我回来的时候至少能给他们一件礼物。他们仰视我,依赖我。他们说:‘你到国外去工作,一定能带回什么东西’。但是,我连一件新衣服也没能给家里人买。”

卡恩先生的故事不是孤立的,在他所居住的加吉布尔县的村庄里,一名招聘中介说,他不再为波斯湾国家和马来西亚寻找孟加拉工人。他说,自12月以来,他就没费心找,因为根本就没有就业机会。最近,马来西亚取消了5.5万张孟加拉人的工作签证。

为了救助这场“沉默的危机”,联合国儿童基金会驻孟加拉办事处及其合作伙伴努力加强最需要地区的食品供给。同时,他们还致力于监测营养状况,以便及早发现儿童营养和健康的变化,以及弱势家庭的食品充足状况。


 

 

视频(英文)

2009年4月1日:联合国儿童基金会记者莎拉.克劳报道全球经济衰退对孟加拉贫困儿童及其家庭造成的影响。
 视频  高速 | 低速

搜索

Bangladesh

'A silent emergency' as Bangladesh's poor suffer from economic downturn

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2009/Noorani
Fatima Akther (green scarf) and Hafiza Khatoon (blue scarf) distribute multiple-micronutrient powder in the slum district of Bau Bazaar in Dhaka, Bangladesh.

By Sarah Crowe

DHAKA, Bangladesh, 8 April 2009 – There's a sense of urgency as health workers wind their way along tiny rickety alleys, past the washing, cooking and cleaning in Kachukhet Bazaar, one of Dhaka's sprawling slums.

VIDEO: Watch now

Their mission takes them door to door, giving out small sachets of micronutrient powder. The health workers explain to mothers how to add the powder to ready-to eat-food for infants. It contains zinc to mitigate the effects of diarrhoea, iron to prevent anaemia and iodine to enhance brain development, as well as minerals and multi-vitamins.

Mothers in the slum, who have been giving their babies the micronutrients for some months now, have started to notice the difference.

"My child is doing a lot better," said Rupa Maidul Islam as 12-month-old Nupur bounced on her knee. "She has been gaining weight since she's been getting this powder

Two-thirds of income on food

But according to a recent survey by UNICEF Bangladesh, the World Food Programme and the Institute of Public Health Nutrition, the hardest of times are still ahead for Bangladesh. For the past two years, forces beyond the country's control have conspired against the poorest.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2009/Noorani
Rupa adds UNICEF-distributed multiple-micronutrient powder to her 12-month-old daughter’s meal.

An extreme cyclone and floods devastated crops in 2007. Trade barriers and export bans, imposed by India, doubled the price of rice in March last year.

By the end of 2008, households were spending two-thirds of their income on food – up from 50 per cent in 2000. Already, even after a good harvest, nearly 60 per cent of households in Bangladesh do not have sufficient food.

The survey showed a clear link between malnutrition and household food insecurity, as food-insecure households had higher percentages of malnourished children. Almost half of all Bangladeshi children under five years of age are moderately to severely underweight. Nearly 40 per cent of the same children are stunted.

'A silent emergency'

"Looking at malnutrition, there has been no progress since the '90s," said UNICEF Representative in Bangladesh Carel de Rooy. "That is why it's a silent emergency. That is the situation today – and during this period there has been good economic growth."

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2009/Noorani
Outreach worker Mehbub Biswas instructs Rukhsana Begum and her husband, Nura Alam Siddike, on how to add micronutrient powder to their child's food.

The micronutrients distributed by UNICEF and partners have helped, but a lot more support is needed. Acute malnutrition among children is dangerously close to emergency levels. Huge food price hikes last year led to a spiral of borrowing. And now the world economic crisis is leading to job losses.

Moti Kahn is one of the many victims of the economic crisis in far-off lands. Since he came back from working Malaysia, his family has had to cut back on all the basics.

Widespread job losses

"I was so embarrassed [that] I had no savings. My children expected me to give them at least one gift when I came back," he said. "They look up to me and they're dependent on me. They say: 'You've been working abroad. You must have something.' But I haven't even bought a single piece of new clothing for anybody in the family."

Mr. Kahn is not alone. In his village in the Gazipur district, a recruitment agent said he is no longer trying to find Bangladeshi workers for jobs in the Persian Gulf countries and Malaysia. He said he hadn't bothered since December, because there are just no jobs. Malaysia recently cancelled work visas for 55 000 Bangladeshis.

In response to this 'silent emergency', UNICEF Bangladesh and its partners are working to strengthen food security in the areas of greatest need. They are also working on nutrition surveillance to allow early detection of changes in child nutrition and health, and in the food-security status of vulnerable families.


 

 

Video

1 April 2009: UNICEF's Sarah Crowe reports on the effects of the global economic downturn on poor children and families in Bangladesh.
 VIDEO  high | low

New enhanced search