孟加拉国

一名年轻的孟加拉母亲和她的孩子逃离人口贩卖的噩梦

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Bangladesh/2007/Kiron
一位在杰索尔市宣传防范人口贩卖的同伴教育者为一名妇女提供心理咨询。

孟加拉达卡,2009年1月8日– 玛丽卡(Maleka)的初衷是要为她两岁大的女儿拉希达(Rasheda)在印度创造更好的生活。当时她只有16岁,她在吉大港制衣厂的工作很辛苦而且工资很少。 所以当一名男子说他可以把她们母女偷运到印度孟买并帮她在那里找一个更好的工作时,她完全信任了他。

“他承诺帮我在制衣厂找一个更好的工作并能赚更多的钱,我一下就被吸引了,” 玛丽卡回忆道。

那个男人的确按照承诺把玛丽卡和她的女儿偷运到了孟买,但是却把她卖到了一个妓院而不是帮她在制衣厂找工作。玛丽卡后来被迫在房间里卖淫,而拉希达则在同一个房间里睡觉和玩耍。她们在那里生活了一年多才最后得以逃跑。

“在最后成功逃出来之前,我们试着逃跑了好几次,” 玛丽卡解释道。她不愿回想自逃跑之后的两年内发生的事情 。讲述事实真相对她来说实在太痛苦了。

受害者回归后面对耻辱

很多被拐卖过的妇女和儿童再也没有回到孟加拉,担心回到家里和社区后会遭受耻辱。

“我想回到吉大港制衣厂干我以前的工作”,玛丽卡说,“ 但因为我们在印度的经历,我的丈夫和家人不想让我们回去。”

像很多其它被拐卖的妇女一样,玛丽卡还遭受严重的心理问题。

玛丽卡和拉希达现在生活在达卡一个专为被拐卖妇女和儿童建立的中心。该中心由孟加拉全国妇女律师协会管理,并获得联合国儿童基金会的大力支持。

恢复之路

联合国儿童基金会正积极地支持印度和孟加拉政府制定战略以解救那些被拐卖到国境以外的儿童,并帮助他们恢复、归国并融入社会。在举办了一系列双边会议之后,两国制定了联合行动计划草案 ,其中包括制定护理和重新融入社会的最低标准。

通过与两国的政府、警察部门和移民部门紧密合作,联合国儿童基金会希望能够帮助预防贩卖儿童现象并帮助性剥削的受害者。

在地方层面,联合国儿童基金会支持多种非政府组织从而建立以社区为基础的机制,预防贩卖儿童现象并保护那些处境最危险的人。目前有100多个社区护理委员会正致力于提高人们对人口贩卖问题的意识。

有了这种支持,像玛丽卡这样的妇女将有望获得更好的未来,政府也可以更好地保护妇女和儿童不受人口贩卖及性剥削的威胁。


 

 

搜索

Bangladesh

A young Bangladeshi mother and her child survive a trafficking nightmare

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Bangladesh/2007/Kiron
A peer educator, who now raises awareness on human trafficking in Jessore City, counsels a woman.

DHAKA, Bangladesh, 8 January 2009 – Maleka’s intention was to provide a better life in India for her two-year-old daughter, Rasheda. At the time, she was just 16, and her job in a garment factory in Chittagong was difficult and paid very little. So she put her trust in a male friend who said that he could smuggle them across the border to Mumbai, India, and find better work for her.

“I was lured by the promise of a better position in a garment factory and more money,” Maleka recalls.

The man smuggled Maleka and her daughter to Mumbai as promised, but instead of finding her a job in a factory, he sold her to a brothel. Maleka was subsequently forced to work as a prostitute while Rasheda slept and played in the same room. They lived there for over a year before they could flee. 

“We tried to leave several times before we were able to escape,” Maleka explains. She finds it difficult to recall the exact events of the two years that followed. The truth may simply be too painful for her to articulate.

Victims face stigma upon return

Many trafficked women and children never return to Bangladesh, fearful of the stigma attached to those who do return to their families and communities. 

“I would like to go back to my old job in the garment factory in Chittagong,” Maleka says. “But my husband and family do not want us, because of what happened in India.”

Like many trafficked women, Maleka also suffers from severe psychological problems.

Maleka and Rasheda now live in a centre for trafficked women and children in Dhaka. Run by the Bangladesh National Women Lawyer's Association, the centre receives substantial support from UNICEF.

The road to recovery

UNICEF is actively supporting the Governments of India and Bangladesh to develop strategies for the rescue, recovery, repatriation and integration of children trafficked across national borders. Following a series of bilateral meetings, the two countries have developed a joint draft plan of action, which includes the development of minimum standards for care and reintegration.

By collaborating closely with the governments, as well as with the police and the immigration departments of both countries, UNICEF hopes to help prevent child trafficking and assist the victims of sexual exploitation.

On a local level, UNICEF is supporting various NGOs to establish community-based mechanisms that will prevent child trafficking and protect those who are most at risk. More than 100 Community Care Committees are currently involved in creating awareness on trafficking issues.

With this kind of support, women like Maleka can have hope for a better future, and governments can better protect women and children from the horrors of trafficking and sexual exploitation.


 

 

New enhanced search