孟加拉国

孟加拉卫生宣传员宣传安全卫生习惯

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Bangladesh/2008/Siddique
在孟加拉偏远的哈提提拉村,联合国儿童基金会支持的社区卫生宣传员阿索伊.马尔马用海报告诉村民健康的卫生习惯。

阿丽珐.沙敏报道

孟加拉国哈提提拉,2008年7月31日 — 在孟加拉国吉大贡山区一个偏远村庄哈提提拉的社区发展中心,19岁的阿索伊.马尔马正在教20位学龄前儿童唱关于安全卫生习惯的歌曲。这首歌用在孟加拉只有大约15万人使用的土著语言马尔马语演唱。

在与外界交流不便的吉大贡山区,共有25人接受了联合国儿童基金会社区卫生宣传员的培训,阿索伊是其中之一。在为期15天的培训里,她学到了如何向社区宣传更安全的卫生习惯的秘诀。
现在,阿索伊在她的村子里推动着变革。

“我们过去喝溪水,用不安全饮用水烹煮食物,”她说。“如果我们知道了不安全饮用水对我们的健康是有害的,它会引起腹泻和呼吸系统疾病,我们就不会再喝了。”

改变旧习惯

培训结束后,阿索伊在马尔马社区传统酋长卡巴里的帮助下,召集了社区成员会议。

“第一次会议是一个挑战,”她回忆道。“有些人不愿意相信我。还有些人要求政府提供免费公共卫生间。我用了好一段时间才使他们相信,只要他们不再露天大小便,他们自己就能改变这种情况。”

然而第一次会议没有挫伤阿索伊。相反,她决定做一件重要的事——对各家进行挨个访问,在更深的程度讨论这个问题。

“起初,我们不相信阿索伊所说的,”50岁的村民哈拉希普鲁承认。“但她开始访问我们的家,跟我们的妻子、母亲和姐妹谈话 — 使他们相信基本的个人卫生习惯可以带来改变。现在,我们不再喝不安全的饮用水了,我们从管井打水。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Bangladesh/2008/Siddique
阿索伊.马尔马(左)与社区民众一起讨论使用管井作为安全饮用水源的好处。

改变的小推动者

经过两个月的家访,阿索伊的辛勤工作收到了成效。她说服整个社区制定了一项行动计划,许多社区成员现正帮助她同露天大小便作斗争,促进基本的卫生习惯。

阿索伊的学龄前学生也已成为家中改变的小推动者。其中的一名学生普希“非常注意清洁她的双手,饮用安全饮用水”。她的母亲说,“她还总是告诉我们该这样做”

恶劣的卫生条件导致的呼吸系统疾病和腹泻是造成儿童死亡的主要原因。改善个人卫生条件将挽救生命,帮助孟加拉国实现千年发展目标中有关儿童生存和环境的可持续性等目标。

改善儿童的生活

阿索伊的工作是一个志在未来四年影响三千万人的全国性项目的一部分。这个项目是有史以来在发展中国家所实施的最全面细致的环境卫生、个人卫生和水的改善方案。

为了实现这一目标,1000多位像阿索伊一样的社区卫生宣传员,在自己的村里宣传更好的卫生习惯,以及安全的公共卫生和供水设施的重要性。他们得到了孟加拉国环境卫生、个人卫生教育和供水项目的支持。该项目由英国国际发展署资助,并得到联合国儿童基金会的支持。

“我的责任是从尚未入读小学的儿童们开始改变我们社区的习惯,”阿索伊说。“我们必须告诉儿童及青少年们安全卫生习惯的重要性,因为他们对新思维和改变持开放的心态。改变成年人的习惯,尤其当这些习惯已经深深地植根于一个人的文化思维中时,就要困难一些。”


 

 

视频(英文)

2008年7月17日:联合国儿童基金会记者娜塔莎.伊克里就卫生宣传员在孟加拉社区宣传安全卫生习惯进行了报道。
 视频  高速 | 低速

搜索

Bangladesh

Hygiene promoters teach safe sanitation practices in Bangladesh

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Bangladesh/2008/Siddique
UNICEF-supported community hygiene promoter Athoi Marma uses a poster to teach healthy sanitation practices in the remote Bangladeshi village of Hatitila.

By Arifa S. Sharmin

HATITILA, Bangladesh, 31 July 2008 – At the community development centre in Hatitila, a remote village in the Chittagong Hill Tracts of Bangladesh, Athoi Marma, 19, teaches songs about safe hygiene practices to 20 pre-school children. The songs are in Marma, an indigenous language spoken by only around 150,000 people in Bangladesh.

Athoi is one of 25 women from this hard-to-reach region who have received training from UNICEF to work as community hygiene promoters. The 15-day training seminar equipped her with tips on how to work with the community to promote safer hygiene practices.

Now, Athoi has become an agent of change for her village.

“We used to drink stream water and utilize unsafe water for cooking,” she explains. “If we had known that unsafe water was harmful for our health – that this was causing diarrhoea and respiratory disease – we would not be drinking it.”

Changing old habits
 
Once her training was completed, Athoi called a meeting of community members with the help of the Karbari – the traditional chief of a Marma community.

“The first meeting was a challenging one,” she recalls. “Some people did not want to believe me. Others were asking for free sanitary latrines from the government. It took some time to convince them that they themselves could change the situation if they stopped practicing open defecation.”

This initial meeting did not discourage Athoi, however. Instead, she decided it was important to visit various households, one by one, to discuss the issues in greater depth.

“At first, we did not give credit to what Athoi was saying,” acknowledges a 50-year-old villager, Halacipru. “But she started visiting our houses, talking with our wives, mothers and sisters – convincing them that basic hygiene practices can make a difference. Now we do not drink unsafe water anymore. We collect water from the tube wells.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Bangladesh/2008/Siddique
Athoi Marma (left) joins members of her community to talk about the benefits of using a tube well for safe drinking water.

Little agents of change

After two months of household visits, Athoi’s hard work paid off. She convinced the entire community to develop a plan of action, and many community members are now helping her to combat open defecation and promote basic hygiene practices. 

Athoi’s pre-school pupils have also become little agents of change in their families. Pusi, one of the pupils, “is very vigilant about cleaning her hands and drinking safe water,” reports her mother. “And she always tells us to do so, as well!”

Poor sanitation contributes to respiratory diseases and diarrhoea – the leading cause of child mortality. Improved hygiene conditions will save lives and help Bangladesh achieve the Millennium Development Goals on child survival and environmental sustainability.

Improving children’s lives

Athoi's work is part of a large national project that aims to reach 30 million people over the next four years and is among the most intensive sanitation, hygiene and water improvement programmes ever attempted in a developing country.

In order to reach this goal, more than 1,000 community hygiene promoters like Athoi are working within their own villages to promote better hygiene practices and the importance of safe sanitation and water facilities. They are supported through the Sanitation, Hygiene Education and Water Supply Bangladesh project, which is funded by the UK Department for International Development and supported by UNICEF.

“My responsibility is to change the habits of our community, starting with these young children who are not yet in school,” says Athoi. “We have to teach children and young people about the importance of safe hygiene practices, as they are open to new ideas and changes. It is more difficult for adults to modify their habits, especially when these are deeply rooted in a person’s culture.”


 

 

Video

17 July 2008: UNICEF correspondent Natacha Ikoli reports on hygiene promoters teaching safe practices in Bangladeshi communities.
 VIDEO  high | low

New enhanced search