孟加拉国

孟加拉社区卫生外展活动帮助受飓风影响的家庭

UNICEF Photo: Bangladesh, sanitation, World Water Day
© UNICEF Bangladesh/2007/Siddique
一名卫生宣传员开展安全食物制作的互动式课程,这是联合国儿童基金会支持的针对孟加拉受飓风影响的家庭的项目。

凯瑟琳.塞穆报道

2008年3月20日世界水日,联合国儿童基金会关注环境卫生和个人卫生的重要性,以达到安全饮用水的全球目标。这是相关系列报道之一。

孟加拉国伽布塔里,2008年3月19日。璞诗很讲卫生,每次她用完卫生间,冲洗马桶后,她都会用水和肥皂清洗她的双手。而布鲁则从来不洗手,上完卫生间,他只用他的裤子擦擦手。

璞诗和布鲁是孟加拉西南部偏远村庄里伽布塔里注册小学5年级学生表演的个人卫生剧中的人物。

11岁的穆罕默德手捂着自己的肚子扮演布鲁时,学生们被逗得咯咯笑。“我总得痢疾。哦,我肚子疼,”他说完便倒在桌子上。同样也是11岁的索尼娅扮演的璞诗严厉地批评布鲁。“那是你自己卫生习惯太差导致你得病,你这个傻小子,”她斥责道。

可怜的布鲁后来死了,而璞诗告诫孩子们,要养成良好的卫生习惯,否则他们就会像布鲁一样。

加强卫生信息

该剧是联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴凯尔.乐施会,伊斯兰救济组织和非政府组织论坛等慈善机构为受飓风‘锡德’影响的地区开展的个人卫生和环境卫生项目的一部分。2007年11月15日,4级飓风‘锡德’袭击了孟加拉,摧毁了伽布塔里的许多房屋和大部分的卫生间。

UNICEF Photo: Bangladesh, hygiene, World Water Day
© UNICEF Bangladesh/2007/Siddique
在学校排演的养成卫生习惯的剧中,11岁的穆罕默德,扮演不讲卫生的男子布鲁。

“受‘锡德’袭击之前 ,我家有不错的卫生条件,因为我们有抹布做清洁并且有一口井。后来,我们什么都没了,” 索尼亚回忆道。

根据这一针对约1万户家庭的项目,社会宣传员在学校和庭院为妇女和儿童开展互动课程,以提醒他们养成良好的卫生习惯的重要性。联合国儿童基金会还免费为4000个最贫穷和最需要帮助的家庭优先提供卫生间。

“飓风之后,大家都关注救济问题和房屋的重建,而卫生问题就顾不上了,”联合国儿童基金会项目干事纳兹鲁.伊斯兰说。“人们不理解它是多么重要。这也是这些教育课程重要的原因所在。”

提供卫生用品

受到飓风‘锡德’影响的很多家庭,在风暴中失去了其他的重要的卫生用品。在为获得食物、衣服和房屋的拼搏中,这些卫生用品对当地居民来说常常是力所不能及的。

联合国儿童基金会给参加庭院卫生教育课程的妇女提供了5万个妇女卫生巾和5万块肥皂 — 可满足2万5千个家庭的需要。同时教育课程还帮助传达了卫生和卫生用品是家庭健康的重要投资的讯息。

 “现在人们不仅有肥皂,衣服和卫生间,人们也越来越意识到环境卫生和个人卫生的重要性,”卫生宣传员莱努说。“多亏了这些教育课程,他们的家庭环境也在慢慢改善 。”


 

 

搜索

Bangladesh

Community outreach on hygiene for cyclone-affected families in Bangladesh

UNICEF Image: Bangladesh, sanitation, World Water Day
© UNICEF Bangladesh/2007/Siddique
A hygiene promoter leads an interactive session on safe food preparation as part of a UNICEF-supported programme for cyclone-affected families in Bangladesh.

By Kathryn Seymour

On World Water Day, 20 March 2008, UNICEF is focusing on the importance of sanitation and hygiene in reaching global goals for safe water. Here is one in a series of related reports.

GABTALI, Bangladesh, 19 March 2008 – Pushi is very clean, washing her hands with water and soap whenever she uses the latrine and rinsing out the latrine pan when she is finished. Bulu, on the other hand, never washes his hands. After going to the latrine, he wipes them on his trousers.

Pushi and Bulu are characters in the hygiene play performed by fifth-grade students at Gabtali Registered Primary School in a remote village in south-western Bangladesh.

Students giggle as Bulu, played by Mohamed, 11, clutches his stomach. ‘I always have dysentery. Oh, I have such pains in my stomach,” he says before collapsing across a desk. Pushi, played by Soneya, also 11, chastises Bulu. “It’s your terrible hygiene that has made you sick, you silly man,” she scolds.

Poor Bulu later dies, and Pushi cautions the children to practice good hygiene habits or they might suffer as he did.

Reinforcing hygiene messages

The play is part of a hygiene and sanitation programme introduced by UNICEF in districts affected by Cyclone Sidr, along with partners CARE, Oxfam, Islamic Relief and NGO Forum. A category 4 storm, Cyclone Sidr hit Bangladesh on 15 November 2007, destroying many homes and most of the latrines in Gabtali.

UNICEF Image: Bangladesh, hygiene, World Water Day
© UNICEF Bangladesh/2007/Siddique
Mohamed, 11, plays the role of Bulu, a man with very poor hygiene, during a school play on proper sanitation.

“Before Sidr, my family had better hygiene, because we had cloths to clean with and we had a tube well. Afterwards, we had nothing,” recalls Soneya,

Under the programme, which is targeting some 10,000 families, social promoters conduct interactive sessions with women and children in schools and courtyards to remind them of the importance of good hygiene. UNICEF is also supplying free latrines to 4,000 families, with priority given to the poorest and those in greatest need.

“After the cyclone, everyone was concerned with getting relief and rebuilding some form of shelter, so hygiene fell behind,” says UNICEF Programme Officer Nazrul Islam. “People didn’t understand how important it was. That’s why these education sessions are so important.”

Sanitation supplies provided

Many families affected by Cyclone Sidr lost other vital hygiene supplies during the storm. In the struggle to get food, clothes and building materials, replacing these supplies was often beyond the reach of local residents.

UNICEF is providing 50,000 sanitary towels and 50,000 bars of soap to women taking part in the courtyard hygiene-education sessions – enough supplies to cover 25,000 households. Combining this distribution with the education sessions helps to send the message that sanitary and hygiene supplies are a crucial investment in family health.

“Not only do people now have soap, clothes and latrines, but they are also becoming more aware of the importance of sanitation and hygiene,” says Renu, a hygiene promoter. “Thanks to the education sessions, their household environments are slowly improving.”


 

 

New enhanced search