孟加拉国

妇女和儿童仍深受季风洪水之苦

UNICEF Photo: Bangladesh, flood, monsoon
© UNICEF Bangladesh/2007/ Sharmin
阿曼娜(左二)与她的家人在狭小的临时住所前,他们已经在此生活了一个月。

阿里法.沙闵报道

孟加拉锡拉杰甘杰县,2007年9月4日 。上个月,45岁的阿曼娜醒来后发现季风洪水正在吞没她的家。 仿佛在梦里一样,她感到一只强有力的手拉着她,把她拖到附近安全的堤坝上。

当她和家里的五口人带着自己的东西到达坝上时,他们的房子几乎被淹没,是她的儿子救了她的命。

阿曼娜站在狭小的临时住所前说:“我们在堤坝上住一个月了,我家房子里的水还齐膝深。 没有活干,我们多数人每天只吃一顿饭。”

食物有限,没有收入

锡拉杰甘杰县是孟加拉国灾情最严重的县之一。 今年的季风洪水已经使成千上万人流离失所,他们的房子要么受损严重,要么根本无法再住人。 大约九百户人家被迫搬到阿曼娜所在的堤坝上。

有些人家已经搬回自己家中,而大多数人还等待着洪水退潮。 没有活干,大多数家庭都吃不饱。

阿曼娜叹着气说:“我养的一只羊和三只鸡都死在洪水里了。  我和家人生活在一起,一点收入也没有。”

提供生活必需品

水位上涨以后,当地学校纷纷关闭。 现在联合国儿童基金会正在与一个名为BRAC的全国性非政府组织合作,帮助向36000名受灾儿童发放教育箱。 联合国儿童基金会还在提供其它教学材料。

同时,联合国儿童基金会正在与其它非政府组织合作,以减小对流离失所儿童造成的伤害。 比如,正在为大约三万名儿童提供康乐用品包等。

由于孩子们不上学,他们花很多时间玩水和泥。  这已引起皮肤病、发烧及其它由水传染的疾病。  一位在堤坝上的灾民阿里法,才两岁,得了严重的皮肤病。 她的父亲没钱带她去看病。

为防止水传染疾病的蔓延,联合国儿童基金会正在发放净水片、漂白粉和简易水罐,同时还修建水井和公共厕所。

对孕妇的影响

这里的孕妇很难得到医疗护理,她们很多人营养不良。 23岁的拉西达怀孕五个月。 最近,她从堤坝上搬回家里住。 她说:“我昨晚吃了米饭加咸盐,到现在还没吃过别的东西。”

25岁的莫萨玛特是三个孩子的母亲,她现在怀孕七个月,还在想修房子。每天她早餐吃冷水泡饭。  莫萨玛特说:“我去看医生,他正忙着给其他病人看病,让我第二天再来。 我花了20塔卡(孟加拉货币)来看他,不可能再花这份钱。 我需要给我的孩子们买东西吃。”

为对付这种情况,联合国儿童基金会与世界粮食计划署合作,为四万儿童和两万名孕妇及哺乳期妇女提供高能量营养饼干。 第三轮饼干发放计划将很快进行, 这样,流离失所的母亲和儿童将不必再在食品与医疗之间进行选择。


 

 

搜索

Bangladesh

Women and children still suffering the effects of monsoon floods

UNICEF Image: Bangladesh, flood, monsoon
© UNICEF Bangladesh/2007/ Sharmin
Amena (second from left) stands with her family in front of the tiny shelter where they have been living for the past month.

By Arifa S. Sharmin

SIRAJGANJ DISTRICT, Bangladesh, 4 September 2007 – Last month, 45-year-old Amena awoke to discover that monsoon-related flooding was filling her home with rushing water. As if in a dream, she felt the strong pull of a hand as she was taken to the safety of a nearby embankment.

When she and her five family members reached the embankment with their belongings, they could see only the top of their house. Her son had saved her life.

“We have been living on the embankment for a month,” said Amena standing in front of her tiny shelter. “My house is still under knee-deep water. There is no work available and many of us are passing our days with just one meal.”

Limited food, no income

Sirajganj is one of the worst affected districts in Bangladesh. Monsoon floods this year have displaced thousands of people from their homes, which are either damaged or completely uninhabitable. Around 900 families have been forced to take shelter on the embankment where Amena is staying.

While some of the displaced have been able to return to their homes, many others are still waiting for the waters to recede. There is no work available and, as a result, most families remain underfed.

“I had a goat and three hens, which died in the floods. I am living with my family and have no income whatsoever,” Amena lamented.

Providing for basic needs

The local schools have been closed since the waters began to rise. Now UNICEF is collaborating with BRAC, a national non-governmental organization, to help distribute education kits for 36,000 flood-affected children. UNICEF is supporting the provision of other teaching and learning materials as well.

At the same time, UNICEF is working with various NGOs to reduce trauma for displaced children. For example, recreation kit bags are being provided for an estimated 30,000 children.

Since children are not in school, they are spending time playing in water and mud. This has resulted in skin diseases, fever and other water-borne illnesses. One flood victim on the embankment, two-year-old Arifa, is suffering from severe skin disease. Her father does not have any money to take his daughter to the doctor.

To help stop the spread of water-borne diseases, UNICEF is distributing water purification tablets, bleaching powders and jerry cans, as well as repairing and installing wells and latrines.

Impact on pregnant women

Pregnant women here also have a difficult time getting access to medical care, and many of them are suffering from malnutrition. Rashida, 23, is five months pregnant. She recently moved from the embankment back to her house. “I ate cooked rice with salt yesterday night. I did not eat anything else since then,” she said.

Mosammat, 25, a mother of three, is seven months pregnant and is currently trying to repair her house. She has been eating rice soaked in cold water for breakfast. “I went to visit the doctor. He was very busy with other patients and asked me to come the next day,” said Mosammat. “I spent 20 taka [Bangladeshi currency] to visit him. It is impossible for me to spend this again. I need to buy food for my children.”

In response to this situation, UNICEF, in partnership with the World Food Programme, is providing nutritious high-energy biscuits for 40,000 children as well as for 20,000 pregnant and dlactating women. A third round of biscuit distribution is planned for the near future, so that displaced mothers and children will not have to choose between food and medical care. 


 

 

New enhanced search