UNICEF.org新网站正在建设中。
网页内容还在更新中。感谢您的耐心,敬请稍后查看。

阿富汗

喀布尔展开一场全面抗击脊髓灰质炎传播的运动

自新一例脊髓灰质炎在阿富汗首都被发现以来,该国疫苗接种者立即展开大型接种行动。  下载视频

 

古力斯坦.米尔扎耶(Gulistan Mirzaei)报道

2014年2月,喀布尔有一名小女孩感染了脊髓灰质炎病毒,这是自2002年以来在阿富汗首都发现的首例病例。对此,联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴采取应急措施,启动紧急行动,派遣志愿者挨门挨户地提供口服脊髓灰质炎疫苗,并在喀布尔市的进城口增设疫苗接种站。

阿富汗是世界上仅存的仍未消除脊髓灰质炎的三个国家之一,另外两个国家是尼日利亚和巴基斯坦。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Video
一名阿富汗男孩在喀布尔的普勒查尔希(Pul-E-Charkhi)检查站——接种者正努力为所有10岁以下儿童提供免疫接种服务。

阿富汗喀布尔,2014年4月24日 -- 有士兵守卫的喀布尔普乐查可希检查站尘土飞扬,汽车喇叭声和从巴基斯坦驶来的装饰得五彩缤纷的卡车叮叮当当让这里显得格外繁忙。每天有成千上万辆车通过这个检查站进入喀布尔,这些车来自东部省份楠格哈尔、洛加尔、库纳尔、拉格曼,甚至更远的巴基斯坦。

在阿富汗公共卫生部、世界卫生组织和联合国儿童基金会共同发起的三天紧急脊髓灰质炎疫苗接种行动中,18岁的尼克扎德是一名志愿者。这场行动是在阿富汗小女孩感染了这种致命病毒后启动的,这是喀布尔自2002年以来诊断出的首例脊髓灰质炎病例。

预防措施

小志愿者尼克扎德对每辆通过检查站的车辆进行查看,寻找十岁以下的儿童。多数免疫行动是针对五岁以下的儿童,但鉴于最近发现的病例,联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴要采取一切预防措施,以确保病毒不会进入这座城市。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Video
尼克扎是一名疫苗接种志愿者,他正在喂一名幼童口服疫苗。

尼克扎德挥手示意一辆后座上坐着三名儿童的小货车停下。他问司机:“您的孩子都多大?”其中两名儿童看起来不到十岁。这家人来自东部地区楠格哈尔省的首府贾拉拉巴德,那是一个因进出巴基斯坦边境的流动人口而被视为高风险的地区。

尼克扎德让孩子们下车,检查他们的手指。在过去的几天中,接种过疫苗的孩子的手指上有紫色墨水标记。他发现这些孩子还没接种过疫苗,于是打开冷冻箱,取出一直保存在摄氏2° - 8°C温度下的脊髓灰质炎疫苗。

尼克扎德向这家人解释道:“这种疫苗可以预防小儿麻痹症。”他们听后马上明白了,并同意让孩子们接种疫苗。尼克扎德给孩子们滴好疫苗后,随即在他们的手指上做了标记。

世界卫生组织脊髓灰质炎项目官员戈拉姆.哈兹克.斯迪奇(Gholam Raziq Siddiqi)博士今天负责指导志愿者的免疫工作。他说,在这场行动中,预计这个检查站每天要为700至800名儿童接种疫苗。

“每个人,即便是成人都有可能携带脊髓灰质炎病毒,所以我们要将这里接种疫苗的儿童年龄提升至十岁。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Video
10岁的马丁展示他手指上的印记,证明他已经接种过疫苗。

斯迪奇博士自2000年开始为世界卫生组织根除脊髓灰质炎项目工作以来,发现人们对待疫苗的态度发生了显著的改变。他说:“开始,人们不了解这种疾病和它会对儿童健康产生的影响。但现在,通过媒体、电视、广播,甚至清真寺宗教领袖的讲话,加强了人们对脊髓灰质炎的认识,现在他们同意孩子接种疫苗了。”

挨门挨户

整个喀布尔市有53支2人一组的志愿者队伍,他们挨家挨户为五岁以下的儿童接种疫苗。萨奇(Sakhi)博士是一个地区的协调员,他说:“我们确实遇到一些人反对疫苗接种。如果有家庭拒绝让他们的孩子接种疫苗,志愿者会记下来,然后告诉他们的负责人。我们会拜访这家人,向他们解释脊髓灰质炎疫苗没有任何负面作用,但是如果有一名儿童不接种疫苗,就是对所有阿富汗儿童的威胁。最终这些家庭基本都会改变态度。”

在这场紧急行动中,这种挨门挨户小分队每天可以为100至300名儿童接种疫苗,取决于他们进入一个地区的难易程度。萨奇博士说:“我们的任务是去造访每家每户,给每名儿童两滴脊髓灰质炎疫苗。未来,我们也要像其他国家一样成功根除这种致命的疾病。然后我们就可以真正地庆祝啦。”


 

 

联合国儿童基金会摄影:免疫

 

搜索

Afghanistan

In Kabul, an all-out effort to stop the spread of polio

Vaccinators are out in full force after a new case of polio was discovered in Afghanistan's capital.  Download this video

 

By Gulistan Mirzaei

Huge achievements have been made in eliminating polio, a crippling and potentially fatal disease that mainly affects children under the age of five. The number of polio cases worldwide has decreased by more than 99 per cent, from 350,000 in 1988 to just over 400 cases in 2013.

Reaching children with immunization and health services is just one of the 25 achievements we are celebrating as we approach the 25th anniversary of the Convention on the Rights of the Child (CRC) in November. Learn more about the progress we’ve made and what still needs to be done.

In February 2014, a young girl in Kabul was found to be infected with the polio virus, the first case in the Afghan capital since 2002. As an immediate response, UNICEF and its partners launched an emergency campaign to stop the virus from spreading, sending volunteers door-to-door to provide oral polio vaccine and stepping up vaccinations at entry points into Kabul.

Afghanistan is one of only three countries, along with Nigeria and Pakistan, where polio remains endemic.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Video
An Afghan boy at the Pul-e-Charkhi checkpoint in Kabul, where vaccinators try to reach every child up to age 10.

KABUL, Afghanistan, 24 April 2014 – The sounds of car horns and the jingle of colourfully decorated trucks fill the dusty air as Afghan soldiers stand guard at the busy Pul-e-Charkhi checkpoint into Kabul city. Tens of thousands of vehicles pass through this checkpoint every day as they enter Kabul from the eastern provinces of Nangarhar, Logar, Kunar, Laghman and as far as Pakistan.

Nikzad, 18, is a volunteer vaccinator for a three-day emergency polio vaccination campaign, a combined effort of the Afghan Ministry of Public Health, the World Health Organization (WHO) and UNICEF. The campaign was launched after a young Afghan girl contracted the deadly virus, the first diagnosed case of polio in Kabul since 2002.

Taking precautions

The young volunteer surveys every car that passes through the checkpoint, looking for children aged 10 and under. Most vaccination campaigns target children under 5, but in light of the recent case, UNICEF and its partners are taking all precautions to ensure that the virus doesn't enter the city.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Video
Nikzad, a volunteer vaccinator, gives the oral polio vaccine to a young child when the family stops at the checkpoint.

Nikzad waves down a small truck with three children in the back. “How old are your children?” he asks the driver. Two of them look like they could be under 10 years old. The family has been travelling from the eastern city of Jalalabad, capital of Nangarhar province, which remains at risk due to population movement across the border with Pakistan.

Nikzad beckons the children down from the truck and examines their little fingers. Children who have been vaccinated within the past few days will have a purple ink mark on their finger. Seeing that these children haven't been vaccinated, he opens a cold box and takes out the polio vaccine, which is kept at 2°–8°C at all times.

“This vaccine will prevent child paralysis,” he explains to the family. They understand immediately and agree to get the children vaccinated. After giving the children two drops of vaccine, Nikzad marks their little fingers.

Dr. Gholam Raziq Siddiqi, an official with the WHO polio programme, is supervising the volunteer vaccinators today. He says that every day about 700 to 800 children are expected to be vaccinated at this checkpoint during the campaign.

“Anyone can carry the polio virus, even adults, which is why we need to vaccinate children up to 10 years of age here.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Video
Matin, age 10, has his finger marked in ink to show he has been vaccinated.

Dr. Siddiqi has worked with WHO on polio eradication efforts since 2000, and he has seen a significant change in peoples’ perceptions about the vaccine. “In the beginning, people didn't have sufficient information about the disease and its implications on a child’s health,” he says. “But now, through the media, television, radio, posters and even speeches by religious leaders in mosques, people have a greater awareness about polio and now allow their children to be vaccinated.”

Door-to-door

Across Kabul, 53 teams of two volunteers each go door-to-door to vaccinate children 5 and under. Dr. Sakhi, a coordinator in one district, says that most families are receptive to the polio vaccine. “We do have some people who are against the vaccinations, and if a family refuses to vaccinate their child, the volunteer will make a note and let their supervisors know,” he explains. “Then we approach the house and explain to the family that the polio vaccine doesn't have any negative consequences, and that if one child doesn't get vaccinated, it's a risk for all other Afghan children. Then the families usually come around.”

The door-to-door teams typically vaccinate anywhere from 100 to 300 children a day during the campaign, depending on the accessibility of the area. “Our job is to reach every house and give every child two drops of the polio vaccine so that, in the future, we'll be like the other countries and will successfully get rid of this deadly disease,” Dr. Sakhi says. “Then we can really celebrate.”


 

 

UNICEF Photography: Immunization

 

New enhanced search