阿富汗

阿富汗妇女和女孩的庇护所

萨拉.克罗报道

阿富汗赫拉特,2011 年 3 月 14 日 – 在法拉(Farah,化名)还不到 9 岁的时候,她从娘家被带走,去比自己大 14 岁的丈夫那里。她所能带的仅是一个小布娃娃,这个娃娃是她用姐姐的结婚礼服做成的。

视频:2011 年 3 月 10 日- 联合国儿童基金会成员萨拉•克罗 (Sarah Crowe) 在一档节目中做了报告,要让阿富汗妇女的声音可以被众人听到。  在Realplayer中播放

对于法拉来讲,这是她被偷走的童年的一个标志,也是唯一的标志;甚至这样的一个娃娃也被她的婆婆扔掉了。在她小的时候,她父亲收了 5 万阿富汗尼(约1100美元),她则被迫出嫁,受到公婆的残酷虐待;最后她和许多其他妇女一样离家出走,寻求妇女庇护所的保护。

法拉今年 12 岁,在这个庇护所已经有一年了,她的梦想就是离婚、读书还有回家与父母团聚。在塔利班统治时期,没有妇女的庇护所。在塔利班倒台后相继出现了一些妇女庇护所,现在阿富汗政府计划去控制这些妇女庇护所。

妇女庇护所

在阿富汗国内目前有 14 个妇女庇护所,由像联合国儿童基金会这样的国际组织支持。庇护所中,40% 妇女的年龄都在 18 岁以下。 

倡导人权的人士担心政府没有能力让庇护所运行得像以前一样好,控制则意味着无法为像法拉这样的人提供安全的庇护。因此,在今年的三八国际妇女节,有些人就想借用 21 世纪的科技,向世界上其他妇女报道她们的挣扎与希望。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Afghanistan/2011/Froutan
苏拉娅.帕克扎德 (中)是妇女权利的积极倡导者,她于 2011 年 3 月 8 日在阿富汗西南部的赫拉特参加了一个庆祝三八国际妇女节的典礼。

在一位勇敢且德高望重的妇女权利倡导者帕克扎德的推动下,一些来自庇护所的年轻妇女,在赫拉特的一个屋顶上,通过流媒体视频(Skype 和 BGAN)与位于悉尼的年轻妇女们交谈。(帕克扎德的妇女组织之声 - Voices of Women Organization) 在运行着几个庇护所。

苏拉娅曾经冒着生命危险来保护孩子们不致早婚以及免受虐待,对此,澳大利亚的志愿者倍受感动与震惊。

苏拉娅说:“武装力量或者极端分子支持一些人来抓我,他们打电话威胁我,声称要绑架我的儿子、要杀我,要做这个、做那个,我的电话 – 给我打电话 – 是的,他们就是想在思想上吓倒我。” 

国际压力

苏拉娅在面对死亡威胁时所表现出的尊严与决心,在阿富汗确属罕见。她认为在现在的阿富汗,女人就像是被交换的筹码,她深信将这些事情公之于众会让极端分子的气焰有所收敛,他们想把我们的声音扼杀在喉咙中。”

在一些权利机关看来,这些庇护所与阿富汗传统相违背,他们还认为这样认为会促使妇女离家出走。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Afghanistan/2011/Froutan
在阿富汗西南部赫拉特的一个庇护所中,女孩们通过网络视频与在悉尼的联合国儿童基金会志愿者互动交谈。在妇女权利倡导者帕克扎德的推动以及联合国儿童基金会的组织下,阿富汗的女性青少年与澳大利亚的观众分享了她们的亲身经历。

“在阿富汗,妇女就像商品一样。我们担心的是,如果国际社会不给予阿富汗政府施压,这样的事情还会发生,”苏拉娅说:“政府首先会尝试把庇护所交由妇女部门来领导,如果妇女部门兼并了这些庇护所,并且妇女部门被关闭,这样塔利班就会高兴。” 

“不可阻挡的势头”

联合国儿童基金将一如既往地支持。

在阿富汗的联合国儿童基金会代表彼得.克罗利 (Peter Crowley) 说:“如果我们认为庇护所没有在以一种可接受的方式运行,我们就不会支持这些庇护所了。” 

阿富汗的女孩和妇女权利有了显著进步。2001 年,仅有一百万的小学适龄儿童入学,其中很少有女生。2008 年,有 600 万入学并且 230 万是女生。

“我认为这是一个不可阻挡的势头,部分原因是在于这些年轻妇女和她们年长的几代人,面对她们所取得的成就和获得的利益,她们不会轻易屈服的。”


 

 

搜索

Afghanistan

Shelters for women and girls in Afghanistan

By Sarah Crowe

HERAT, Afghanistan, 14 March 2011 – No more than nine years old, she was taken from mother’s home to her husband, a man 14 years older than her. All she could take with her was a small doll she had made out of the cloth of her sister’s wedding dress.

VIDEO: 10 March 2011: UNICEF's Sarah Crowe reports on a programme to ensure women's voices are heard in Afghanistan.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

For Farah (not her real name), it was the one and only symbol she had of her stolen childhood and even that was thrown away by her mother-in-law. Her story of forced early marriage after a payment of 50,000 Afs ($1,100) to her father, then a chronicle of cruelty and abuse by her in-laws, ended like so many others in her running away and finding a safe haven at a women’s shelter.

Farah, now 12, has been at the shelter for the past year and all she dreams of is getting a divorce, some schooling and going home to her mother and father. Under the Taliban, women’s shelters did not exist but they have come under the spotlight again with the Afghanistan government’s plans to control them.

Women’s shelters

There are 14 women’s shelters around the country – supported by international organizations like UNICEF – and about 40 per cent of the women in the shelters are under the age of 18.

Human rights activists fear government does not have the capacity to run shelters and that control would mean no safe havens for young women and girls like Farah. So for this year’s International Women’s Day, some took to 21st century technology to broadcast their struggles and hopes to young women on the other end of the world.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Afghanistan/2011/Froutan
Suraya Pakzad (centre), a champion of women’s rights, attends a ceremony to celebrate International Women’s Day on 8th March 2011 in Herat, south-western Afghanistan.

Led by a courageous and much decorated champion of women’s rights, Suraya Pakzad – whose organization, Voices of Women Organization, VWO, runs some shelters – a group of young women from a shelter spoke from a rooftop in Herat via live video streaming (using Skype and BGAN) from Herat to a very different group of young women in Sydney.

The Australian volunteers were deeply moved by the experience and disturbed to hear how Suraya’s life was at risk for protecting children from early marriage and abuse:

“Those who are after me are supported by warlords, by extremists, and they are calling and threatening me on the way that they will kidnap my son, they will kill myself, by doing this or that, my phone – calling me – you know mentally they try to disturb me,” said Suraya.

International pressure

Suraya is a rarity in Afghanistan defying death threats with dignity and determination. She believes women are being used as a bartering ball in current Afghan politics and is convinced that publicity will hold back the tide of extremism who are trying to “kill our voices in our throats”, she said.

The shelters are seen by some in authority as going against Afghan tradition and encouraging women to run away from their homes.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Afghanistan/2011/Froutan
Young girls from a safe shelter in Herat, south-western Afghanistan interact via a live video link with UNICEF volunteers in Sydney. Facilitated by women's rights champion Suraya Pakzad and organized by UNICEF, the Afghan teenage girls shared their experiences with the Australian audiences.

“Women are treated like a commodity in Afghanistan. Our concern now is that if international community doesn’t put pressure on Afghanistan government things will happen,” said Suraya. “First they will try to bring the shelters under the control of the ministry of women, then if the shelters would merge with the ministry and the ministry shuts down, the Taliban will be happy.”

‘Unstoppable momentum’

UNICEF is committed to continuing its support.

“We wouldn’t be supporting the shelters now if we felt they weren’t operating in an acceptable way,” said Peter Crowley UNICEF Representative in Afghanistan.

Rights for girls and women have taken a great leap forward in Afghanistan. In 2001, only 1 million primary school-aged children were enrolled, of whom very few were girls. By 2008, 6 million children were in school, including 2.3 million girls.

“I think there is an unstoppable momentum and it’s partly generated by the young women and the older generations of women themselves who are not easily going to surrender what has been achieved and what they've gained.”


 

 

New enhanced search