阿富汗

阿富汗发布第一份《儿童权利公约》

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Afghanistan/2009/Sweeting
阿富汗发布了该国历史上第一份《儿童权利公约》报告。

《儿童权利公约》是具有里程碑意义的、有关儿童基本人权的国际协定。在《儿童权利公约》发表20周年前夕,联合国儿童基金会撰写了一系列故事,反映已经取得的成绩和仍然存在的问题。以下是其中的一篇报道。

艾施.斯维廷报道

阿富汗喀布尔,2009年8月17日 – 阿富汗外交部今日发布了该国第一份《儿童权利公约》报告。阿富汗政府是在1994年批准《儿童权利公约》的。

这份报告建议阿富汗改革司法和法律制度,建立新的法律制度,确保阿富汗的儿童权利与国际标准保持一致。这份报告的发表是阿富汗儿童权利的历史性里程碑。

阿富汗外交部长兰金.斯潘塔博士(Dr. Rangeen Spanta)主持了这一活动的庆祝仪式,并得到联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴的支持。

对儿童权利的承诺

斯潘塔博士在活动中强调了阿富汗所面临的挑战,并表示由于公众缺乏对法律和原则的认识,致使儿童权利受到限制,导致被迫早婚、暴力和童工等问题长期存在。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Afghanistan/2009/Sweeting
阿富汗外交部长兰金.斯潘塔博士在《儿童权利公约》报告的发布会上致辞。

斯潘塔博士说:“无论阿富汗外交部面临多少威胁和困难,都将全力支持这个国家的人权事务。”

挪威政府是这项工作的主要资助者,挪威大使卡勒.阿斯先生(Kaare Aas)出席了庆祝活动。

阿斯大使说:“投资于今天的儿童是确保下一代的福祉和生产力的关键。在冲突、虐待和不信任的环境中成长起来的儿童,没有所需要的平台,将无法为建设民主和稳定的社会做贡献。

利用机会

此外阿富汗还签署了两份有关武装冲突中的儿童和儿童卖淫及色情问题的选择性议定书。

阿富汗外交部长已经代表政府,向在日内瓦的儿童权利委员会提交了这份报告。

在阿富汗政府、民间社会和国际合作伙伴的不懈支持下,这份报告为联合国儿童基金会和所有儿童权利活动者提供了一个持续改善阿富汗儿童生活的坚实的框架。

联合国儿童基金会驻阿富汗代表凯瑟琳.姆本盖(Catherine Mbengue)说:“我们需要利用好这次机会,让我们每个人都有一种更强烈的紧迫感,努力为这个国家的所有儿童提供一个更加美好的未来。”


 

 

搜索

Afghanistan

Afghanistan reaches historic milestone for children’s rights

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Afghanistan/2009/Sweeting
His Excellency M Kaare Aas, Norwegian Ambassador to Afghanistan.

In the run-up to the 20th anniversary of the Convention on the Rights of the Child – a landmark international agreement on the basic human rights of all children – UNICEF is featuring a series of stories about progress made and challenges that remain.

By Ash Sweeting

KABUL, Afghanistan, 17 August 2009 – The Afghan Ministry of Foreign affairs launched its first report on the Convention of the Rights of the Child, which was ratified by the Afghan Government in 1994.

The report makes recommendations on how the Afghan judicial and legal systems can be reformed, and how new laws can be adopted to ensure that Afghanistan complies with the international standards of child rights. The launch of the report was an historic milestone for children’s rights in Afghanistan.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Afghanistan/2009/Sweeting
Afghan Foreign Minister Dr. Rangeen Spanta speaking at the launch of the Convention on the Rights of the Child.

The Afghan Minister of Foreign Affairs Dr. Rangeen Spanta hosted a ceremony to mark the event, which was supported by UNICEF and its partners.

Commitment to child rights

At the event, Dr. Spanta stressed the challenges that Afghanistan faces, explaining that a lack of public awareness regarding laws and principles is hampering the rights of children, and perpetuating problems such as forced and early marriage, violence and child labour.

“The Ministry of Foreign Affairs is fully committed to support human rights in this country regardless of all threats and difficulties,” said Dr. Spanta.

The Government of Norway was a major donor to the effort, and Norwegian Ambassador Kaare Aas was on hand for the ceremony.

“Investing in children today is key to ensure the well-being and productivity of future generations,” said Ambassador Kaare Aas. ”Children who grow up in an atmosphere of conflict, abuse and mistrust will not have the platform necessary to contribute to the construction of a democratic and stable society.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Afghanistan/2009/Sweeting
Afghanistan has launched the country’s first report on the Convention on the Rights of the Child.

Capitalizing on the momentum

Afghanistan has also ratified the two Optional Protocols on the involvement of children in armed conflict and on child prostitution and pornography.

On behalf of the Government of Afghanistan, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs has now submitted the report to the Committee on the Rights of the Child in Geneva.

With the continued support of the Government of Afghanistan, civil society and international partners, this report provides UNICEF and all child rights activists with a solid framework to continue to improve the lives of the children of Afghanistan.

“We need to capitalize on this momentum,” said UNICEF Representative in Afghanistan Catherine Mbengue. “So that we can work, all of us, with a greater sense of urgency to bring a brighter future to each and every child of this country.”


 

 

New enhanced search