阿富汗

裘德.洛和导演基利访问阿富汗宣传和平

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2008/Sweeting
裘德.洛(右)和导演基利访问阿富汗期间在新闻发布会上介绍相关情况。

洛山.卡迪威报道

阿富汗喀布尔,2008年9月3日 — “和平一天”(Peace One Day)计划特使、英国演员裘德.洛和“和平一天”创始人、纪录片导演基利(Jeremy Gilley)本周前往阿富汗展开为期两天的宣传活动。在那里,他们放映了一部讲述普通阿富汗人如何为支持和平而做出努力的新纪录片《和平后的一天》(The Day After Peace)。

裘德.洛和基利还要求卷入冲突的相关各方今年再次遵守世界和平日的约定。9月21日的世界和平日是全球停战和反暴力运动“和平一天”的一部分。

“我听到了一个非常让人激动的故事,那是去年阿富汗民间团体在没有联合国参与的情况下,安排了和平日的庆祝活动,仅仅是因为他们喜欢这个概念,”在联合国儿童基金会广播电台的采访中,裘德.洛说,“这使我们突然意识到,这是人们自发的。”

记录和平的一天

纪录片《和平后的一天》记录下了2007年9月间在阿富汗全国各地举行的各种活动,其中包括联合国儿童基金会和世界卫生组织在冲突地区为140万儿童进行小儿麻痹症免疫接种的活动。

而此次阿富汗之行,也将成为基利同英国广播公司联合制作的第二部电影的重要组成部分。这部电影最近已在戛纳电影节放映,并将在今明两年世界主要电影节上放映。

此次访问阿富汗,裘德.洛和基利还得到了阿富汗总统卡尔扎伊的接见。卡尔扎伊赞扬他们促进和平的努力。裘德.洛说这部纪录片是“使我们能向世界展示这个国家不仅仅是一个饱受战争和暴力蹂躏的国家,而恰恰相反,是一个充满自豪和希望的国家。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2008/Sweeting
导演基利在与裘德.洛访问阿富汗期间放映了他的纪录片作品《和平后的一天》。

为儿童撇开政治

2007年9月间,作为全国免疫日小儿麻痹症接种计划的一部分,1万多位卫生工作人员前往阿富汗南部和东部的不安全地区,希望能为那些因为安全因素而错过了前几次接种的儿童提供接种。

“去年,我们从每一个人那里看到了令人难以置信的承诺,”联合国儿童基金会驻阿富汗代表凯瑟琳.穆本洁(Catherine Mbengue)说。她还是2007年小儿麻痹症接种计划期间前往南部地区赫尔曼德省(Helmand)访问的代表团的成员。

“不管每个人的政治信仰如何,我们只想挽救生命。我们希望看到去年我们从冲突各方中看到的同样的承诺。我们的目标是帮助阿富汗的每个儿童,” 穆本洁说。

和平倒计时

今年,联合国儿童基金会和青年信息联络中心以及阿富汗红新月会的青年志愿者以及其他主要合作伙伴协作,在世界和平日倒计时期间组织了许多活动。

先期的活动包括和平竞赛、体育、和平游行和电台公益广告而创作的诗歌、绘画和戏剧以及妇女扫盲中心的出版物和表演。

此外,联合国儿童基金会和世界卫生组织同公共卫生部协作,将在之前不安全和受到冲突影响的阿富汗7个省为185万5岁以下儿童接种小儿麻痹症疫苗。

简单的讯息

在访问中,基利被问到要为那些在冲突中生活被毁的人传递什么信息时说:“如果我们要从战争文化转向和平文化,那么我们就必须在人类面临的最根本的问题上团结起来 — 保护我们自己,保护我们的环境。9月21日就是出发点。”

“和平一天”计划的支持者将在伦敦皇家阿尔伯特音乐厅举办专场音乐会庆祝9月21日,演出的音乐家有莲诺(Annie Lennox)和其他主要音乐家。音乐会上还将放映视频,裘德.洛和联合国儿童基金会紧急情况亲善大使马丁.贝尔(Martin Bell)以及其他活动家和知名人士也将出席。

裘德.洛说:“讯息很简单,为了和平,9月21日你将做什么?”


 

 

视频(英文)

2008年9月2日: 联合国儿童基金会记者阿什.斯维廷就裘德.洛和基利在阿富汗喀布尔出席“和平一天”宣传活动的情况进行了报道

 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

音频(英文)

2008年9月2日:英国电影导演基利和男演员裘德.洛在阿富汗喀布尔谈世界和平日以及他们的电影《和平后的一天》。

 音频 播放

搜索

Afghanistan

Actor Jude Law and director Jeremy Gilley in Afghanistan to promote peace

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2008/Sweeting
Actor Jude Law (right) and director Jeremy Gilley at a press conference during a recent mission to Afghanistan, where they helped promote the International Day of Peace.

By Roshan Khadivi

KABUL, Afghanistan, 3 September 2008 – British actor and Peace One Day envoy Jude Law and Jeremy Gilley, film director and founder of Peace One Day campaign, travelled to Afghanistan for a two-day mission this week. While there, they screened a new documentary, ‘The Day After Peace’, about the efforts of ordinary Afghans in support of peace.

Mr. Law and Mr. Gilley also asked all parties involved in the conflict to observe Peace Day again this year. It is scheduled to take place on 21 September as part of the Peace One Day global campaign for ceasefires and non-violence.

“One story I heard, which is very exciting, was ... about civil groups in Afghanistan who arranged celebrations of a day of peace without the United Nations, simply because they like the idea of the day,” Mr. Law said in a radio interview with UNICEF. “And that made us suddenly realize that this is something people run with."

Documenting a day of peace

The documentary features activities that took place throughout Afghanistan in September 2007. It also highlights support from UNICEF and the World Health Organization for the peaceful immunization of 1.4 million children against polio in insecure areas.

The latest Afghanistan mission forms an important backdrop to this, Mr. Gilley’s second film, produced in association with the BBC. The film was recently screened at the Cannes film festival and is due to be shown in major film festivals this year and next.

While on their visit, Mr. Law and Mr. Gilley met with the President of Afghanistan, Hamid Karzai, who praised their efforts to promote peace. Mr. Law said the film is “a tool that enables us to show the world that this country is more than a war-torn country and a country of violence, but instead, a country of great pride and great hope.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2008/Sweeting
Director Jeremy Gilley screened his documentary, 'The Day After Peace', during his mission to Afghanistan with Jude Law.

Putting aside politics to reach every child

During September 2007, more than 10,000 vaccinators visited insecure areas in the southern and eastern regions of the country. The visit was part of ‘a National Immunization Days polio immunization campaign, which aimed to reach children who were missed in previous rounds due to conlict.

“We saw incredible commitments from everyone last year,” said UNICEF Representative in Afghanistan Catherine Mbengue, who was part of a delegation visiting the southern region of Helmand during the 2007 polio campaign.

“This is about saving lives despite anyone’s political beliefs. We hope to see the same commitments that we saw last year from all parties to the conflict. Our goal is to reach every child in Afghanistan,” Ms. Mbengue added.

Countdown to peace

This year, UNICEF and the Youth Information Contact Centres in Afghanistan, as well as youth volunteers from the Afghan Red Crescent Society and other key partners, have organized many activities during the countdown to Peace Day.

The lead-up activities include poetry, drawing and drama contests, sports, peace marches and radio public service announcements, along with presentations in women’s literacy centres.

In addition, UNICEF and WHO, in coordination with the Ministry of Public Health, will provide polio vaccinations for 1.85 million children under we age of five. The immunizations will take place in seven Afghan provinces where insecurity has previously limited access.

A simple message

“If we are to move from a culture of war to a culture of peace, then we will have to unite around the most fundamental issue that humanity faces – the protection of each other and our environment. 21 September is the starting point,” Mr. Gilley replied when asked about his message to those who are destroying lives in the conflict.

Peace One Day supporters will celebrate 21 September with a special concert at the Royal Albert Hall in London featuring Annie Lennox and other well known musicians. The concert will feature videos and appearances by Mr. Law, UNICEF UK Goodwill Ambassador for Emergencies Martin Bell and other activists and celebrities.

Said Mr. Law: “The message is simple. What will you do to make peace on 21 September?”

 


 

 

Video

2 September 2008: UNICEF's Ash Sweeting reports on the visit by Jude Law and Jeremy Gilley to Kabul, Afghanistan, to call for Days of Peace and to screen the documentary, 'The Day After Peace'.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

Audio

2 September 2008: Filmmaker Jeremy Gilley and actor Jude Law talk about Peace Day and their film 'The Day After Peace' from Kabul, Afghanistan.
AUDIO listen

New enhanced search