阿富汗

阿富汗儿童预警报告:马丁.贝尔报道战争中的儿童

UNICEF Photo: Child Alert Afghanistan
© UNICEF/HQ07-1110/Noorani
一位一年级小学生在巴米扬省的一所帐篷学校。附近没有正规学校,134名儿童就在这里接受非正规教育。

美国纽约,2007年10月25日。由于冲突及得不到人道主义援助,阿富汗有太多儿童无法上学或者享受医疗保健服务,尽管在这些方面已经取得了一定的进步。

这些是今天在日内瓦公布的联合国儿童基金会儿童预警报告的宽泛结论。

多媒体的儿童预警由前英国广播公司实地记者马丁.贝尔撰写并制作。 现在贝尔先生是联合国儿童基金会人道主义危机英国爱心大使,此份报告是基于他七八月份在阿富汗为期两周的访问制作而成。

进展和挑战

“儿童预警报告”由一份书面报告、六段录像和三段广播报道组成,列举了整个阿富汗数百万儿童所面临的由暴力造成的悲惨状况,衰竭而资源不足的医疗系统,以及有增无减的对学校的袭击。

本报告也强调了最近几年在健康、营养和教育部门取得的成就。

比如,现在大多数的人口能够获得健康服务的基本包裹。常规免疫覆盖率从2001年的56%上升到2006年的90%,而现在95%的儿童获得了维他命A补充剂。在学校入学率方面也有了显著的上升,三分之一的在校生为女孩,而塔利班执政时这个比例仅为3%。

“生死攸关的时刻”

贝尔先生为了这份报告第二次访问阿富汗,他说:“塔利班垮台六年之后,应该是阿富汗的光明时期,然而他们却走入一种黑暗之中。”

UNICEF Photo: Child Alert Afghanistan
© UNICEF/HQ07-1221/Noorani
在阿富汗巴米扬省的一个村庄,一名八岁的女孩在照顾她的妹妹。 她和她的兄弟姐妹每天都工作八小时编制毛毯。

他说:“ 尽管有许多国家提供众多的计划、建议、项目、合作以为给阿富汗带来和平与进步,但我所看到的是不安全感的增加,这造成越来越多的学校关闭,越来越多的儿童丧生。尤其是在南方,平民家庭陷入战火之中,并无法获得人道主义援助。”

“简而言之,阿富汗儿童所面临的是生死攸关的时刻。”

女童教育和产妇保健

随着冲突在阿富汗大面积地爆发,“儿童预警报告”强调急需创造让孩子们去上学的安全条件。 2007年的上半年,有四十四所学校被袭击,社会的基本组织机构遭到破坏。

女子学校及女童本身有时也会成为被袭击的目标,她们教育的进步被延缓,甚至是倒退,造成中学的出勤率明显下降。 恐惧有很强的威慑力量,老师和家长接到恐吓信后,往往让孩子留在家里。

儿童预警报告也强烈呼吁政府和国际捐助者关注阿富汗令人悲痛的产妇死亡现象。

联合国儿童基金会驻阿富汗代表凯瑟琳.姆本吉说:“做为一名阿富汗的儿童,意味着每天早晨都不知道走着上学是否会遇到枪击。  它还意味着在没有母亲的环境下成长,因为阿富汗是世界上产妇死亡率最高的国家之一,母亲很可能已经在分娩中丧生。”

UNICEF Photo: Child Alert Afghanistan
© UNICEF/HQ07-1074/Noorani
在阿富汗南部坎大哈市莫尔外斯地区医院的外面,医务工作者正为儿童接种预防小儿麻痹疫苗。

成果

贝尔先生在联合国儿童基金会驻阿富汗交流官员罗珊.喀蒂韦、制片人大卫.蔻克和摄影师塞巴斯蒂安.瑞驰的陪同下,采访了喀布尔的街头儿童和哈拉特临时工厂的妇女,她们每天挣两美元,工作时要将婴儿挂在她们的身上。

在一座关押着49位妇女和她们的35名孩子的监狱里,贝尔先生遇到一些女孩,她们被迫嫁给年纪可以做她们爷爷的男人。 她们想逃离虐待时,却因行为不良入狱。

他也看到了一些小成绩,比如,联合国儿童基金会支持的根除小儿麻痹运动,可以看到新病例已经从2006年的31人下降到今年到目前为止的11人。联合国儿童基金会为阿富汗与巴基斯坦边境两边的儿童都提供疫苗,卫生员有武装卫兵保护在侧,目标是在2008年以前消灭该病。

贝尔先生在“儿童预警报告”的一段影片中说:“这是一场机枪下的免疫活动。”生动地描绘了阿富汗最易受伤害的儿童所面临的许多挑战。


 

 

视频(英文)

联合国儿童基金会人道主义危机英国爱心大使马丁.贝尔再次审视阿富汗儿童的生活。

 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

Afghanistan

Child Alert Afghanistan: Martin Bell reports on children caught in war

UNICEF Image: Child Alert Afghanistan
© UNICEF/HQ07-1284/Noorani
UNICEF UK Goodwill Ambassador and former BBC war correspondent Martin Bell.

NEW YORK, USA, 25 October 2007 – Caught in the crossfire and out of reach of humanitarian assistance, far too many children in Afghanistan are missing out on schooling and health care, even though significant progress has been made in these areas.

Those are the broad conclusions of a UNICEF Child Alert report being launched in Geneva today.

The multimedia Child Alert is authored and presented by Martin Bell, former BBC war reporter and current UNICEF UK Ambassador for Humanitarian Emergencies, based on a two-week trip to Afghanistan in July and August.

Progress and challenges

The report takes note of considerable improvements in the health, nutrition and education sectors that have been achieved in recent years.

The majority of the population now has access to a basic package of health services, for example. Routine immunization coverage rose from 56 per cent in 2001 to 90 per cent in 2006, and 95 per cent of children now receive vitamin A supplements.

And there have been substantial increases in school enrolment. One-third of the children in school today are girls, up from about 3 per cent when the Taliban were in power.

‘Make-or-break time’

Comprising a written report, six videos and three radio features, the Child Alert also chronicles the dire situation facing millions of children across Afghanistan stemming from violence, a decaying and under-resourced health system and unabated attacks on schools.

“Six years after the fall of the Taliban, this should be a time of brightness for Afghans, but instead they are entering into some kind of darkness,” said Mr. Bell, who made his second trip to the country for this report. 

UNICEF Image: Child Alert Afghanistan
© UNICEF/HQ07-1110/Noorani
A first-grade student at a tent school in Bamyan Province. There are no official schools nearby, but 134 children attend informal classes here.

“Despite a multitude of plans and proposals, projects and partners, and the support of many countries working to bring peace and progress to Afghanistan, I have witnessed a spike in insecurity that is causing more and more schools to close and more and more children to be killed,” he added. “Families, especially in the south, are caught in the middle of this crossfire, out of reach of humanitarian assistance.

“Simply put, it is make-or-break time for Afghanistan’s children.”

Girls’ education and maternal health

With conflict overtaking large swathes of Afghanistan, the Child Alert highlights the urgent need to pull together the security necessary to allow children to go to school. Forty-four school attacks occurred in the first six months of 2007, ripping away at the very fabric of society.

Girls’ schools and at times girls themselves are targeted, stalling or reversing their educational progress and causing attendance to drop significantly in secondary schools. Fear is a strong deterrent, as ‘night letters’ carrying threats to teachers and parents often cause families to keep their children home.

The Child Alert also argues strongly for the government and international donors to address Afghanistan’s woeful maternal mortality rate.

“Being a child in Afghanistan means waking every morning unsure if your walk to school will come under gunfire,” said UNICEF Representative in Afghanistan Catherine Mbengue. “It means perhaps growing up without a mother because she died in the one of the most dangerous countries in the world to give birth.”

UNICEF Image: Child Alert Afghanistan
© UNICEF/HQ07-1074/Noorani
A health worker vaccinates a child against polio outside Mirwais Regional Hospital in the southern Afghan city of Kandahar.

Successful efforts

Accompanied by UNICEF Afghanistan Communication Officer Roshan Khadivi, producer David Koch and cameraman Sebastian Rich, Mr. Bell visited street children in Kabul and women in makeshift factories in Herat, who earn $2 a day with their babies suspended above them.

In a prison housing 49 women and their 35 children, he met girls who had been forced to marry men old enough to be their grandfathers. When they tried escaping abuse, they were imprisoned for bad behaviour.

But he also witnessed the effects of successful efforts such as the UNICEF-supported polio eradication campaign, which saw new cases drop from 31 in 2006 to 11 so far this year. UNICEF offers vaccinations to children on both sides of the border crossing with Pakistan, and vaccinators – flanked by armed guards – aim to wipe out the disease by 2008.

“This is immunization under the gun,” Mr. Bell says in one of the Child Alert video reports that paint a vivid portrait of the many challenges facing Afghanistan’s most vulnerable children.


 

 

Video

UNICEF UK Ambassador for Humanitarian Emergencies Martin Bell recounts the trials of childhood in Afghanistan.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search