土耳其

16岁的叙利亚难民讲述在土耳其阿克恰卡莱难民营的生活经历

沙尔贝勒.拉吉(Charbel Raji)报道

土耳其阿克恰卡莱营地(AKCAKALE),2013年2月14日 —— 凌晨三点,16岁的哈拉(Hala)与家人逃离在叙利亚的家,前往土耳其阿克恰卡莱难民营。该营地位于桑尼乌法(Sanliurfa),是土耳其政府为逃离国内冲突、前来避难的叙利亚家庭修建的15座营地之一。

叙利亚女孩哈拉今年16岁,她讲述了自己在土耳其阿克恰卡莱难民营的生活经历。  在Realplayer中播放

 

哈拉家附近猛烈的炮火让这个家庭被迫选择穿越边境。“我们不仅听到爆炸声从四面传来,还亲眼目睹了死亡。”哈拉说,“虽然我们来到了这里,但是我们的心还在叙利亚徘徊,与我们的至爱亲朋在一起。”

前途未卜,悲痛不已

今天,土耳其境内的叙利亚难民总数已经达到17万,儿童约占半数之多 —— 约90471人。据营地负责人称,最初建立阿克恰卡莱营地时,计划容纳2.3万人,但现在收容的人数已经超过3.6万。由于必须要满足流离失所者基本的生活服务需求,不断攀升的难民数量令土耳其当局倍感忧虑。

为此,联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴正加紧开展工作,积极应对某些营地面临的挑战,为儿童提供教育和辅导活动。

对于哈拉而言,叙利亚国内冲突意味着她今年无法正常上学。对于能够加入营地学校,她感到非常高兴。

联合国儿童基金会为叙利亚儿童准备冬装包。

 

“目前,学校物资匮乏,但至少为我们带来了希望,我们总有一天要重返家园,恢复正常的生活。”哈拉说。她最担心的问题是:回国之后,叙利亚的教育体系是否认可她在这里学习的课程。”

面临重重挑战

“土耳其当局一直设法为叙利亚家庭提供保护、援助和稳定的生活。”联合国儿童基金会驻土耳其代表艾曼.阿布拉班(Ayman Abulaban)说,“虽然已经挽救了很多生命,并为成千上万名儿童提供了食物,但妇女和儿童难民的处境依然堪忧。”

随着冬季来临,联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴为阿克恰卡莱营地的儿童采购并发放了约1.3万套冬装(包括夹克和冬靴)。此外,联合国儿童基金会驻土耳其分部还为土耳其营地的22500名叙利亚儿童创建了安全的学习和娱乐环境,并提供学习用品和基础设施。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF 2013/Raji
为了逃离叙利亚的暴力冲突,16岁的哈拉因此来到土耳其东南部的阿克恰卡莱难民营。该营地是土耳其政府为逃离国内冲突、前来避难的叙利亚家庭修建的15座营地之一。

为儿童创建保护环境

本月,联合国儿童基金会将启动一项为期18个月的干预活动,以营地中9.7万名脆弱的叙利亚儿童和青少年为目标。儿童和青少年将可以进入安全、参与式和包容性的教育和娱乐场所,从而有助于恢复到稳定和正常的状态。

“我们将与合作伙伴合作,启动新的活动,尽最大努力保持土耳其政府已经取得的重要工作成果,帮助儿童弥合冲突造成的创伤。”阿布拉班补充说,“教育和娱乐活动虽然不能直接挽救生命,但确实对挽救生命有所贡献。”

当问到哈拉有什么愿望时,她回答说,她想回家。哈拉对于在营地得到的所有服务心怀感激,但她心中藏着深深的忧虑,为叙利亚国内的朋友和家人担忧:“他们可能在炸弹爆炸中幸免于难,但是寒冷和饥饿正在一点点夺去他们的生命。我请求全世界都来关注他们。他们需要每一个人的帮助。”


 

 

聚焦: 黎巴嫩的难民

搜索

Turkey

16-year-old Syrian refugee describes living in Akcakale camp in Turkey

By Charbel Raji

AKCAKALE CAMP, Turkey, 14 February 2013-It was three in the morning when Hala, age 16, and her family fled their home in Syria for Akcakale refugee camp in Turkey. The camp, situated in Sanliurfa, is one of 15 camps built by the government of Turkey for Syrian families seeking refuge from the conflict in their homeland.

Hala, a 16 year-old Syrian girl, describes her experiences living in Ackapale refugee camp in Turkey.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

The heavy shelling in Hala’s neighbourhood left the family no choice but to cross the border. “Not only were we hearing the bombing everywhere, we were also seeing people die,” says Hala. “We came here but left our heart in Syria with all our relatives and beloved ones.”

Painful state of uncertainty

Today, the total number of Syrians in Turkey is 170,000. Children make up about half that amount - an estimated 90,471. According to the camp manager, Akcakale was initially built to host 23,000 people but is now home to more than 36,000. The increasing number of refugees is worrying the Turkish authorities as demand grows for services to meet the basic needs of the displaced.

In response, UNICEF and its partners are stepping up work to overcome the challenges in some of the camps and to provide educational and remedial activities for the children.

For Hala, the conflict in Syria has meant she has missed out on school this year. She is happy, however, to have been able to join the school camp.

UNICEF prepares winter clothing kits for Syrian children.

 

“The school lacks several things at this stage, but at least it gives us hope that at some point we will go back home to restart our normal life,” says Hala.  One of her main worries is whether the educational system in Syria will recognize the baccalaureate courses she has taken, once she is able to go back.

Challenges ahead

“The Turkish authorities managed to ensure protection, assistance and stability to the Syrian families” says UNICEF Representative in Turkey Ayman Abulaban. “Countless lives have been saved, and thousands of children are being fed. But the situation of women and children refugees is still critical.”

As the winter weather set in, UNICEF and its partners were able to procure and distribute some 13,000 sets of winter clothes (including jackets and boots) for children in Akcakale camp. In addition, UNICEF Turkey has contributed to creating a safe learning and recreational environment for some 22,500 Syrian children in camps in Turkey, providing supplies and infrastructure.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF 2013/Raji
Hala, 16, fled the violence in Syria to Akcakale refugee camp in south-eastern Turkey. The camp is one of 15 camps built by the government of Turkey for Syrian families seeking refuge from the conflict in their homeland.

Creating a protective environment for children

This month UNICEF will start an 18-month intervention targeting 97,000 vulnerable Syrian children and youth in the camps who will get access to safe, participatory and inclusive educational and recreational spaces, thus contributing to restoring a sense of stability and normalcy.

“We will do our utmost to preserve the important work the Turkish government has done by starting – along with our partners -- new activities to help children heal in the aftermath of the conflict”, adds Abulaban.  “Educational and recreational activities, while not seen as life-saving, do contribute to saving lives.”

Asked what she wishes for, Hala replies that she just wants to go back home. As grateful as she is for all the services the refugees have been receiving in the camp, Hala is worried about what is happening to friends and family inside Syria: “Those who do not die from the bombing are dying because of cold and hunger. I ask the world to give them some attention. They need everyone’s help.”


 

 

In Focus: Refugees in Lebanon

New enhanced search