土耳其

土耳其大学新闻系把儿童权利保护纳入教学大纲

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
安卡拉大学新闻系学生埃斯马.库尔图鲁、比谷.贝格姆.奥尔汗和努拉伊.英赛尔正在讨论一篇讲述贫困儿童生活的摄影报道。

《儿童权利公约》是一项具有里程碑意义的有关儿童基本权利的国际公约。在联合国儿童基金会即将庆祝《儿童权利公约》发表20周年之际,联合国儿童基金会推出一系列文章,反映已经取得的成绩和仍然存在的问题。以下是其中的一篇报道。

土耳其安卡拉,2009年11月12日 – 土耳其七所大学的新闻系已经决定把了解儿童权利以及如何用负责任且符合伦理的方式制作有关儿童的报道纳入课程体系。

这些学校最近引进的儿童权利教学大纲是由联合国儿童基金会中欧和东欧区域办事处及独联体委托爱尔兰的都柏林理工学院制定的。这份教学大纲在安卡拉大学举办的发布仪式正式公布,以庆祝《儿童权利公约》发表20周年。

联合国儿童基金会区域主任史蒂芬.艾伦(Steven Allen)说:“在最理想的情况下,新闻可以成为儿童的眼睛和耳朵,也可以成为促进并保护儿童及他们的权利的声音。通过让年轻的记者们在早期参与有关儿童权利的讨论,我们可以帮助为儿童权利打造眼睛、耳朵和声音。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Turkey/ 2009/Ustun
在安卡拉举行的启动仪式上,联合国儿童基金会区域主任史蒂芬.艾伦在儿童权利教学大纲上签字。

儿童权利的角度

在安卡拉大学的一个计算机机房,新闻系学生埃斯马.库尔图鲁(Esma Kurtulu)、比谷.贝格姆.奥尔汗(Bijgu Begüm Orhan)和努拉伊.英赛尔(Nuray Incel)正在讨论一篇讲述贫困儿童生活的摄影报道。这些学生获选参加使用新教学大纲的新课程,从而来研究儿童权利并探讨如何从儿童权利的角度进行报道。

教学大纲涉及了人权、采访技巧、冲突、匿名以及对儿童和材料来源的身份保护。

21岁的奥尔汗说:“儿童也是个人,当然也需要保护。如果我有这种意识,我就可以在不侵犯他们权利的同时更好地开展工作。”

明天的意见领袖

媒体不仅忽视了儿童的权利,而且还往往在事关儿童的问题上无视他们的看法。新的教学大纲旨在为记者们提供实用的工具来以儿童的视角进行报道。

都柏林理工学院的一名作者诺尔林.海斯(Noirin Hayes)说:“对新闻系的学生们来说,这个教学大纲将为他们开辟一片他们想都没想过的新天地。我们的经历告诉我们人们并不真正把儿童当做权利人、个人或是社会的一份子。

这是一个临界点,因为今天的新闻系学生往往会成为社会未来的意见领袖。

儿童权利教学大纲已经在网上公布。此外,罗马尼亚、马其顿、联合国管理的科索沃、阿塞拜疆和格鲁吉亚的大学也正在准备将大纲纳入到他们新闻专业的课程中。


 

 

视频(英文)

2009年11月6日:联合国儿童基金会通讯员盖.德根报道, 土耳其七所大学的新闻系已经决定把了解儿童权利以及如何用负责任且符合伦理的方式制作有关儿童的报道纳入课程体系。
 视频   |

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

儿童权利公约

搜索

Turkey

Launch of a child-rights syllabus for journalism students in Turkey

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Ankara University journalism students discuss a photo essay illustrating the lives of impoverished children as they learn about child rights from a newly launched syllabus.

By Guy Degen

In the run-up to 20 November 2009, the 20th anniversary of the Convention on the Rights of the Child, UNICEF is featuring a series of stories about this landmark international agreement on the basic human rights of all children – including progress made and challenges that remain. Here is one of those stories.

ANKARA, Turkey, 12 November 2009 – Understanding child rights and how to produce stories about children in a responsible and ethical way is now part of the journalism curriculum at seven Turkish universities.

The child-rights syllabus recently introduced at these schools was commissioned by the UNICEF Regional Office for Central and Eastern Europe and the Commonwealth of Independent States, and developed by the Dublin Institute of Technology, Ireland. It was formally launched at a ceremony at Ankara University in time to coincide with the 20th anniversary of the Convention on the Rights of the Child.

"Journalism at its best can be the eyes and ears of children – voices in the promotion and protection of children and their rights," said UNICEF Regional Director Steven Allen. "By bringing young journalists into the picture on child rights at an early stage, we help to build those eyes, ears and voices for children's rights."

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Turkey/ 2009/Ustun
UNICEF Regional Director Steven Allen signs bound copies of the child-rights syllabus at the launch of the syllabus in Ankara, Turkey.

A child-rights perspective

In a computer lab at Ankara University, journalism students Esma Kurtulu, Bijgu Begüm Orhan and Nuray Incel discussed a photo essay illustrating the lives of impoverished children. The students have elected to take a new course that uses the new syllabus to examine children’s rights and explore how to report stories from a child-rights perspective.

The syllabus covers human rights, interviewing skills, conflict, anonymity and identity protection for children and for sources.

"Children are individuals and, of course, they need some protection," said Ms. Orhan, 21. "If I have this awareness, I can do my job in a much better way without violating their rights.”

Opinion leaders of tomorrow

Besides overlooking child rights, the media often disregard the opinions of children in matters that affect them. The new syllabus aims to provide journalists with practical tools to approach stories with a child’s point of view in mind.

"For students of journalism, the syllabus is going to open a sector that they haven't really thought about,” said Prof. Noirin Hayes, one of the authors from the Dublin Institute of Technology. “It's our experience that people don't really think about children as rights holders, as individuals and as participants in society,"

This is a critical point, because today’s student journalists often go on to become society's future opinion leaders.

The child-rights syllabus is now available as an online resource, and universities from Romania, Macedonia, the UN-administered province of Kosovo, Azerbaijan and Georgia are also preparing to include it in their journalism courses.


 

 

Video

6 November 2009:
UNICEF correspondent Guy Degen reports on the launch of a child-rights syllabus for journalism students in Ankara, Turkey
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

CRC @ 20

New enhanced search