土耳其

禽流感破坏了土耳其东部一个家庭的幸福

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
买买提.艾闵.奥兹坎失去了女儿法特玛,(报上的相片),去年她在处理一个带病毒的鸭子时被感染后死于禽流感。她5岁的兄弟穆罕默德(中间)也被感染。

Thomas Nybo报道

2007年1月18日,土耳其范省 - 在阿勒山的阴影里,土耳其东部的一个父亲正设法从他16岁女儿法特玛过世的打击中恢复。法特玛因禽流感过世已经一年,而买买提.艾闵.奥兹坎仍然昏昏沉沉并且拒绝相信医生说她是在自家厨房里处理一只被传染的鸭子后得的病。

卫生专家认为禽流感病毒正传染给一大批像法特玛一样的儿童,因为他们经常负责对家禽的喂养,清洗围栏并收捡禽蛋。另外少数儿童喜欢将禽鸟当作宠物也使自己处于危险群中。

意外打击

奥兹坎先生只有45岁,但他眼圈旁却刻着深深的皱纹。他的脸讲述着一个在户外艰难环境里度过困苦岁月的人的故事。 他的第一个妻子死在了医院,而且是医生送法特玛治疗的同一家医院,无论什么话都不能安慰他失去最心爱的孩子所带来的痛苦

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
法特玛5岁的兄弟穆罕默德感染上禽流感后,戴了17天的呼吸器后幸存了下来。

“法特玛突然死了,且我还不知道她是怎么得的病,” 奥兹坎先生说到。 “我想,大概那是上帝的决定。‘但法特玛是我最宠爱的孩子啊!’但是上帝还是决定将她从我身边带走了。” 他唯一的一张法特玛相片就是印在报纸上的那张,是在她死前几天拍的。

奥兹坎先生还有五个孩子。 其中,5岁的穆罕默德 也感染上了禽流感。戴了17天的呼吸器后他幸存了下来。

“穆罕默德也生病了, 但他没有死,” 奥兹坎先生边说边低头看着坐在客厅暖器旁的穆罕默德。“上帝将他还给了我们。”

预防信息

由于土耳其紧邻亚洲、欧洲和非洲,候鸟群迁徙经常穿越全国。专家认为可能是被感染的鸟群将病毒传给了家禽,而大部分家禽又在贫困地区饲养。医生们注意到,在2006死亡的四个儿童全都是在近距接触了家养鸭子和鸡之后被感染的。 

去年,禽流感爆发之后,成千上万只鸡和其它禽类动物在被传染的国家,包括土耳其被扑杀。

联合国儿童基金会已开始与土耳其政府携手一起对相关人员特别是饲养家禽的人员进行培训教育,介绍有关适当的卫生知识和保护措施。联合国儿童基金会已通过地方和全国的电视台将六则信息结合到六个不同的公益插播中进行宣传教育。

同时也鼓励地方宗教领导将信息结合到布道中去。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
对付禽流感的战略之一是修建与外界隔绝封闭的大型家禽饲养场。

“在这些发布的信息中,我们以预防为主,” 联合国儿童基金会宣传干事Sema Hosta说到,“必须让你的孩子远离家禽和所有带翅的动物,并经常用肥皂和水洗手。我们必须特别针对儿童,在恰当的时候提供关于预防的准确信息。”

预防全球性大流行病

我们也采取了其他措施。 政府在东土耳其设置了一个能迅速诊断该区域任何病例的实验室,使用与世界上一流实验室同样的测试仪器。政府也设法限制家禽与野生鸟类的接触。其中一个战略是修建与外界隔绝封闭的大型家禽饲养场。 如果在安卡拉外修建这样一个农场可饲养100,000多只鸡,且只需六个人管理。 

尽管有这些方法,但是,严重的威胁依然存在。在亚洲, 2007年人类感染禽流感新病例已经出现,卫生专家警告,一旦病毒变异成为人类流感病毒,有可能引起一场导致成千上万人死亡的全球性大流行病。

与预防季节性流行性感冒具有丰富疫苗种类不同的是,目前尚不能生产任何能有效预防大流行病病毒的疫苗,而且通常在大流行病开始后的数月才能大量生产相关的疫苗。


 

 

视频

2006年12月16日:
联合国儿童基金会记者Thomas Nybo报道土耳其一位因禽流感而失去了女儿的父亲的故事。
 视频 高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量视频

Avian influenza

UNICEF steps up bird flu awareness campaign in Bali [with video]

Bird flu prevention kits in Indonesia

Education campaign in Georgia’s schools [with video]

Lao puppet tour promotes bird flu prevention

Hygiene education battles bird flu in Egypt [with video]

Bird flu awareness campaign in Nigeria [with video]

Thai village spreads avian flu warnings [with video]

Flu devastates a family in Turkey [with video]

Bird flu in Viet Nam [with video]

Cambodia’s religious leaders help fight bird flu

UNICEF’s work on avian influenza

搜索

Turkey

Bird flu devastates a family in eastern Turkey

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Mehmet Emin Ozcan lost his daughter Fatma, pictured in the newspaper, to avian influenza last year after she handled an infected duck. Her brother Muhammed, 5 (centre), was also infected.

By Thomas Nybo

VAN PROVINCE, Turkey, 18 January 2007 – In the shadow of Mount Ararat, a father in eastern Turkey is trying to recover from the death of his 16-year-old daughter, Fatma.  A year after Fatma died from avian influenza, Mehmet Emin Ozcan is still dazed and refuses to believe the doctors who suggest that she became ill after handling an infected duck in the family’s kitchen.

Health experts believe the bird flu virus is infecting high numbers of children like Fatma because they are often the ones responsible for feeding domestic poultry, as well as cleaning the pens and gathering eggs. Smaller children also put themselves at risk when they treat the birds as pets.  

Sudden loss

Mr. Ozcan is only 45 years old, but the wrinkles around his eyes run deep. His face tells the story of a tough life spent outdoors in an unforgiving environment. His first wife died in a hospital – the same hospital to which doctors wanted to send Fatma – and their explanations offer him no solace for the loss of the child he considered his favourite.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Fatma’s five-year-old brother Muhammed survived bird flu after 17 days on a ventilator.

"Fatma's death came all of a sudden and I have no explanation how she became ill," says Mr. Ozcan. "It was God's decision. I thought, 'Fatma is my child that I love the most!' But God decided to take her away from me." The only photos he has of Fatma are the ones from the newspapers, taken a few days before she died.

Mr. Ozcan has five other children. One of them, Muhammed, 5, also contracted avian influenza. He survived only after spending 17 days on a ventilator.

"Muhammed was also ill, but he did not die," Mr. Ozcan says, looking down at Muhammed, who sits next to the heater in their living room. "So God gave his life back to us."

Prevention messages

Because of Turkey's proximity to Asia, Europe and Africa, migrating birds regularly travel through the country. Infected birds are believed to have passed the virus to domesticated flocks, mostly raised by poor communities. Doctors note that all four children who died here in 2006 had been in close contact with home-raised ducks and chickens. 

After the outbreak hit last year, millions of chickens and other birds were slaughtered in affected countries, including Turkey.  

UNICEF has been working closely with the Government of Turkey to educate people, especially those who raise birds at home, about proper hygiene and protection. UNICEF incorporated six messages into six different public service announcements that were distributed to local and national television stations.

Local religious leaders were also encouraged to incorporate the messages into their sermons.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
One strategy to combat bird flu involves constructing large poultry farms that are hermetically sealed from the outside world.
"Within these messages, we are really focusing on prevention,” said UNICEF Communication Officer Sema Hosta. “You have to keep your children away from the chickens and all the winged animals and wash your hands with soap and water. We have to provide the correct information about prevention at the correct time and with special attention to the children themselves."

Averting a global pandemic

Other measures have been taken as well. The government is setting up a lab in eastern Turkey to quickly diagnose any new cases in the region, using the same testing equipment that is found in top laboratories around the world.  The government is also trying to limit the exposure of domesticated fowl to wild birds.   One strategy involves constructing large poultry farms that are hermetically sealed from the outside world. Such a farm outside of Ankara houses more than 100,000 chickens, yet requires only six people to maintain. 

Despite all of these advancements, though, serious threats remain. New human cases of avian influenza in Asia have already appeared in 2007, and health experts warn that if the virus mutates into a human strain, it could trigger a global pandemic that could kill millions.

Unlike the plentiful vaccines for seasonal influenza, any vaccines effective against a pandemic virus are not ready for commercial production, and would likely take months to become widely available after the start of a pandemic.


 

 

Video

16 December 2006:
UNICEF correspondent Thomas Nybo reports on a father in Turkey who lost his daughter to avian influenza.
 VIDEO high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search