突尼斯

由于利比亚冲突升级,越来越多的家庭在突尼斯-利比亚边境寻求避难所

娜哲娃.麦琪报道

突尼斯拉斯吉德地区,2011 年 3 月 14 日 - 在利比亚暴乱开始前,六岁的赛达 (Saida) 的朋友们见了她最后一面。他们现在不知道赛达和她的父母是否会在突尼斯-利比亚边境拉斯吉德某个难民营中。

视频:联合国儿童基金会在 2011 年 3 月 10 日报道,为躲避利比亚危机而越过边境进入到达突尼斯的家庭数量正在增加。 在Realplayer中播放

赛达很不幸,因为她对移民生活并不陌生。在赛达只有八个月大时,她的妈妈萨米亚 (Samia) 和爸爸赛德 (Said) 为了躲避索马里的战乱的影响,全家从埃塞俄比亚来到苏丹定居。

两年后,他们一家人又从苏丹来到了利比亚。萨米亚说:“我们听说从这儿能乘船去欧洲,就决定试一试。因为我们想给孩子们一个更好的未来。”

但是去欧洲的船始终没有来。他们一家人就生活在利比亚,直到几天前暴力和恐惧迫使他们再次背起行囊准备逃难。

易受伤害的儿童

尽管和之前的几天相比,每天新到达拉斯吉德地区的人数已经相对较低 - 从危机刚爆发时的平均两千人/每天降低到一千人/每天。但是更多的家庭逃到了这里。至今为止,已经有一百六十个家庭了,其中包括七十名儿童。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Tunisia/2011/Ramoneda
两个月大的姆尼尔 (Munir) 和他的姑姑瓦尔达 (Warda) 在突尼斯拉斯吉德地区进行的一次体检中,从联合国儿童基金会社会工作人员处得到了救助。

赛达想去欧洲,并且住在靠近海边的地方。但是目前她还住在营地,这儿大多数的孩子都不满五岁。

只有两个月大的姆尼尔也住在这儿。由于早产,他的母亲在生下他四天后就去世了。四天前,他和姑姑瓦尔达、父亲及其他四位亲属一块来到了这里。

联合国儿童基金会已经成立了一个由社会工作者和心理学家组成的工作小组,在边境地区为这些家庭和儿童提供所需要的帮助和支持。姆尼尔一到,工作人员就立即带他去看儿科医生。现在已经把他转移到当地医院,目前他的情况非常稳定。

更多的补给

联合国儿童基金会和救助儿童组织正在培训另外一个由心理学家组成的小组,这样,两个小组更可以保障日以继夜地展开工作。联合国儿童基金会同时也在不断加强供给以满足上升的需求。一旦允许进入到利比亚地区,基金会也会提供人道主义援助。这些援助包括医疗卫生,儿童早期培育和保护。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Video
在突尼斯-利比亚边境的拉斯吉德难民营,有一百六十多个家庭其中包括七十名儿童需要救助。

另外,基金会也会努力帮助把早期通过突尼斯-利比亚边境的大约十三万五千名难民送回到他们原籍国。该地区的所有埃及难民已经被安全送回祖国,同时正在计划把一万一千多名孟加拉籍难民也送回国。

但是对于为了逃避战乱而来到利比亚的其他国家人民而言-比如索马里人和厄立特里亚人,他们还要经历更多的磨难,希望渺茫。即使有国家愿意收留他们,他们现在仍要在拉斯吉德地区待一段时间。


 

 

搜索

Tunisia

More families seek shelter at the Tunisia-Libya border as violence in Libya continues

by Najwa Mekki

RAS JDIR, Tunisia, 14 March 2011 – Saida, 6, last saw her best friends before unrest in Libya began. They have no idea she and her parents are now in a camp at Ras Jdir on the Tunisia-Libya border.

VIDEO: 10 March 2011 - UNICEF reports on the increasing number of families crossing the border into Tunisia to escape the crisis in Libya.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

Unfortunately, Saida is no stranger to life as a migrant. When she was barely eight months old, her mother, Samia, and father, Said, left Ethiopia – where they had been living to flee violence in Somalia – and settled in Sudan.

Two years later, the family was on the road again, this time to Libya. “We heard that you could board a boat to Europe from there, so we decided to give it a try, to look for a better future for our children,” Samia says.

But the boat to Europe never came. The family has since been making a life in Libya until fear and violence sent them packing again a few days ago.

Vulnerable children

Although the number of daily new arrivals to Ras Jdir has remained relatively low over the past few days – an average of 2,000 compared to 10,000 when the crisis started – there are more families arriving. There are 160 families to date, including 70 children.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Tunisia/2011/Ramoneda
Two-month-old Munir and his aunt, Warda, receive assistance from

Saida wants to go to Europe and live somewhere by the sea. For now, she spends her days at the camp, where the majority of children are under five years of age.

Also at the camp is Munir, who is just two months old. His mother died four days after giving birth to him prematurely. He reached the camp four days ago with his aunt, Warda, his father and four other relatives.

UNICEF has deployed a team of social workers and psychologists to the border to offer families and children the guidance and support they need. Munir was taken to an on-site paediatrician when he arrived, and has now been transferred to a local hospital where he is in a stable condition. 

More supplies

UNICEF and Save the children are training an additional team of psychologists so that a pool of qualified experts is available around the clock.  UNICEF is also ramping up supplies to meet any increasing needs and provide humanitarian assistance inside Libya once access is allowed.  These will cover areas in hygiene, health, sanitation, early childhood development and protection.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Video
There are more than 160 families including 70 children seeking assistance at the Ras Jdir camp on the Tunisia-Libya border.

Elsewhere, efforts to help the nearly 135,000 migrants who have crossed the Tunisia-Libya border to return to their country of origin continue. All Egyptians at the camp have now returned home and plans are underway to repatriate the more than 11,000 Bangladeshis in the camp.

But for other nationalities that arrived in Libya to escape conflict – like Somalis and Eritreans – there is no end in sight to the ordeal they are going through.  Until other countries are willing to take them in, they are here to stay – at least for a while.


 

 

New enhanced search