突尼斯

突尼斯青年向数以千计的利比亚逃难移民提供帮助

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Tunisia/2011/Ramoneda
两位突尼斯高中生,16 岁的爱比特尔(中)和 18 岁的 奥索玛(右)在突尼斯与利比亚边界向滞留在拉斯吉德 (Ras Jdir) 的逃难移民分发食品。

娜哲娃.麦琪报道

突尼斯拉斯吉德,2011 年 3 月 7 日 – 利比亚境内暴力事件升级,大批逃难移民滞留边境。最近两周内,超过 10 万人通过利比亚与突尼斯边界,无奈踏上了返回原籍国之路。

到达拉斯吉德边界后,移民在过境区收到了志愿者、突尼斯红新月会及其他人员分发的食物、饮用水和毛毯。随后他们将被安排乘坐汽车转至7公里外的营地,停留在那里直至被送回原籍国。

目前营地大约有 1.5 万人,其中大部分是来自孟加拉国的男性务工人员。为了保障这些越境家庭的安全,联合国儿童基金会积极与当地政府以及其他合作伙伴展开紧密合作,共同提供指导、援助以及社会心理支援。

团结一致

16 岁的爱比特尔和 18 岁的奥索玛是突尼斯东南部扎尔齐斯 (Zarzis) 的高中生,一直在协助分发食物。他们联合同学们一同发起了募款活动。募款引起的反响远远超出了他们当时的预期。

“当人们了解到我们是在为这些住在营地的人购买食物时,便慷慨地免费给了我们更多的食物。”奥索玛说。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Tunisia/2011/Ramoneda
从利比亚逃至突尼斯的一个孟加拉籍移民家庭(祖父母、儿媳和三个孩子)暂居于拉斯吉德一处住所。

边界上突尼斯人在危机发生时所展现的团结精神令人永生难忘。志愿者(无论老幼)发挥了非常重要的作用,他们为这些数日来无水无粮的移民提供了最基础的援助。
爱比特尔说:“我们不能眼睁睁地看着周围的人遭受苦难,自己却无动于衷。帮助他们是我们的责任。”

前途难料

10 岁的珍娜特两天前和祖父母、父母以及弟弟妹妹一起来到拉斯吉德。她父亲工作了 12 年的公司倒闭并且安全局势每况愈下,他们一家离开了利比亚的本欧力德 (Ben Oulid) 镇,准备前往孟加拉国。

两个小时的车程他们花了六个小时,他们的车被多个检查站拦下。像其他许多人一样,他们一家人手机的 SIM 卡和存储卡也被没收了。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Tunisia/2011/Ramoneda
受到暴力冲突影响,一名从利比亚逃到突尼斯的索马里移民带着自己的孩子住进了拉斯吉德难民营的帐篷中。

来自索马里的阿布穆罕默德更是对前路感到茫然。2009年他来利比亚找工作。动乱爆发伊始,他就决定将妻子和六个月大的儿子送往安全的地方。

“我已经 24 岁了,在我的国家从来就没有过政府。我不能回索马里,但我也不知道要去哪儿。”他说。

筹资呼吁

虽然每天涌入营地的平均人数已从一万人下降到两千人,但未来形势仍很难预测。由于对利比亚目前的情况了解有限,联合国儿童基金会非常关注目前的暴力事件对当地妇女与儿童安全的影响。

一个由 14 人组成的应急小组正在待命,准备在安全局势好转时立即进入利比亚。同时,联合国儿童基金会正在积极联络利比亚境内的合作伙伴,其中包括利比亚国家红新月会。

为了加强对利比亚危机的响应,联合国儿童基金会宣布,在接下来的三个月内将需要 810 万美元来应对更大范围人道主义危机的威胁。


 

 

搜索

Tunisia

Tunisia's youth step up to assist thousands of migrants fleeing Libya

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Tunisia/2011/Ramoneda
Tunisian high school students Ibtihel,16 (centre), and Oussama, 18 (right), deliver food to fleeing migrants in Ras Jdir, on the Tunisia-Libya border.

By Najwa Mekki

RAS JDIR, Tunisia, 7 March 2011 – As violence mounts in Libya, the border is overflowing with fleeing migrants. In the last two weeks, more than 100,000 have crossed the Libya-Tunisia border on their way to their countries of origin.

Upon arrival at the border at Ras Jdir, migrants are received at a transit area where volunteers, the Tunisian Red Crescent and others hand out food, water and blankets. They are then moved by bus to a camp 7 km away where they stay until they are sent home.

An estimated 15,000 people are currently at the camp, mostly male migrant workers from Bangladesh. To ensure the safety of families crossing the border, UNICEF has been working in coordination with the local authorities and other partners to provide guidance, assistance and psycho-social support.

Spirit of solidarity

Ibtihel, 16, and Oussama, 18, are among the high school students from Zarzis in south-eastern Tunisia who have been helping out by distributing food. With fellow students they launched a fundraising drive. The response was more than they’d hoped for.

“When people found out who we were buying all this food for, they started giving us more for free,” Oussama says.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Tunisia/2011/Ramoneda
A Bangaldeshi migrant family - two grandparents, daughter-in-law and three children - sit inside a house in Ras Jdir, Tunisia, after fleeing Libya.

The spirit of solidarity that Tunisians have shown since the beginning of the crisis at the border has been impressive. Volunteers, young and old alike, have played a key role in providing basic assistance to the migrants – many of whom arrived after days without water and food.

“We can’t just sit down and watch while others around us are suffering,” Ibtihel says. “It is our duty to help them.”

Uncertain future

Zennat, 10, reached Ras Jdir two days ago with her grandparents, parents, young brother and baby sister. They left the Libyan town of Ben Oulid for Bangladesh after the company where her father worked for 12 years closed down, and the security situation deteriorated.

The usually two-hour drive took six, and their car was stopped at multiple checkpoints. Like many others, the family’s cell phone SIM and memory cards were confiscated.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Tunisia/2011/Ramoneda
A Somali migrant sits in a tent with her baby at a camp in Ras Jdir, Tunisia, after fleeing Libyan unrest with her family.

Abu Mohammed, originally from Somalia, faces an even more uncertain future. He moved to Libya to look for work in 2009. When the unrest started, he decided to move his wife and six-month-old son to safety.

“I’m 24 years old, and I have never seen a government in my country,” he says. “I can’t go back to Somalia, but I’m not sure where to go.”

Funding appeal

Although the daily influx to the camp has fallen – from an average of 10,000 to 2,000 – it is difficult to fully assess the situation. Access to information in Libya is limited, and UNICEF is concerned about the impact that the current violence is having on women and children.

A 14-member immediate-response team is standing by to deploy to Libya as soon as the security situation improves. UNICEF is also contacting partners within Libya, including the Libyan National Red Crescent.

In order to step up its response to the crisis in Libya, UNICEF has announced it will need $8.1 million to respond to the threat of a larger-scale humanitarian crisis over the next three months.


 

 

New enhanced search