东帝汶

成龙为东帝汶青少年带来了和平与和谐的信息

UNICEF Photo: Jackie Chan, UNICEF
© UNICEF/HQ08-0646/Estey
2008年6月24日,在东帝汶首都帝力的联合国办事处,联合国儿童基金会亲善大使成龙(前排,右)会见了儿童们。其身后是秘书长驻东帝汶特别代表阿图尔.哈勒。

里莉.居哈里报道

东帝汶帝力,2008年6月26日。在本周的访问中,联合国儿童基金会亲善大使成龙激励东帝汶的年轻人,向他们传递了用武术作为和平、团结力量的特别讯息。

长期以来武术一直受到东帝汶青年人的欢迎。过去,他们为了运动、健身和自卫练习武术。但随着该国独立后而陷入的暴力事件,越来越多的青少年用武术实施犯罪行为和暴力。

六年前获得独立的东帝汶,是该地区最贫穷的国家之一。政府认识到加强以青年为重点的政策,以及提供更好的教育和就业机会,对国家的未来是至关重要的。

使武术学生团结起来

成龙访问期间,他在青年中心、学校和国家体育场开展与年轻人的互动活动,在那里他带领3500多名学生一起练习武术。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/HQ08-0653/Estey
成龙在东帝汶帝力国家体育场带领数百名学生练习武术。

体育场墙面上的涂鸦,传递着和平与和谐的信息,来自武术、格斗术、空手道以及合气道学校的学生分别进行了武术表演。在由联合国儿童基金会同青年和体育部共同主办的活动中,成龙鼓励年轻人成为社会的生力军和发挥建设性能量的渠道。

“来自什么武术学校并不重要,只要我们团结起来,”他说。“练习武术有助于增强你的视力,思维和身体。当你有一个好身体和好头脑的时候,让我们去帮助别人。不要伤害他们。”

和平对话取代战斗

之后,成龙乘直升飞机抵达该国西南部农村艾纳鲁,数百年前武术第一次被引进到这里。飞机在一个足球场着陆后,他受到了600名学生的迎接,学生们和他手臂相挽,跳起了象征团结的传统舞蹈。

回到帝力后,在科摩罗青年中心,成龙看到了青年职业培训的重要性,他参观了生活技能、英语和电子等课程。

他还在碧坷拉足球场的罚球区射球,以前不同的武术帮派在这里进行激烈的对决,但现在取而代之的是在和平对话。

‘教育是无价的投资’

在卡米亚对一个儿童友好学校进行访问时,成龙同正在上艺术和数学课的儿童们倾谈,并抽出时间和他们跳绳,打排球。许多儿童说他们得在崎岖的山路上步行一个半小时以上来上学。

“这里的孩子上学是怎样的艰难,我已经有所耳闻。在年青人的生活中教育是无价的投资。我们必须帮助他们坚持上学,完成学业,这样他们才能有一个更好的未来,”成龙说。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/HQ08-0643/Estey
在帝力的考莫罗青年中心,成龙(中)同年轻运动员谈笑,该中心为青少年开设了识字班,提供技能培训、体育及娱乐等活动。

“成龙的到访对这里的许多孩子是一个启示。当他招手,和孩子们击掌并以他独有的魅力近距离接触他们时,我看见孩子们的眼睛和脸庞都亮了起来,”联合国儿童基金会驻东帝汶的工作人员仲.库吉塔说。

“联合国儿童基金会正致力于同东帝汶的政府一道,保护青年人的权利,确保他们有学习并发展实际技能以及在国家的发展中发挥积极作用的机会,”她补充道。

朝向持久的和平

因功夫电影而闻名的成龙,在他的访问中会见了数千名青年人,听取了他们对未来的关切和希望,同时传递了纪律、尊重和团结的信息。

他还参加了总统何塞-拉莫斯.霍塔所设的晚宴,会见了总理沙纳纳.古斯芒,并听取了秘书长驻东帝汶特别代表阿图尔.哈勒的概要介绍。

米格尔.玛尼特鲁部长感谢成龙的到访。“我们希望这里所有的年青人都会记住你的话”他说,“我们必须使这个国家的和平持续下去。”


 

 

视频(英文)

2008年6月24 日:
联合国儿童基金会亲善大使克里斯.内尔斯就联合国儿童基金会亲善大使成龙访问东帝汶进行了报道。
 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频
搜索

At a glance: Timor-Leste

Jackie Chan brings a message of peace and harmony to young people of Timor-Leste

UNICEF Image: Jackie Chan, UNICEF
© UNICEF/HQ08-0646/Estey
On 24 June 2008, UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador Jackie Chan (foreground, right) greets children at the UN compound in Dili, the capital of Timor-Leste. Behind him is UNICEF Representative in Timor-Leste Jun Kukita.

By Lely Djuhari

DILI, Timor-Leste, 26 June 2008 – On a visit here this week, UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador Jackie Chan inspired young people in Timor-Leste with a special message about using martial arts as a peaceful, unifying force.

Martial arts have historically been very popular with Timorese youths. In the past, they practiced martial arts for sport, fitness and self-defense. But with the descent of the country into violence following independence, more and more youths have been applying their skills to acts of crime and violence.

Timor-Leste, which received its independence six years ago, is one of the poorest nations in the region. The government recognizes that strong youth-focused policies, as well as better education and employment opportunities, are critical to the country’s future.

Uniting martial arts students
During Mr. Chan’s visit, he interacted with young people at a youth centre, a school and the national stadium, where he led over 3,500 students in a unifying exercise.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/HQ08-0653/Estey
Jackie Chan leads several hundred students in a martial arts exercise at the national stadium in Dili, Timor-Leste.

The stadium walls had been decorated with graffiti messages of peace and harmony, and martial arts students from the Wushu, Kempo, Karate and Aikido schools each performed demonstrations. During the event, co-hosted by UNICEF and the Secretary of Youth and Sports, Mr. Chan encouraged young people to become productive members of society and to channel their energies constructively.

“It does not matter what school of martial arts we are from as long as we are united,” he said. “Training for martial arts helps you to strengthen your eyes, your mind and your body. When you have a good body and mind, let's help people. Don't harm them.”

Peace dialogues replace fighting
Mr. Chan later flew by helicopter to Ainaro in the rural southwest of the country, where martial arts were first introduced hundreds of years ago. After landing at a football field, he was greeted by 600 students who linked arms with him and did a traditional dance to show unity.

Back in Dili, at the Comoro Youth Centre, Mr. Chan was shown the importance of vocational youth training and observed lessons in life skills, English and electronics. 

He also shot from the penalty box at a football pitch in Becora, an area where rival martial arts gangs used to fight fiercely but now hold peace dialogues instead.

‘Education is a priceless investment’
On a visit to a child-friendly school in Camea, Mr. Chan chatted to a classroom of children engaged in art and math classes, taking time out to skip rope and play volleyball with them. Many of the children said they had to walk upwards of an hour and half up rugged hills to get to school.

“I’ve heard how tough it is for some children to go to school here. Education is a priceless investment in the lives of young people. We must help them stay in school and finish their education so they can have a better future,” said Mr. Chan.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/HQ08-0643/Estey
In Dili, Jackie Chan (centre) laughs with young athletes at the Comorro Youth Centre, which provides literacy classes, skills training, sports and recreation for young people.

“Jackie's visit has been an inspiration to many kids here. I can see their eyes and faces light up as he waves, gives high fives and reaches out to them with his charismatic style,” said the UNICEF Representative in Timor-Leste Jun Kukita.

“UNICEF is committed to working with Timor-Leste’s government to fulfil the rights of young people and to make sure they have the opportunity to learn, develop practical skills and play an active role in the development of the country,” he added.

Toward a lasting peace
Mr. Chan, who became famous for his kung fu films, met thousands of young people on his visit and listened to their concerns and hopes for the future, while delivering a message of discipline, respect and unity.

He also attended a dinner hosted by President Jose-Ramos Horta, met Prime Minister Xanana Gusmao and was briefed by Special Representative of the Secretary General for Timor-Leste Atul Khare.

Minister Miguel Manetelu thanked Mr. Chan for visiting. “We hope that all the young people here will remember your words,” he said. “We must make peace last in this country.”


 

 

Video

24 June 2008:
UNICEF correspondent Chris Niles reports on UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador Jackie Chan's visit to Timor-Leste.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search