东帝汶

东帝汶的第一次全国抗击艾滋病运动告诉青少年:“该谈谈了”

UNICEF Photo: Timor-Leste, HIV/AIDS campaign
© UNICEF Timor-Leste/2007/See
一群戴着黄色帽子的青少年在帝力出席由联合国儿童基金会支持的“该谈谈了”运动的启动仪式。

布丽姬特.思依

2007年8月21日,东帝汶帝力。东帝汶艾滋病知识教育工作者在教育项目中以代号来表示身体的各个部位。 他们说这样可以减少与青少年谈论有性生殖和艾滋病时的尴尬。

来自当地非政府组织东帝汶哈里基金会的多明戈斯.圣说:“开始,有些青少年很生气,他们认为公开谈论这些名词伤风败俗。” 多明戈斯与他的同事爱米莉亚.卡洛斯正在培训年轻人,使他们成为同辈的艾滋病教育者 - 一项由联合国儿童基金会支持的活动。

卡洛斯女士指出她的每堂课上都只有几位青少年知道通过性传染的疾病。 她说:“我们给他们看生殖器模型的时候,他们非常不好意思。 女孩们用手捂住脸,而男孩们往往讲很多笑话。”

“该谈谈了”

东帝汶不能再回避谈论艾滋病问题。 在人口不到一百万的岛上, 已知的艾滋病病例可能只是冰山之一角而矣。 目前,首都帝力只有三个中心可以进行艾滋病检测,因此还没有普及到大多数人。

这项由卫生部领导的大胆运动敦促青少年更多地了解艾滋病,而更重要的是要采取防护措施。 在“该谈谈了”的口号下,联合国儿童基金会支持的政府运动自六月开始在全国启动以来,现在已经进入到第三个月。 该国所有的13个地区已经开始培训课程、游行、推广项目和活动。

联合国儿童基金会驻东帝汶艾滋病专家布丽姬特.约伯.约翰森说:“联合国儿童基金会视这场运动为非常重要的打破对艾滋病的沉默的首要行动。 世界的经验已经证明青少年尤其容易受到艾滋病的伤害。”

青少年的积极参与

27岁的洛萨利奥(化名)是很多积极参与运动的青年中的一员。 去年,他发现他的艾滋病毒检测呈阳性反应。 现在,作为抗击艾滋病运动大军中的志愿者,他想尽可能地分享他的知识,以保护其他人不受感染。

他说:“我们很多人对艾滋病没有清楚的了解,很害怕。 我想鼓励那些艾滋病毒检测呈阳性反应的人去治疗并掌握更多知识,远离危险的性行为及共用针头。”

运动的其中一项活动是教80名“培训师”为1500名运动志愿者开设讲座,使他们能再将信息传播给他们所在社区的四万名青少年。

在政府及其合作伙伴的不断努力下,在知识运动帮助打破对艾滋病的沉默的同时,东帝汶正在采取关键的防护措施。


 

 

防治艾滋病运动

搜索

At a glance: Timor-Leste

Timor-Leste’s first nationwide HIV/AIDS campaign tells youths, ’It’s time to talk’

UNICEF Image: Timor-Leste, HIV/AIDS campaign
© UNICEF Timor-Leste/2007/See
A group of young people dressed in yellow campaign caps attend the launch of the UNICEF-supported 'It’s time to talk' campaign in Dili.

By Bridgette See

DILI, Timor-Leste, 21 August 2007 – In Timor-Leste, HIV educators have been using code names for parts of the body during their educational programmes. This, they say, makes it less awkward to talk about sexual reproduction and HIV with young people.

“Initially some of the young people were angry. They said it was immoral to mention those terms in public,” said Domingos dos Santos, from the local non-governmental organization Fundasaun Timor Harii. He and colleague Amelia Carlos train young people to be HIV peer educators – an activity that is supported by UNICEF.

Ms. Carlos pointed out that only a few young people from each of her sessions were aware of sexually transmitted infections. “When we show the models of the genitals, they’re so shy. The girls hide behind their hands, while the boys tend to joke a lot,” she said.

‘It’s time to talk’

Timor-Leste cannot avoid talking about HIV any longer. On an island of less than 1 million people, even the known cases of HIV may be only the tip of the iceberg. HIV testing is currently limited to three centres in the capital, Dili, and thus is not widely accessible to most people.

For the first time, a bold campaign led by the Ministry of Health is urging young people to find out more about HIV/AIDS and, more important, to take preventive action. Under the slogan, ‘It’s time to talk’, this UNICEF-supported government campaign is now entering its third month after a national launch in June. All 13 districts in the country have begun training sessions, parades, outreach programmes and activities.

“This campaign is viewed by UNICEF as a very important first line of action to break the silence about HIV and AIDS,” said UNICEF Timor-Leste HIV/AIDS Specialist Bridget Job-Johnson. “Experience from across the world has proven that young people are particularly vulnerable to HIV.”

Active youth participation

Rosario (not his real name), 27, is one of the many young people who are actively participating in the campaign. Last year, he discovered he was HIV-positive. Now, as a volunteer in the HIV campaign workforce, he wants to share as much information as possible to prevent others from getting infected.

“So many of us don’t have clear information about HIV/AIDS and are scared,” he said. “I want to encourage people who are positive to get treatment and information, and stay away from risky sexual behaviour and shared needles.”

As part of the campaign, 80 ‘master trainers’ were taught  to conduct HIV workshops with over 1,500 campaign volunteers, who would in turn pass on the information to 40,000 youths in their communities.

Key steps towards prevention are being taken in Timor-Leste with the ongoing efforts of the government and its partners, as the information campaign helps to break the silence on HIV/AIDS.

 


 

 

AIDS campaign

New enhanced search