UNICEF.org新网站正在建设中。
网页内容还在更新中。感谢您的耐心,敬请稍后查看。

泰国

将书籍带给泰国偏远地区的儿童

观看视频:将书籍带给泰国偏远地区的儿童

 

希玛卡恩 · 西乍叻差亚 (Heamakarn Sricharatchanya) 报道

在泰国北部的偏远贫困地区,大部分家庭几乎没有书籍,但那里的儿童却求知若渴。移动图书馆项目为该地区的儿童提供了更多阅读机会。

泰国,夜丰颂府,2015年12月——对于阿比希特 · 西里蓬拉勒 (Apisit Sripornlumlert) 和他在班惠彭学校里的朋友们来说,今天是个特别的日子。这座学校位于泰国北部夜丰颂府湄拉内地区的高山之中。今天,移动图书馆来到他们的学校,带来了超过1200本儿童读物。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Thailand/2015/Prommarak
一辆移动图书馆卡车正在为泰国北部夜丰颂府偏远地区的儿童运送书籍。

阿比希特与许多学生一听到卡车的喇叭声,就立刻兴奋地跑向学校操场。 移动图书馆的卡车停在了学校前面。 其他孩子挤作一团,透过教室窗户朝卡车方向望去。

“移动图书馆来到我们学校,我非常开心。”九岁的阿比希特说,他正在读三年级,“我喜欢阅读,但家里只有一本书。”

像阿比希特这样的儿童还有很多。

根据国家统计局于2012年在联合国儿童基金会帮助下开展的多指标类集调查,泰国超过半数五岁以下儿童家中的儿童读物少于三本。 全国拥有10本或10本以上书籍的儿童比例仅有14.2%。

“所有儿童都应当有机会阅读有趣、适龄且具有启发性的书籍,从而培养他们的创造能力、语言能力,以及提升社交能力。”联合国儿童基金会驻泰国办事处代表比贾亚 · 拉杰班达里 (Bijaya Rajbhandari) 说,“但泰国有太多儿童在成长过程中无法享有这种机会,因而他们缺少生存及开发全部潜能所需的阅读技能。”

有限的机会

调查结果显示,城市儿童比生活在农村地区的儿童可以接触到更多儿童读物。五岁以下城市儿童拥有三本或三本以上儿童读物的比例略高于50%,而该比例在农村地区仅为38%。 在夜丰颂府这样的偏远地区,差异更加显著。

“这里的家庭几乎都没有儿童读物。”坤元教育服务区内学校主管人达拉叻 · 披攀 (Dararat Phiwphan) 说,“坤元区甚至连家书店也没有。”

贫困导致儿童读物的缺乏。生活在山区的家庭普遍都是靠务农为生的少数民族。“他们的钱用来购买食物和其它生活必需品。 他们无法负担儿童读物的费用。”达拉叻补充道。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Thailand/2015/Prommarak
孩子们帮忙从移动图书馆卡车中搬出书籍。每辆移动图书馆卡车上装有1200本左右的儿童读物。

联合国儿童基金会与夜丰颂府教育服务区办事处、当地社区、私人公司及其他合作伙伴共同制定了夜丰颂府内的移动图书馆项目。根据该项目,有三座移动图书馆奔行在蜿蜒的山路上,颠簸在山中或驶入林间,为府内山地部落社区的33所联合国儿童基金会支持建立的公立学校儿童带去书籍。这些书籍在询问儿童意见后选定,并经当地教育部门批准。

“移动图书馆项目解决了偏远地区儿童无法阅读好书的问题,该项目真正把书籍带给了儿童。”达拉叻说,“移动图书馆项目很有价值,因为它不是造福一所学校,而是为移动图书馆所到的数十所学校带来了好处。”

移动图书馆到达学校后,一位受过训练的随行教员会举办一场书展,并为儿童组织活动帮助他们进行阅读。因为父母在儿童养成早期阅读习惯的过程中发挥了关键作用,因此他们也被鼓励参与到活动中。

移动图书馆每次在每所学校停留3至7天。儿童在这几天里可以借阅心爱的书籍,他们可以回家后念给兄弟姐妹和父母听。

“移动图书馆来了这里,我很开心。”素里 · 沙功拜 (Suree Sakolprai) 说。她的两个女儿在坤元区的班惠亨学校上六年级。“阅读活动帮助我的女儿提高了阅读能力。 她们喜欢为我和丈夫读书,还会问跟故事有关的问题。 她们的读写能力都很好,我感到非常骄傲。”

学习的基础

“阅读不仅仅是一种技能,还是儿童了解世界、乐于求知和理解正面价值观的途径。”联合国儿童基金会驻泰国办事处教育处主任休 · 德莱尼 (Hugh Delaney) 表示。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Thailand/2015/Prommarak
在湄拉内地区班惠彭学校读三年级的阿比希特 · 西里蓬拉勒正在阅读移动图书馆中的书籍,阿比希特说他很喜欢阅读,但他的家里只有一本书。

德莱尼指出,阅读是终身学习的重要基础。掌握阅读及写作能力的儿童,将来更有可能在学业上有所成就,并发挥所有潜能。阅读还帮助儿童接触并掌握语言和读写能力,尤其是来自弱势背景或家庭的儿童。

2015年预计将有超过700所学校、1400位父母受益于该项目。联合国儿童基金会希望,来年能够有更多移动图书馆造福更多偏远地区的儿童,让其他儿童感受到阿比希特和朋友们阅读的欢乐。

“我希望移动图书馆能够经常来我们学校。”这位梦想成为警察的男孩说,“我希望可以有一个良好的阅读环境。 我知道阅读会让我更聪明。”


 

 

联合国儿童基金会摄影专辑:临时教室

搜索

Bringing books to children in Thailand’s remote mountain districts

WATCH: Bringing books to children in remote areas


By Heamakarn Sricharatchanya

A mobile library project aims to improve access to books for children in remote and impoverished northern Thailand, where most families have few books at home and children are eager to learn.

MAE HONG SON, Thailand, December 2015 – Today is a special day for Apisit Sripornlumlert and his friends at Ban Huay Pueng school, which nestles between towering mountains in Mae La Noi district, in the northern Thailand province of Mae Hong Son. It is the day the mobile library is coming to their school, bringing them more than 1,200 children’s books.

© UNICEF Thailand/2015/Prommarak
A mobile library van on its way to bringing books to children in hard-to-reach areas of Mae Hong Son, in northern Thailand.

As soon as they hear the van’s horn, Apisit and dozens of other students run excitedly to the school playground. The mobile library van arrives and parks in front of the school. Other children squeeze and stretch to catch a glimpse of it through the windows of their classrooms.

“I am very happy that the mobile library visits our school,” says Apisit, 9, who is in the third grade. “I like to read, but I only have one book at home.”

Apisit is not alone.

More than half of children under 5 years old in Thailand live in households with fewer than three children’s books, according to the Multiple Indicator Cluster Survey (MICS), conducted in 2012 by the National Statistical Office, with support from UNICEF. The proportion of children with 10 or more books is only 14.2 per cent nationwide.

“All children should have the opportunity to access interesting, age-appropriate and inspiring books to nurture their creativity, language ability and promote social interaction,” says Bijaya Rajbhandari, UNICEF Representative in Thailand. “But there are too many children in Thailand growing up without this opportunity. As a result, they lack the reading skills they need to survive and develop to their full potential.”

Limited access

According to the MICS results, urban children have more access to children’s books than those living in rural households. The proportion of children under 5 who have three or more children’s books is just over 50 per cent in urban areas, compared to 38 per cent in rural areas. In mountainous and remote provinces like Mae Hong Son, the difference is pronounced.

“Children’s books barely exist in households around here,” says Dararat Phiwphan, director of schools under Khun Yuam Education Service Area District. “Here in Khun Yuam district, we don’t even have a bookstore.”

Poverty also leads to limited access to children’s books. The families who live in these mountainous areas are mostly from ethnic minorities making their living by farming. “They use money to buy food and other necessities for survival. They can’t afford to buy children’s books,” Dararat adds.

© UNICEF Thailand/2015/Prommarak
Children help carry books from a mobile library van. Each mobile library carries around 1,200 children’s books.

UNICEF has worked with the Mae Hong Son Education Service Area Office, local communities, private companies and other partners to establish the mobile library project here. Under the project, there are three mobile libraries running through winding roads, up and down mountains and into forests to bring books to children at 33 UNICEF-supported public schools for hill tribe communities in the province. The books themselves have been selected in consultation with children and approved by local education authorities.

“The mobile library project is the solution to children who live in remote areas who hardly have access to good books because it really brings the books to children,” Dararat says. “And it’s worthwhile because it’s benefiting not just one school, but tens of schools that the mobile libraries are visiting.”

When the mobile library arrives at the school, a trained animator who accompanies the mobile library sets up a book exhibition and organizes activities for children to help engage them in reading. Parents play a vital role in promoting the early readings habit of children so they are also encouraged to join in the activities.

The mobile library stops at each school for three to seven days each time it comes. During this time, children can borrow their much-loved books home so they can read to their siblings and their parents as well.

“I am happy that the mobile library comes here,” says Suree Sakolprai, a mother of two girls studying in Grade 6 at Ban Huay Hung school in Khun Yuam district. “Reading activities help my daughters read better. They like to read for me and my husband, and ask questions about the stories they read. I am really proud that they can read and write well.”

Foundation for learning

“Reading is not only a skill; it is also a way for children to learn about the world, to develop a curiosity for ideas, and to understand positive values,” says Hugh Delaney, Chief of Education for UNICEF Thailand.

© UNICEF Thailand/2015/Prommarak
Apisit Sripornlumlert, who studies in third grade at Ban Huay Pueng school in Mae La Noi district, reads a book from the mobile library. Apisit says he loves to read. “But I only have one book at home,” he says.

Mr. Delaney points out that reading is an important foundation for lifelong learning. Children who read and write easily are more likely to do better in school and achieve their full potential. Reading also helps expose children to language and literacy skills and build these skills in them, especially those who come from disadvantaged backgrounds and families.

More than 700 school children and 1,400 parents are expected to benefit from this project in 2015. UNICEF hopes to reach more children in hard-to-reach areas with more mobile libraries in the years to come so that other children experience the joy of reading like Apisit and his friends.

“I want the mobile library to visit my school often,” says the boy who dreams of becoming a policeman. “I want to read well. And I know that reading will make me smarter.”



UNICEF Photography: Makeshift classrooms

New enhanced search