UNICEF.org新网站正在建设中。
网页内容还在更新中。感谢您的耐心,敬请稍后查看。

泰国

保护泰国和亚太地区儿童免遭性剥削

艾迪.布朗报道

在任何情况下使用儿童进行性行为都是不能容忍的。联合国儿童基金会驻东亚及太平洋区域艾滋病专家雪莉.马克.普拉布(Shirley Mark Prabhu)说:“本区域的所有国家都签署了《联合国儿童权利公约》,公约在这方面的阐述非常明确。没有雏妓一说,任何从事色情活动的18岁以下儿童都是性剥削的受害者,是对儿童的健康、教育和童年的破坏。”

泰国曼谷,2015年2月24日 -- 萨恩(Saeng)*在14岁的时候被迫从事卖淫活动,他**当年与父母闹翻,离家出走,身无分文地流落街头。他当时太年幼,不知所面临的风险。他感到绝望,最终进入色情行业,被成年人剥削。由于他是未成年人,酒吧不允许他在那里卖淫,所以他到大街上去进行性交易。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF EAPRO/2014/Brown
艾滋病专员雪莉.普拉布与萨恩讨论他的情况。

现在18岁的萨恩回忆道:“我和爸爸打起来是因为我想成为人妖,他不理解。”他以泰国俗语称呼变性人,“我去和一位在娜娜区酒吧里卖淫的朋友同住。我会和付我500铢的外国人进行性行为。如果我的生意好,我就在旅馆里住一晚。否则,我就睡在大街上。”

“我对艾滋病不太了解”

剥削萨恩的成年人将他置于感染性传播疾病的极大危险之中。他有时会受到暴力侵犯,“有一次,一个客人把我的头按进酒店水池里,不让我走。我大声呼救,是酒店前台的工作人员来把我救了。”

萨恩还有一个被接纳的问题,他说:“娜娜区有个人妖黑帮,他们会因我在他们的地盘上工作而扇我嘴巴或打我。”

此外,遇上警察对萨恩也是一个问题。他说:“还有一次,一位客人正在提款机上为我取现金,警察从后面上来,把我拖走。我们有三个人被逮捕,警察让每人付1000铢,那两个人被放走了,但我因为没钱,他们让我在监狱里呆了一夜,第二天早晨才放我出来。”

在昏暗的小巷

萨恩后来栖身的娜娜区是以性交易闻名的红灯区,主要客人是外国游客。其他地区的客户群不同,在大皇宫附近皇家田的昏暗小巷里和运河沿岸,卖淫女的客人是泰国出租车司机和三轮摩托车夫,她们在人行道上租塑料椅子,展示自己。一旦交易谈成,就转移到廉价的酒店去租钟点房。

那希.苏恩瓦力是伊萨拉崇基金会(Issarachon Foundation)的一名社会工作者,他们在这一地区援助性工作者和露宿街头的人。苏恩瓦力表示,虽然多数卖淫者是成年人,但也有儿童参与其中,有些人年纪很小就开始了。苏恩瓦力解释说:“我们发现有年仅8岁的男童被卖做性交易工具。女孩从11或12岁开始,学校放假时,他们来运河沿岸工作。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF EAPRO/2014/Thuentap
晚上开始上街救援工作之前,那希.苏恩瓦力与志愿者谈话。

这些年来,儿童进入色情行业的原因发生了改变。苏恩瓦力说:“过去,他们是为了帮助改善家庭的生存状况,现在社会变了,贫困家庭的孩子卖淫是为了挣钱买智能手机和其它他们无法承担的消费品。我们也发现性工作者中同性恋和变性人更多了。他们可以在社交媒体上较容易地找到客户。”

在泰国,卖淫是非法行为,所以卖淫者无法向警察求助。苏恩瓦力说:“性工作者经常因遇到警察而惹上麻烦。”萨恩的经历证实了这一说法。“如果他们未满18岁,可以被送进青少年拘留中心。他们最需要的往往是一个朋友,不是对他们评头论足的人。他们中的大多数知道艾滋病,但他们不考虑其它性病。”

夜晚,苏恩瓦力走在大街上发避孕套,帮助性工作者获得保健服务,并且努力帮他们寻找其它的工作机会。

具体的改变行动

联合国儿童基金会正致力于防止发生像萨恩这样的青少年参与被迫卖淫的行为。同时,我们也努力确保各国政府履行保护和照顾受性剥削侵害的儿童,包括确保他们获得卫生保健服务和有关艾滋病的知识。

联合国儿童基金会驻东亚及太平洋区域办事处与合作伙伴合作,制作关于如何在获取高危青少年和年轻人的数据的同时保证匿名的研究者指南。普拉布说:“这是一群隐形人,我们工作的第一步是获取有关他们的可靠数据,我们现在正编写一本便于青少年组织使用和理解数据的指导手册,这本手册采用了漫画书的风格。”

2014年,联合国儿童基金会驻泰国办事处制作了一份有关感染艾滋病毒的年轻人的报告[英文PDF] ,报告显示泰国正面临着性传播疾病上升的新趋势,全部病例中的70%发生在15至24岁这一年龄组。联合国儿童基金会已开始使用这些数据,与政府沟通,将接受艾滋病毒检查的年龄降低到18岁,并为那些与高危年轻人接触和在学校普及艾滋病教育的卫生工作者提供培训。2014年12月,在我们的建议下,泰国艾滋病毒检查的官方指南已经进行修订。

更好的生活

对于像萨恩这样的年轻人来说,除卖淫以外还有别的选择。两年前,当萨恩睡在娜娜区的大街上时,另一个非政府组织溪源(Dton Naam)向他伸出了援手。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF EAPRO/2014/Brown
在溪源,塞莱斯特.麦克吉展示萨恩的画。

溪源与泰国变性组织合作,溪源的执行主任塞莱斯特.麦克吉(Celeste McGee)在讲述这个群体所面临的特殊挑战时说:“他们在生活中的选择非常有限,只能从事某些工作,比如娱乐行业的工作,他们很容易变成从事色情行业的工作。他们可能将挣来的钱用于购买化妆品、激素或做手术,但这是一个恶性循环,他们需要不断地通过卖淫来维持他们的生活方式。”

由于溪源的努力,萨恩不再混迹于街头。溪源的工作人员帮他与父母和解,并获得医疗服务。溪源为萨恩提供了其他的就业机会,包括在咖啡馆工作和制作手艺术品。现在萨恩每周前往溪源一次,接受辅导和上绘画课。他错过了多年的受教育机会,但现在是时候开始了。

萨恩说:“现在我父母对我好多了,我妈不再冲我嚷,她平静、亲切了好多。我爸还是不喜欢我的人妖生活方式,但他已经接受了。”

至于萨恩对未来的计划,他说:“我想回到学校,然后成为一名厨师或艺术家。”

_________

* 化名。

**萨恩出生时的性别为男性,他的性别认同和表达方式不固定,他讲话时使用了男性和女性的表达方式。鉴于萨恩在采访中展现的自我认同,包括语言、服饰的选择,更接近男性,这篇文章使用阳性代名词。


 

 

联合国儿童基金会摄影专辑: 性别问题

搜索

Protecting children exploited for sex, in Thailand – and Asia-Pacific

By Andy Brown

There are no circumstances in which using children for sex is acceptable. HIV Specialist for UNICEF East Asia and Pacific Shirley Mark Prabhu says: “The UN Convention on the Rights of the Child, which has been signed by all countries in this region, is very clear on this point. There is no such thing as a child prostitute. Any child under the age of 18 is a victim of sexual exploitation. It violates their rights to health, education and a childhood.”

BANGKOK, Thailand, 24 February 2015 – Saeng* was forced into prostitution at the age of 14. After falling out with his** parents and running away from home, he found himself on the street with no money. Desperate and too young to understand the risks involved, he ended up in the sex industry, exploited by adults. Bars wouldn’t allow him to work on the premises because he was underage, so he sold sex on the streets.

© UNICEF EAPRO/2014/Brown
HIV specialist Shirley Mark Prabhu talks with Saeng about his situation.

“I fought with my Dad because I wanted to be a kathoey and he couldn’t understand,” recalls Saeng, who is now 18. The Thai term he uses is colloquial for a range of transgender identities. “I went to stay with a friend who sold sex in the bars around Nana district. I would hook up with foreigners who paid me 500 baht (US$15) for sex. If I got enough customers, I could spend the night in a hotel. Otherwise, I would sleep on the streets.

“I didn’t know much about HIV.”

Adults who exploited Saeng put him at grave risk of contracting sexually transmitted diseases. Some committed acts of violence against him. “One time a customer forced my head into a hotel basin and wouldn’t let me go. I shouted for help and the receptionist came and rescued me.”

There were also issues with acceptance. “There was a kathoey mafia in Nana,” he says. “They would slap or beat me for working in their territory.”

Saeng also had a run-in with the police. “Another time a customer was getting money out of a cash point for me,” he says. “The police came up behind me and dragged me away. They arrested three of us. They let the others go for 1,000 baht each, but I had no money. They kept me in jail overnight and released me the next morning.” 

In the dark backstreets

The area where Saeng ended up, Nana, is a sex district catering mainly to foreign tourists. Other areas see a different clientele. In dark backstreets and along canals in Sanam Luang near the Grand Palace, women sell sex to Thai taxi and tuk-tuk drivers. They rent plastic chairs along the pavement where they advertise themselves. Once the deal is done, they move on to seedy hotels that rent rooms by the hour.

Nathee Sornwaree is a social worker for Issarachon Foundation, which reaches out to sex workers and people living on the streets in the area. While the majority of people selling sex are adults, Mr. Sornwaree says that children are also involved, occasionally starting at a very young age. “We have found boys as young as 8 years old being sold for sex,” he explains. “Girls start from 11 or 12. When schools are out, they come and work along the canal.”

© UNICEF EAPRO/2014/Thuentap
Nathee Sornwaree talks to volunteers before the evening’s street outreach.

The reasons that children are drawn into prostitution have changed over the years. “In the past, they did it to help support their families,” Mr. Sornwaree says. “But society is changing. Now, children from poorer backgrounds do it to get money to buy smart phones and other consumer goods that they couldn’t otherwise afford. We’ve also seen more gay and transgender sex workers. They can meet customers more easily on social media.”

In Thailand, soliciting sex is illegal, so people doing so cannot go to the police for help. “Sex workers often get into trouble with the police,” Mr. Sornwaree says, a situation that Saeng’s experience bears out. “If they’re under 18, they can be sent to a juvenile detention centre. Often, what they most need is a friend, someone who won’t judge them. Most of them know about HIV, but they don’t think about other sexually transmitted diseases.”

In the evenings, Mr. Sornwaree walks the streets, distributing condoms, helping sex workers access health services – and trying to find them alternative employment.

Concrete action for change

UNICEF is working to prevent young people like Saeng from being forced into prostitution in the first place. We also work to ensure that governments meet their obligations to protect and care for sexually exploited children, including by ensuring access to health care services and information about HIV/AIDS.

Working with partners, UNICEF East Asia and Pacific has produced guidance for researchers [PDF] on how to obtain data about at-risk adolescents and young people, while guaranteeing their anonymity. “This is a hidden population,” says Ms. Prabhu. “The first step is getting reliable data about them. We are now working on a guidebook to help youth organizations use and understand data, in the style of a comic book.”

In 2014, UNICEF Thailand produced a report [PDF] on young people affected by HIV, which found that Thailand is facing a new rise in sexually transmitted infections, with 70 per cent of all cases occurring in the 15–24 age group. UNICEF has used these data to talk to the Government about reducing the age of consent for HIV tests to below 18, providing training for health workers on working with at-risk young people and expanding HIV education in schools. In December 2014, the official guidance on HIV tests in Thailand was changed in line with our recommendation.

A better life

For young people like Saeng, there are alternatives to selling sex. Two years ago, outreach workers from another NGO, Dton Naam (Source of Water), approached him while he was sleeping rough on the streets of Nana.

© UNICEF EAPRO/2014/Brown
Celeste McGee holds a picture painted by Saeng at Dton Naam.

Dton Naam works with Thailand’s transgender community. Executive Director Celeste McGee explains that this group faces particular challenges. “Their options in life are very limited,” she says. “They can only do certain jobs, such as in the entertainment industry, and it’s easy for them to transition into prostitution. They can use the money for cosmetics, hormones and surgery, but it becomes a vicious circle, and they need to keep on selling sex to maintain their lifestyle.”

Thanks to Dton Naam’s work, Saeng is no longer on the streets. They helped him to reconcile with his parents and get medical treatment. They provided alternative employment, including working in a coffee shop, and making arts and crafts. Now, he visits the organization once a week for counselling and painting classes. He missed out on years of education – but it is a start.

“My parents treat me much better now,” Saeng says. “My mum doesn’t shout at me anymore. She’s much calmer and kinder. My father still doesn’t like my kathoey lifestyle, but he has accepted it.”

As far as Saeng’s plans for the future, “I would like to go back to school, and then work as a chef or an artist,” he says.


* Name has been changed.

** Saeng’s gender assignment at birth was male. Saeng’s gender identity and expression are not fixed, and he speaks using both male and female indicators. As interviews showed his self-identification, including language and choice of clothes, leaned more often towards male, masculine pronouns have been used through this article.



UNICEF Photography: Gender issues

New enhanced search