UNICEF.org新网站正在建设中。
网页内容还在更新中。感谢您的耐心,敬请稍后查看。

泰国

海啸过后 – 一个泰国的渔村,十年后

安德鲁.布朗报道  

十年前,印度洋海啸摧毁了家园和生计,整个社区被迫逃到了地势较高的地方。看看一个村庄恢复并且重建得更好的经历。

泰国兰塔岛,2014年12月22日-自从印度洋海啸于2004年12月26日袭击了泰国的兰塔岛后,十年已经过去了。

每每提到这场灾难,安培.玛德萨隆的眼里就充满了泪水。她说:“这场海啸总是在我的脑海里挥之不去,就好像一个永远没有愈合的伤疤。”

UNICEF Photo: Mother with her three, smiling boys
© UNICEF Thailand/2014/Jingjai
安培与她的三个孩子在兰达岛的家外面。

“我们就要保命”

一大早,安培的丈夫云内就外出打渔去了。她坐在门廊上的一张编织垫上,和她的三个儿子在一起:18岁的谭亚、12岁的诺帕多和9岁的纳塔坡。在他们身后挂着晾晒的救生衣和渔网。安培带着一个黑头巾,上面绣有蓝色、白色和黄色的星形图案。兰塔岛是一个穆斯林聚集的地区。
 
玛德萨隆的家是一个建在海上的木屋,方便家里的渔船进出。收获好的时候,他们捕捉到的鱼、鱿鱼和螃蟹可以给他们大约1000泰铢(30美元)的收入。

他们贫穷的渔村完全依靠海洋为生,因此海啸给他们带来了重创。 她回忆说:“海啸来的时候,我在房子上面的山头,我看到海浪冲过来。我以前看过一部有关海啸的日本电视纪录片,所以我立刻就知道发生了什么。我的一些邻居只是站在那里盯着海浪看,我冲他们喊,让他们往山上跑。”

安培数了数一共有七个海浪。 她回忆说:“前两个冲到岸上,第三个击中了我们的房子。海水带着巨石退去,最后我们的房子被彻底摧毁了。我们村一共有差不多100个房子,大概一半的房子被毁了,还有很多渔船也被毁了。”

安培村里的每个人都幸存了下来,这还要感谢她给的警报。她继续说:“我很害怕,也很焦急,我很担心我的孩子们。我背着我的侄子爬上山,他不停地哭。我告诉我的邻居们不要担心他们的家或者家当-我们就要保命。”

社区恢复

海啸过后,这家人在一个当地学校的疏散中心里住了一个月,然后他们转移到山坡上安培母亲的房子里。他们在那里重建了自己的家园。 安培说:“那是一段很艰难的经历,我们没有足够的米吃,商店也提高了物价。大家都不想吃鱼或者海鲜,因为海水中仍有尸体。”

UNICEF Photo: Two young boys hold up a silver fish that is nearly as long as they are tall.
© UNICEF Thailand/2014/Jingjai
诺帕多和纳塔坡检查父亲捕到的一条鱼。

安培成为社区里联合国儿童基金会的主要联络人。她已经是附近医院里的卫生志愿者,还是当地妇女团的领袖。她与联合国儿童基金会合作,在她的村子里分发食品和物资,确保每个人都得到公平的分配。

利用联合国儿童基金会提供的三万泰铢的种子资金,她还和其他的妇女做起了晒鱼和卖鱼的生意。短短几年内,安培就让这笔资金涨到了三十万泰铢。她说:“我们用这笔种子资金购买设备,像刀、木水桶、冰冻箱和盐,还有在我们捕的鱼不够的时候,我们用这笔钱来买鱼。联合国儿童基金会建造了一个工作车间,供我们切鱼和晒鱼。我们用挣来的一些钱支持老人和需要帮助的村民。”

海啸发生的几个月后,当地的学校重新开门。联合国儿童基金会为图书馆提供课本并为老师们提供摩托车,帮助他们走访偏远的家庭,尤其是孩子没有来上学的家庭。十年后,课本和摩托车仍在使用中。

对安培来说,她与联合国儿童基金会的合作已经成为她的生活和社区的一部分。她解释说:“我喜欢帮助他人。看到整个村子都团结一致,那种感觉很美好。我很感谢联合国儿童基金会帮助我们获得很好的生活,也感谢他们为我们的社区所做的一切。”

儿童的视角

谭亚在当地的码头工作,帮助停船。虽然海啸发生的时候他只有八岁,他还对发生的一切记忆犹新。

“我在家里和我的小弟弟吃面条,我们看着大海。海啸来的时候,我甚至没有意识到那是一个海浪。它看起来像一朵很大的云。但我听见母亲的喊声,她让我们快跑。然后,我很害怕。我就抱起我的弟弟往山上跑。”

海啸过后,谭亚不喜欢住在姥姥的房子里,因为那里挤满了亲戚。他回忆起父母的房子重建好后,他很高兴可以搬家。他的弟弟们都希望成为像父亲一样的渔民,但他希望上职业培训课程,成为一名机械师。

他很为安培感到自豪。谭亚笑着说: “我妈妈很聪明。她创办了妇女团,并在海啸发生后为我们的村子提供帮助。可她仍挤出时间来照顾我和我的弟弟们。”

UNICEF Photo: A librarian shelves books as the boys study at a table in the foreground.
© UNICEF Thailand/2014/Jingjai
儿童们在当地的图书馆学习,用的是联合国儿童基金会提供的课本。

重建得更好

海啸发生后的几个月和几年中,联合国儿童基金会支持泰国所有受影响的省份的儿童、家庭和社区。我们在121所学校和71个儿童早期发展中心里设立了全新的、更好的供水和卫生设施。建设是在与儿童、家长和教师进行了磋商以后开展的,从而确定他们最大的需求。

我们与教师、家长和社区成员合作为六岁以下的儿童制作了早期学习材料。课程包括帮助儿童们表达内心感受的练习。我们还培训了近400名教师和护理人员使用这些材料。

海啸发生后,减少灾害风险已成为联合国儿童基金会在整个亚太地区工作的一个常规项目。地震、台风、洪水和海啸总会发生。减少灾害风险(例如在学校开展应急演练)可以预防这些自然灾害演变成人道主义灾难,从而减少人们遭受的痛苦和儿童受到的影响。

安培说:“如果海啸再来,我们已经做好了充分的准备。 市政府办公室有警报器。你甚至可以在海上听到警报的声音。我们已经做过多次应急演练,并且保存好了所有的重要文件,以便逃难。”


 

 

联合国儿童基金会摄影专辑: 90天以后–联合国儿童基金会对海啸的回应

搜索

Thailand

After the tsunami – a Thai fishing village, 10 years on

By Andrew Brown 

A decade ago, an entire community raced to higher ground as the Indian Ocean tsunami decimated their homes and livelihoods. See how one village tackled recovery – and built back better.

KOH LANTA, Thailand, 22 December 2014 – It’s been almost 10 years since the Indian Ocean tsunami hit the Thai island of Koh Lanta, on 26 December 2004.

Talking about it brings tears to Ampai Madsaron’s eyes. “It’s always at the back of my mind,” she says, “like a scar that doesn’t heal.” 

UNICEF Image: Mother with her three, smiling boys
© UNICEF Thailand/2014/Jingjai
Ampai with her three children outside the family home on Koh Lanta.

“We just have to save our lives”

It is early in the morning, and Ampai’s husband Yunui is out fishing. She sits on a woven mat on the porch with her three sons Tanya, 18, Noppadol, 12, and Nattaporn, 9. Behind them, life jackets and fishing nets hang to dry. Ampai wears a black headscarf, embroidered with starbursts of blue, white and yellow. Koh Lanta is a predominantly Muslim area.

The Madsaron home is a wooden hut built on stilts over the sea to allow easy access for the family’s fishing boat. They earn around 1,000 baht (US$30) for a good day’s catch of fish, squid or crabs.

Their poor fishing village is totally dependent on the ocean – and it was hit hard by the tsunami. “I was on the hillside above the house when the sea rushed out and I saw the wave coming,” she remembers. “I had seen a Japanese documentary about tsunamis on TV, so I knew straight away what was happening. Some of my neighbours just stood there staring at the wave, but I shouted at them to run up the hill.”

Ampai counted seven waves in total. “The first two passed by offshore, then the third one hit our house,” she recalls. “The water came back down carrying boulders, and, by the end, our home was completely destroyed. There are around 100 houses in our village, and almost half of them were destroyed, along with many fishing boats.”

Everyone in Ampai’s village survived, thanks in part to her warning. “I was very afraid and desperately worried about my children,” she continues. “I was carrying my nephew, and he was crying as we ran up the hill. I told my neighbours not to worry about their homes or possessions – we just have to save our lives.” A community recovers

After the tsunami, the family stayed at an evacuation centre in the local school for a month, then moved to Ampai’s mother’s house further uphill while they rebuilt their own home. “It was a difficult time,” Ampai says. “We didn’t have enough rice to eat, and the shops raised their prices. People didn’t want to fish or eat seafood because there were still bodies in the sea.”

UNICEF Image: Two young boys hold up a silver fish that is nearly as long as they are tall.
© UNICEF Thailand/2014/Jingjai
Noppadol and Nattaporn examine one of the fish their father has caught.

Ampai became a UNICEF focal point for her community. She was already a health volunteer with the nearby hospital and leader of the local women’s group. She worked with UNICEF to distribute food and supplies in her village, making sure that everybody got a fair share.

She also set up a business with other women drying and selling fish, with 30,000 baht seed funding from UNICEF. Within a few years, Ampai had increased the funds to 300,000 baht. “We used the seed funding to buy equipment like knives, wooden buckets and ice coolers, as well as salt and extra fish when we couldn’t catch enough,” she says. “UNICEF built a workshop where we could cut and dry the fish. We used some of the profits to support elderly and vulnerable villagers.”

A few months after the tsunami, the local school reopened. UNICEF restocked the library with schoolbooks and provided a motorcycle for the teachers so they could make home visits to remote families, particularly if their children didn’t show up for class. Ten years later, both the schoolbooks and motorbike are still in use.

For Ampai, her work with UNICEF was part of her usual approach to life and her community. “I like to help other people,” she explains. “It’s a great feeling when the whole village works together. I am grateful to UNICEF for helping me to have a good life, and for what they have done for our community.”

Child’s eye view

Tanya works at the local pier helping to moor boats. Although he was only 8 years old at the time of the tsunami, he also has strong memories of it. 

“I was at home eating noodles with my little brother and looking out to sea,” he remembers. “When the tsunami came, I didn’t even realize it was a wave. It looked like a big cloud. But I heard my mother shouting at me to run away. Then I was very scared. I picked up my brother and ran up the hill.”

Tanya didn’t like living at his grandmother’s house after the tsunami, because it was so crowded with relatives. He recalls being happy to move home, once his parents’ house had been rebuilt. His younger brothers both want to be fishers like his father, but he hopes to take a vocational training course and become a mechanic. 

He is proud of Ampai. “My mother is very smart,” Tanya says with a wide smile. “She started the women’s group and got help for our village after the tsunami. But she still has time to look after me and my brothers.”

UNICEF Image: A librarian shelves books as the boys study at a table in the foreground.
© UNICEF Thailand/2014/Jingjai
Children study in the local school library, using textbooks supplied by UNICEF.

Building back better

In the months and years after the tsunami, UNICEF supported children, families and communities across all the affected provinces of Thailand. We helped install new and better quality water and sanitation facilities in 121 schools and 71 early childhood development centres. The construction was carried out following consultations with children, parents and teachers, who identified it as their top priority. 

We worked with teachers, parents and community members to develop early learning materials for children up to 6 years old. Lessons included exercises to help children express their feelings about the tsunami. We also trained nearly 400 teachers and caregivers in using these materials.

Since the tsunami, disaster risk reduction has become a regular part of UNICEF’s work across the Asia–Pacific region. There will always be earthquakes, typhoons, floods and tsunamis. Disaster risk reduction is about preventing these natural hazards from becoming humanitarian disasters that create human suffering and impact on children’s lives, for example through emergency drills in schools.

“We are much better prepared if there is ever another tsunami,” Ampai says. “There’s a siren in the municipal office. You can even hear it out at sea. We’ve done several emergency drills and have all our important documents ready in case we need to flee.” 


 

 

UNICEF Photography: 90 days after – UNICEF response to the tsunami

Tony Lake speak with Tsunami victim 

New enhanced search