塔吉克斯坦

逃离严寒:早期幼儿保健为为灾后的塔吉克儿童提供庇护

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
在塔吉克斯坦的伊斯法拉,纳尔吉斯. 朱拉埃娃在家中和她的孩子们玩耍。2007年,该国遭遇了30年来最严酷的冬天,数十万人面临食品和生活供给短缺的威胁。

史蒂夫.内尔顿报道

10月8日的国际减灾日在今年一系列的地震、气旋和飓风发生后悄然而至,强调了目前迫切需要降低自然灾害的风险。以下是就国际减灾日的相关报道。

塔吉克斯坦伊斯法拉,2008年10月7日 - 大约一年前,纳尔吉斯. 朱拉埃娃(Nargis Juraeva)愉快地开始了冬天。2007年11月,她生下了一对双胞胎男孩,哈桑和侯赛因,使得她的孩子一下从两个增至四个。但她的喜悦很快就转为了担忧。

2008年1月,当地的温度一下子突降到零下20摄氏度 。供水、供电和供热系统都不运转了,而塔吉克家庭不得不挣扎着保持健康。塔吉克斯坦遭遇了30年来最严酷的冬天,数十万人面临食品和生活供给短缺的威胁。

恶劣的天气
朱拉埃娃女士说:“我们面对很多困难。严寒毁坏了水泵,所以供水短缺;中央供暖系统也不工作了。我们试着用其他的加热设备给房子保温。我现在最大的担忧就是怕婴儿冻着。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
儿童们在塔吉克斯坦伊斯法拉的一所学校玩耍。联合国儿童基金会在那里培训了一个紧急反应小组,为受冬季危机影响的幼儿提供心理关爱和教育活动。

她和丈夫祖拉尔夫.绍克尔金(Juraev Shokirjon)两人齐心协力,一家人挺过了严寒 。他们安装了燃气热水器并把两个婴儿裹在厚厚的法兰绒衣服里,双胞胎们生长发育的很好。

一家人现在正为下个冬季做准备。他们用储水容器存起了水,并计划要买一台发电机。

对儿童的影响

虽然塔吉克斯坦的居民们找到了解决身体之需的方法并且熬过了严冬,但是健康专家担心很多幼儿得到的心理和情感关爱太少。

伊斯法拉中央医院的副院长高尔拉伯.波波埃娃说:“塔吉克斯坦是一个自然灾害多发区,无论是地震、洪水还是严冬等。这些和其他各种紧急情况影响了儿童们,如果在早期就没有给予这些灾难足够的重视的话,他们有可能会危害或者负面影响儿童的发展。”

塔吉克斯坦的情形很复杂。即使没有灾难的时候,该国的幼儿发展项目也非常少,无法促进儿童的学习和情感发育。

心理及教育援助

去年冬天的危机过后,联合国儿童基金会帮助培训了一个紧急反应小组。该小组由卫生工作人员、学前班老师、母亲们和其他志愿者们组成 ,旨在为六岁及六岁以下的儿童提供灾后的心理关爱和教育活动。

联合国儿童基金会也与政府合作将幼儿活动纳入国家卫生项目当中。该项目旨在全国开发基于社区的幼儿关爱项目。

通过这些努力,联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴决心削弱下个冬天或者今后几年中紧急情况产生的影响。

对于朱拉埃娃女士来说,幼儿保健始于她家。 “我关注孩子的身心发育,而最重要的就是教育及家人之间的关系” 朱拉埃娃女士说,“我坚信家庭在儿童的生活中扮演着重要的角色。”


 

 

友情链接

联合国儿童基金会通讯员史蒂夫.内尔顿报道联合国儿童基金会支持的幼儿项目在塔吉克斯坦冬季危机过后正式启动的情况。
 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

相关链接

搜索

Tajikistan

In from the cold: Sheltering Tajik children from disaster with early childhood care

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Nargis Juraeva plays with one of her sons at her home in Isfara, Tajikistan. In 2008, the country suffered its harshest winter in three decades, with hundreds of thousands of people facing a lack of food and supplies.

By Steve Nettleton

This year's International Day for Disaster Reduction, 8 October, arrives in the wake of a series of earthquakes, cyclones and hurricanes that have highlighted the urgent need to reduce disaster risk. The following story marks the occasion.

ISFARA, Tajikistan, 7 October 2008 – Almost a year ago, Nargis Juraeva began the winter of 2007 happily. She gave birth to twin sons Hasan and Hussein last November, doubling the number of her children from two to four. But her newfound joy soon turned to anxiety.

In January 2008, temperatures here plummeted to minus-20 degrees Celsius and below. Water, electricity and heating systems failed, and Tajik families had to struggle to stay healthy. Tajikistan was suffering its harshest winter in three decades, with hundreds of thousands of people enduring a lack of food and supplies.

Severe weather conditions

“We faced a lot of problems due to water shortages since the freezing cold destroyed water pumps, and the central heating system didn’t work,” Ms. Juraeva recalled. “We tried to keep the room warm with other heating devices. My main fear was not to let the babies get cold.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Children play at school in Isfara, Tajikistan, where UNICEF helped to train an emergency response team providing psychological care and educational activities for young children affected by the winter crisis.

With support from her husband, Juraev Shokirjon, the family survived the cold. They installed gas heaters and bundled the babies in heavy flannel clothes. The twin boys seem to be developing properly.

The family is now preparing for the coming winter, stocking up on water containers and planning to buy a generator.

Impact on children

While families in Tajikistan found ways to address their physical needs and get through the winter, health experts worry that many young children may be receiving too little care for psychological and emotional problems.

“Tajikistan is very prone to natural disasters, whether they be an earthquake, flood, harsh winter, etc.,” said Dr. Gulrabo Boboeva, the deputy chief of Central Isfara Hospital. “These and other types of emergencies affect children, and if they are not paid attention to at an early age, they may harm and negatively impact child development.”

This situation is compounded in Tajikistan, where even in normal times, there are very few early childhood development programmes to stimulate learning and emotional growth.

Psychological and educational help

In the wake of the crisis last winter, UNICEF helped to train an emergency response team – composed of health workers, pre-school teachers, mothers and other volunteers – to provide psychological care and educational activities for children six years of age and younger in the wake of a disaster.

UNICEF is also working with the government to integrate early-childhood activities into national health programmes. The project aims to eventually develop community-based early-childhood care programmes across the country.

Through such efforts, UNICEF and its partners aim to reduce the impact of future emergencies, either this winter or in the coming years.

For Ms. Juraeva, early child care starts with the family itself. “I think for both physical and psychological development of a child, the most important thing is education and relations to family,” said Ms. Juraeva. “It is my strong belief that family has a significant role in a child’s life.”

 


 

 

Video

UNICEF correspondent Steve Nettleton looks at a UNICEF-supported early childhood programme launched in Tajikistan after the country’s winter crisis.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search