前南斯拉夫的马其顿共和国

马其顿教师接受有效的爱生教育方法培训

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Skopje/2009
在前南斯拉夫马其顿共和国,联合国儿童基金会支持的爱生学校代表了教育改革的一个方向。

4月24日到27日,来自中欧、东欧和独联体的教育专家将出席在日内瓦召开的一个探讨如何通过爱生学校向所有的女孩和男孩提供优质教育的会议。本文是相关的报道之一。

前南斯拉夫马其顿共和国斯科普里,2009年4月22日 – 为提高该国数学和语文课的教学质量,这里举办了一个新的专业发展项目。上个月, 有55名数学教师参加了这个项目的第一轮导师培训。

这个项目是在发现马其顿一至三年级学生的国际数学和语文考试成绩不佳并做了详细分析之后制定的,由联合国儿童基金会、马其顿教育与科学部和教育发展局共同组织。

强调评判性思维

联合国儿童基金会驻前南斯拉夫马其顿谢尔登.耶特(Sheldon Yett)说:“研究显示,马其顿学生的数学成绩差,重点是课堂上都太注重通过死记硬背来获取基础知识,而不是通过开发评判性思维的能力。”

他接着说:“提高学生的学习成绩需要教师改变他们的教学方法。”

该教师发展项目包括在“低年级的数学思维”和“教低年级阅读理解和写作”方面的培训。该项目认为,所有儿童都有接受优质教育的权利;并承认教师是创造学习机会中最重要的一个因素。

第一轮培训的重点在数学教学上。对未来的低年级语文导师的类似培训也将在五月、六月和八月进行。

爱生学校计划的延伸

教育发展局的15名成员也参加了培训,用以加强他们对全国低年级教师的支持。这些导师将是该项目的推广者,并将成为2009-10学年其他一至三年级教师的导师。

这个马其顿教师专业发展项目是由联合国儿童基金会支持的“爱生学校”计划的一个延伸。

全球爱生学校倡议是从儿童权利的角度出发,进行教育改革的一个方式。爱生学校模式促进为学习建立健康和安全的环境,努力在日常情况和紧急状况下,提供优质基础教育。爱生学校有助于实现“千年发展目标”和“普及教育”。

爱生学校代表着全体儿童的利益,具有包容性和性别敏感性,提供基于学校的保健和营养服务、安全饮水以及适当的卫生设施。


 

 
搜索

The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia

Programme trains Macedonian teachers in effective, child-friendly education methods

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Skopje/2009
In the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and around the world, child-friendly schools represent a UNICEF-supported approach to education reform from a child rights perspective.

Education experts from the Central and Eastern Europe and the Commonwealth of Independent States are meeting 24-27 April in Geneva to discuss how to provide quality education for all girls and boys through child-friendly schools. Here is one in a series of related stories from the region.

SKOPJE, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, 22 April 2009 – Last month, 55 mathematics teachers participated in the first round of training for mentor-teachers here, as part of a new professional development programme aimed at improving mathematics and literacy instruction in this country.

The programme is being supported by UNICEF, the Ministry of Education and Science, and the Bureau for the Development of Education. It was developed after a detailed analysis of the grade 1-3 curricula identified why Macedonian students are underperforming in international math and literacy tests.

Emphasis on critical thinking

“Research has revealed that in countries with low learning outcomes in math, the emphasis in the classroom is all too often on acquiring basic knowledge through memorization, rather than through developing critical thinking skills,” said UNICEF’s Representative in the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Sheldon Yett.

“Increasing students’ learning outcomes requires that teachers make a shift in their teaching methods,” he added.

The teacher development programme includes training in ‘Thinking Mathematics for the Early Grades’ and ‘Teaching Reading for Comprehension and Writing in the Early Grades’. It recognizes that all children have the right to a quality education and acknowledges the role of the teacher as the single most important factor in creating learning opportunities.

This first round of training focused specifically on mathematics instruction. Similar trainings on early-grade literacy for future mentor-teachers will be held in May, June and August.

Part of a broader initiative

Fifteen members of the Bureau for the Development of Education also attended the trainings to strengthen their support for early-grade teachers across the country. Mentor-teachers will roll out the programme and act as mentors for other teachers of grades 1-3 during the 2009-10 school year.

The professional development programme for Macedonian teachers is part of the broader Child-Friendly Schools (CFS) initiative supported by UNICEF.

The global CFS initiative is an approach to education reform from a child rights perspective. The CFS model promotes healthy and protective environments for learning and strives to provide quality basic education in both everyday circumstances and emergencies. Child-friendly schools contribute to achieving the Millennium Development Goals and ‘Education for All’.

They act in the interests of the ‘whole’ child, are inclusive and gender-sensitive, and provide school-based health and nutrition services, safe water and suitable sanitation facilities.


 

 

New enhanced search