保护儿童免受暴力、剥削及虐待

克林顿全球倡议会议呼吁与暴力侵害女童的行为做斗争

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-1432/Markisz
领导人与合作伙伴共同出席了克林顿全球倡议全体会议的闭幕式。会议做出新承诺以解决女童遭受性暴力的问题。

艾米.贝内特报道

美国纽约,2009年9月25日 – 美国前总统比尔.克林顿在克林顿全球倡议(CGI)2009年会上宣布做出进一步的承诺以应对全球最紧迫的挑战,从而为年会画上了圆满的句号。为期四天的对话与合作今天在纽约告一段落。

会议议程的重点是解决女童遭受性暴力问题的新手段。

为了解决由性暴力导致的侵权和对健康的影响,克林顿全球倡议召集了美国疾病控制和预防中心(CDC)、私营部门的支持者以及五个联合国机构(联合国儿童基金会、联合国艾滋病规划署、联合国人口基金、联合国妇女发展基金和世界卫生组织)共同进行讨论。

前总统克林顿说:“所有这些组织正共同努力抗击对女童实施的性暴力,尤其关注那些正致力于对抗艾滋病传播的国家。他们将在亚洲和非洲的七个国家收集新数据并制定沟通战略从而通过宣传和倡导活动来帮助数百万人。”

“对他们权利的严重侵害”

联合国儿童基金会执行主任安.M.维尼曼说:“对儿童实施的性暴力是对他们权利的严重侵害、是道德伦理的耻辱,还是对全世界良知的玷污。性虐待可能导致童年的丧失、辍学、身体和情感上的问题、艾滋病的扩散以及往往无法挽回的对尊严和自尊的损害。”

在今天下午的克林顿全球倡议全体会议闭幕式召开前,维尼曼女士与美国国务卿希拉里.克林顿及其他领导人共同参加了在联合国总部举办的部长级早餐会。会议由荷兰、美国和巴西政府共同主持,目的也是为了解决暴力侵害女童的问题。

早餐会提供了一个机会使人们高度重视这一问题、强调负责暴力侵害儿童问题的秘书长特别代表的使命,以及再次承诺执行秘书长对暴力侵害儿童问题研究报告中的建议。

性暴力史

相关的研究结果也和今天会议的与会者们对解决性暴力问题的紧急行动呼吁一致。

比如,2007年,美国疾病控制和预防中心、联合国儿童基金会及当地伙伴组织在成年人艾滋病感染率居世界首位的斯威士兰开展了一项针对暴力侵害女童和妇女问题的全国调查。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-1428/Markisz
在联合国总部的部长级早餐会议上,美国国务卿希拉里.克林顿就对抗暴力侵害女童的行为发表讲话。

大约三分之一受访的女孩报告说她们曾遭受过性暴力,其中更有40%的人在18岁之前遭受过两次以上的性暴力袭击。
这项调查在斯威士兰促成了一系列的政策和立法干预,包括建立了该国第一个针对儿童的性犯罪工作小组。此外,斯威士兰还努力促成对抗家庭暴力和性犯罪的立法。10月底要将确定的立法提交给议会。

感染艾滋病的风险

研究同样显示针对女童的性暴力是艾滋病流行的直接及间接致因,因为强迫性行为,尤其是强迫与儿童发生性行为会增加感染艾滋病的风险。

克林顿说:“我们的基金会有一个艾滋病项目。我们曾有过的两名最有说服力的代言人是两位年轻的女孩。她们一个在赞比亚,一个在莱索托。她们在从学校回家的路上惨遭强奸,感染了艾滋病。”

当谈到全世界的女孩们正面临性暴力的风险时,他补充说:“我们可以提供教育和学校,但是如果她们得不到安全,我们做什么努力都无济于事。”


 

 

搜索

Child protection from violence, exploitation and abuse

Clinton Global Initiative concludes with commitment to act on violence against girls

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-1432/Markisz
Leaders and partners gather at the closing plenary of the Clinton Global Initiative to announce a new commitment addressing the issue of sexual violence against girls.

By Amy Bennett

NEW YORK, USA, 25 September 2009 – Former US President Bill Clinton concluded the 2009 Annual Meeting of the Clinton Global Initiative (CGI) – four days of dialogue and collaboration that wrapped up today in New York – by announcing further commitments to tackle the world’s most pressing challenges.

High on the list was a new approach to the issue of sexual violence against girls.

To address the rights violations and health impacts resulting from sexual violence, CGI convened discussions among the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), private-sector supporters and five United Nations agencies: UNICEF, UNAIDS, the UN Population Fund, the UN Development Fund for Women and the World Health Organization.

“All these organizations are joining together to fight sexual violence against girls, with a particular focus on countries who are fighting the spread of HIV/AIDS,” President Clinton said. “They will gather new data in seven countries across Asia and Africa, and develop communications strategies to reach millions more through awareness and advocacy campaigns,” he added.

‘A gross violation of their rights’
“Sexual violence against children is a gross violation of their rights, a moral and ethical outrage and an assault on the world’s conscience,” said UNICEF Executive Director Ann M. Veneman. “Sexual abuse can lead to lost childhoods, abandoned education, physical and emotional problems, the spread of HIV and an often irrevocable loss of dignity and self-esteem.”

Before the afternoon's CGI closing plenary session got under way, Veneman joined US Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton and other leaders at a Ministerial breakfast meeting at UN headquarters. Co-hosted by the Governments of the Netherlands, the United States and Brazil, the meeting also dealt with the need to combat violence against girls.

The breakfast meeting provided an opportunity to focus high-level attention on this issue; to highlight the mandate of the Special Representative of the Secretary General on Violence against Children; and to renew commitments to implementing the recommendations of the Secretary General’s Study on Violence Against Children.

A history of sexual violence
Research supports the urgent call to action made by participants in today’s meetings on sexual violence.

In 2007, for example, the CDC, UNICEF and local partner organizations implemented a national survey on violence against girls and young women in Swaziland, the country with the world’s highest HIV prevalence among adults.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-1428/Markisz
At a Ministerial breakfast meeting at UN headquarters, US Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton speaks to attendees about combating violence against girls.

Approximately one-third of the girls in the survey reported a history of sexual violence. More than 40 per cent of those who experienced sexual violence in their lifetimes had endured two or more attacks before they turned 18.

The survey led to a series of policy and legislative interventions in Swaziland, including establishment of the nation’s first Sexual Offenses Unit for crimes against children. There also has been a push to finalize legislation against domestic violence and sexual offenses, which is due for presentation to Parliament by the end of October.

Risk of HIV infection

Research demonstrates, as well, that sexual violence against girls is both a direct and an indirect driver of the HIV/AIDS pandemic, as the risk of HIV infection is increased following forced sex, especially among children.

“Our foundation has an AIDS programme, and two of the most powerful spokespeople we have ever had were two young teenage women, one in Zambia and one in Lesotho,” said President Clinton. “They got infected because they were raped coming home from school.”

Referring to girls at risk of sexual violence around the world, he added: “We can do all this stuff – education, schools – but if they're not safe, it doesn't amount to a hill of beans.”


 

 

New enhanced search