多哥

多哥小媒体工作者聚焦根除脊髓灰质炎运动

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Togo 2009/Bonnaud
“这是我们的星球”团队在多哥海运地区的赛格贝小学就脊髓灰质炎的预防问题采访一名老师。

哈德林.邦纳德报道

多哥赛格贝,2009 年4月7日 – 16岁的阿里斯托(Aristos)在调整照相机镜头,14岁的玛莉(Marie)插上麦克风、13岁的吉塞勒(Gisèle)检查音量、11岁的艾尔维斯(Elvis)最后修改了一下对多哥最近开展的全国性脊髓灰质炎免疫活动的报道的引言。

这些初露头角的电视记者虽然年纪轻轻,却有着经验丰富的记者所拥有的专业技术和知识。由查尔斯.雅顿(Charles Adom)创办并管理的非政府组织“这是我们的星球”帮助他们在媒体界迈出了第一步。自2004年以来,多哥国家电视频道TVT每周日都给这个团队30分钟的广播时间。

让儿童表达心声

和在别的国家一样,在多哥,传统的媒体经常忽视儿童加入讨论国家大事的潜力。设立国际儿童广播电视日的初衷就是为了帮助改变这一现实。今年,该活动于3月1日举办,各个广播电台和电视台展示了由年轻人制作并献给全球青少年的节目。
国际儿童广播电视日在多哥有特殊的意义,因为该国人口中几乎一半是18岁以下的青少年。

来自“这是我们的星球”的团队特意为国际儿童广播电视日制作了一个有关脊髓灰质炎免疫活动的新闻故事。“这个免疫活动同时在八个邻国开展,” 艾尔维斯解释说,“在非洲,当我们一起应对问题时,我们一定要一起讨论。 这也是我们制作这个新闻故事的目的所在。”

查尔斯补充说道:“我们的目的是要给儿童一个自由表达心声的空间,不仅是因为他们是明天的大人,还因为他们能够最好地教育其他的儿童。”

社区倡导的意识

为了他们的报道,这些年轻的记者们走访了位于多哥与加纳边境上一个村庄里的学校,以录制一个有关脊髓灰质炎传播的专题会议。他们采访了一名卫生工作者、村发展委员会的领导以及联合国儿童基金会的水和卫生项目专员。

在一天繁忙的录制工作结束后,这些青少年已经充分了解了脊髓灰质炎和儿童生存方面的挑战。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Togo 2009/Bonnaud
“这是我们的星球” 团队的全体成员(从左至右)– 16岁的阿里斯托,13岁的吉塞勒,11岁的艾尔维斯和14岁的玛莉——在“国际儿童广播电视日”期间报道了多哥全国性脊髓灰质炎免疫活动。

“村里的所有重要人物都必须参与到根除这种疾病的工作中,”玛莉说,“如果老师、保健工作者、村发展委员会的领导以及联合国儿童基金会的专员在免疫活动中向人们讲解脊髓灰质炎传播的途径,那么他们就能说服儿童接种疫苗,并说服成年人给他们的孩子免疫——同时教育他们用恰当的方式洗手从而避免感染。”

艾尔维斯激动地说:“我们必须找到帮助更多儿童的方法。如果国际儿童广播电视日允许我们将我们的想法告诉全世界,那么这个世界绝对会走上正轨!”

合作根除脊髓灰质炎

在不到五年的时间里,联合国儿童基金会已经为全球20多亿儿童送去了100多亿支口服脊髓灰质炎疫苗。脊髓灰质炎是一种高传染性的神经系统的病毒感染并且无法治愈。该病毒通过被人类排泄物污染的水或食物传播,在缺乏恰当卫生设施的农村地区尤为危险。

多哥于2007年宣布已经根除了脊髓灰质炎,但是这种疾病在2008年又再次出现,在该国北部地区发现了3个病例。面对大规模流行病的威胁,多哥政府在世界卫生组织和联合国儿童基金会的支持下,组织了一场全国性脊髓灰质炎免疫活动。


 

 

国际儿童广播电视日

搜索

Togo

Togo youth media activists unite to help eradicate polio

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Togo 2009/Bonnaud
‘A Nous la Planète’ (The Planet Is Ours) team interviews a teacher about polio prevention in Segbé primary school in the Maritime region of Togo.

By Hadrien Bonnaud

SEGBE, Togo, 7 April 2009 – While Aristos, 16, prepared the camera focus, Marie, 14, plugged in the microphone, Gisèle, 13, checked the sound level and Elvis, 11, put the finishing touches on his introduction to the story of Togo’s recent national polio immunization campaign.

Despite their young age, these budding television journalists have the professionalism and technical savvy of veteran reporters. They have taken their first steps in the media world courtesy of the non-governmental organization, ‘A Nous la Planète’ (The Planet Is Ours), founded and directed by Charles Adom. Since 2004, the Togolese national television channel, TVT, has given the group 30 minutes of airtime every Sunday. 

Giving children a voice
In Togo, as elsewhere, traditional media often neglect the potential of children to join the national conversation. The International Children’s Day of Broadcasting (ICDB) was created to help change that. This year it was celebrated on 1 March, with broadcasters presenting programmes produced by young people, for young people worldwide.

ICDB holds special significance in Togo, where about half of the population is under 18 years of age.

The team from ‘A Nous la Planète’ chose to produce a news story on the polio vaccination campaign for ICDB. “This campaign is being carried out simultaneously in eight neighboring countries,” Elvis explained. “When, in Africa, we tackle our problems together, we have to talk about it. That’s what we want to do with this news report.”

Charles added: “The aim is to give children a space for free expression, because not only are they the adults of tomorrow, they are best placed to inform other children.”

Community-generated awareness
For their report, the youth journalists travelled to a school in a small village on Togo’s border with Ghana to film an information session on polio transmission. They interviewed a health worker, the head of the Village Development Committee and a UNICEF water and sanitation specialist.

After one day of intensive filming, the young people were well informed about the challenges of polio and child survival.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Togo 2009/Bonnaud
The entire team at ‘A Nous la Planète’ (from left) – Aristos, 16, Gisèle, 13, Elvis, 11, and Marie, 14 – covered Togo’s national polio immunization campaign during the International Children’s Day of Broadcasting.

“Each important person in the village must play a part in the eradication of the disease,” said Marie. “If the teacher, the health worker, the president of the VDC and the UNICEF specialist explain the ways polio spreads, it will convince the children and adults to get their child vaccinated during this campaign – and also to wash their hands properly to avoid any contamination.”

Elvis enthusiastically concluded: “We must find solutions to save more children. And if the International Children’s Day of Broadcasting allows us to convey our message to the whole world, the world is definitely on the right track!”

Partnerships for polio eradication
In less than 15 years, UNICEF has delivered more than 10 billion doses of the oral polio vaccine to over 2 billion children around the world. Polio is a highly contagious viral infection of the nervous system and has no cure. It is spread in water or food contaminated by human excrement, and is particularly dangerous in rural areas that lack appropriate sanitation.

Togo was declared clear of polio in 2007, but the disease reappeared in 2008 when three cases were identified in the north of the country. Faced with the threat of an epidemic, the Togolese Government organized a national polio vaccination campaign with support from the World Health Organization and UNICEF.


 

 

New enhanced search