苏丹

联合国儿童基金会支持的计划救助苏丹达尔富尔患营养不良的儿童

西蒙.英格拉姆(Simon Ingram)报道

苏丹南达尔富尔首府尼亚拉,2012年3月5日——体检不是令人愉快的经历,1岁的雅斯敏(Yasmine)显然不喜欢体检。她被放到蓝色的帆布称重器具内,悬吊空中数秒,护士为她记录体重值。此时的她啼哭不止。

视频:2012年2月,联合国儿童基金会记者西蒙.英格拉姆(Simon Ingram)报道联合国儿童基金会支持救助达尔富尔儿童的多项计划。  在Realplayer中播放

护士为雅斯敏记录的最新体重值为:5.5千克,护士们都欣慰地点头。这个体重值对于与雅斯敏同龄的儿童而言或许偏轻,但是,这个数值与三个月前雅斯敏刚被送到尼亚拉卡拉瓦食疗中心时的体重值相比,已有很大提高。

当时,雅斯敏存在明显的营养不良症状,因腹泻、呕吐非常虚弱。22岁的母亲哈里玛.奥斯曼(Halima Osman)处于极度担忧之中。

“当时我不知道要做些什么。我的一个邻居告诉我,我应该到这儿来,”哈里玛回忆说,“他们给了我一些药品,孩子的身体便开始好转。”

这个所谓的药品实际上是一种以花生为主料制成的治疗用糊状食品,被称为“胖坚果”(Plumpy’Nut)。“胖坚果”外面包裹着银色小袋,外形受多数儿童喜欢,且为儿童提供高能营养。雅斯敏已经喜欢上它了。雅斯敏正开心地一口接一口地吃“胖坚果”时,哈里玛欣慰地说,“她一天要吃两袋半。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Sudan/2012/Ingram
在达尔富尔首府尼亚拉的卡拉瓦(Karawy)食疗中心,1岁的穆萨.詹木尔.穆萨(Musa Jamal Musa)在姐姐因蒂萨尔(Intisar)怀抱中正吃着治疗严重急性营养不良的糊状营养品。

“胖坚果”是联合国儿童基金会支持的解决达尔富尔儿童营养不良问题计划的一部分。如果事态如食物补给中心主管阿瓦提夫.阿卜杜拉.阿齐兹(Awatif Abdul Aziz)医生所认为的那样发展:需救助的营养不良儿童数量在未来几个月内上升,那么“胖坚果”的重要性将更大。

走近营养不良儿童

瓦提夫.阿卜杜拉.阿齐兹医生表示:“当天气更热些,许多社区的食物供给惯例性短缺时,我们将开始看到更多营养不良儿童的到来。”

达尔富尔儿童营养不良问题只是苏丹大量、长期挑战中的其中一个。每年,苏丹数十万儿童罹患严重急性营养不良之症。然而诸如救助雅斯敏的干预措施的覆盖面仅为一部分儿童。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Sudan/2012/Ingram
8个月大的玛哈(Maha)正在达尔富尔首府尼亚拉的卡拉瓦食疗中心称重。

这个令人担忧的现实还包括其他因素,其中包括粮食歉收、难以走近因持续性战争而流离失所的群体。

有效的解决方案

幸运的是,已经找到了有效的解决方案。

近两年里,促进针对日益严重的儿童营养危机的更有效响应工作取得了实质性进展。在联合国儿童基金会的支持下,苏丹各州已创建联邦级别的政府卫生指导团队。据苏丹联合国儿童基金会称,被救助儿童的数量增长方面已取得可喜成果。

该战略的重心是那些被赋予责任的社区成员的参与,他们确保营养不良儿童及时到达最近的食疗中心以获得治疗。

“雅斯敏案例真正令人鼓舞的是,社区成员的参与确保雅斯敏获得所需的治疗,”联合国儿童基金会营养专家默希.齐可可(Mercy Chikoko)表示:

“但我认为,走进村庄,为儿童体检,及时查出营养不良早期症状的工作(该计划的一部分)仍需加强。”

 


 

 

搜索

Sudan

UNICEF-supported programmes save young children from malnutrition in Darfur, Sudan

By Simon Ingram

NYALA, South Darfur, Sudan, 5 March 2012 – Getting a medical check-up is never a pleasant experience, and Yasmine, 1, is plainly not enjoying hers. She wails miserably as she is hoisted into a blue canvas scale and then suspended in mid-air for a few seconds while a nurse reads her weight.

February 2012: UNICEF correspondent Simon Ingram reports on a UNICEF-supported programme that is saving lives in Darfur.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

Her colleague nods approvingly as she makes note of Yasmine’s new weight: 5.5 kg. It may be light for a child her age, but it’s a big improvement from three months ago, when Yasmine was first brought to this therapeutic feeding centre on the southern outskirts of Nyala.

On that occasion, Yasmine was visibly malnourished, weakened by diarrhoea and vomiting. Her mother, Halima Osman, 22, was in a panic.

“I didn’t know what to do, but one of my neighbours told me I should come to this place,” recalls Halima. “They gave me some medicine and she started to improve.”

The ‘medicine’ is actually a therapeutic peanut-based paste known as Plumpy’Nut. Packed in a silver sachet, Plumpy’Nut delivers high-energy nutrition in a form that most young children enjoy. Yasmine has developed a fondness for it. “She eats two and a half packets a day,” says Halima approvingly as the child happily devours mouthful after mouthful.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Sudan/2012/Ingram
Musa Jamal Musa, 1, is held by his sister, Intisar, as he eats a therapeutic nutritional paste used to treat severe acute malnutrition, at Karawy therapeutic feeding centre in Nyala, Darfur.

Plumpy’Nut is part of a UNICEF-supported programme to tackle child malnutrition in Darfur. Its importance will be all the greater if – as the director of the feeding centre, Dr. Awatif Abdul Aziz, believes – the number of malnourished children needing treatment rises in the months ahead.

Reaching malnourished children

“When the weather is hotter, and when food supplies traditionally run short in many communities, then we will start to see more malnourished children being brought in,” says Dr. Abdul Aziz.

Malnutrition among young children in Darfur is only one aspect of a broader and long-standing challenge in Sudan. Each year, hundreds of thousands of Sudanese children suffer from severe acute malnutrition. Yet interventions like the one that saved Yasmine’s life reach only a fraction of that number.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Sudan/2012/Ingram
Eight-month-old Maha is weighed at Karawy therapeutic feeding centre in Nyala, Darfur.

This troubling reality is compounded by other factors, including crop failures and the difficulties of reaching populations displaced by ongoing conflicts. 

Solutions at hand

Fortunately, solutions are at hand.

In the last two years, substantial progress has been made in promoting a more effective response to the growing nutritional crisis among children. With the support of UNICEF, teams of government health trainers have been created at the federal level and in many of Sudan’s states. According to UNICEF Sudan, the result has been a welcome increase in the number of children being treated.

Central to the strategy is the involvement of community members who are given the responsibility of ensuring that children suffering from malnutrition go to the nearest feeding centre to receive treatment before it’s too late.

“What’s really encouraging about the case of Yasmine is the fact that a community member was involved in ensuring she got the treatment she needed,” says UNICEF Nutrition Specialist Mercy Chikoko. “But to get into the villages, to screen the children and identify them at an early stage, I think that [aspect of the programme] will need to be strengthened.”


 

 

New enhanced search