老挝人民民主共和国

老挝人民民主共和国致力消除麻疹和风疹

谢恩.鲍威尔 (Shane Powell) 报道

老挝人民民主共和国万象省,2011 年 12 月 8 日 – 清晨来临之际,附近寺庙的锣声在远处回响。

天还没亮,但对于在区医院当护士的空克艾 (Kongkeo) 女士来说,时间已经不早,她已醒来几个小时了。她和她的团队正在为新一天的免疫接种工作进行准备,目标人群是附近地区 9 个月到 19 岁的少年儿童。

视频: 联合国儿童基金会通讯员雷切尔.奥布莱恩(Rachel O'Brien)报道老挝民主共和国全国范围内的风疹和麻疹免疫运动——旨在为300万名9至19岁的儿童及青少年注射疫苗。 在Realplayer中播放
免疫接种是根除在老挝造成持续伤害和导致儿童死亡的两种疾病——风疹和麻疹的大规模工作的一部分。

“我们知道这对于我们的国家有多么重要,”空克艾女士说道。“如果我们可以防止目标群体中的每个人感染风疹病毒,我们就有很大机会保护儿童避免发生出生缺陷。”

引入联合疫苗

这是老挝第一次引入针对风疹的联合疫苗。感染风疹病毒的孕妇有 90% 的机会将病毒传染给孩子。结果可能是死亡或者涉及心脏、耳朵和眼睛的终身疾病。

麻疹也持续折磨这个国家。它是全世界范围内导致儿童死亡的主要病因之一,可以通过人与人的接触传染,这意味着高免疫接种覆盖率对于根除这种疾病非常重要。

该计划旨在为全国三百多万名少年儿童接种疫苗。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Lao PDR/2011
老挝人民民主共和国全国进行一项由联合国儿童基金会、世界卫生组织及其合作伙伴资助的免疫计划,一名卫生保健员在万荣省准备为儿童注射疫苗。

“我们正在想方设法确定并鼓励我们的目标人群接种疫苗,”空克艾女士说道。

卫生保健员也向 6 – 59 个月的儿童发放维生素 A,并向 12 – 59 个月的儿童发放驱虫药品。


取得“非凡”的覆盖率

联合国儿童基金会与世界卫生组织和其他合作伙伴是这项计划的关键支持者。该计划是政府改善妇女儿童的健康和生存以达到千年发展目标的重大政府举措的一部分。

“这将极大地减少儿童发生出生缺陷的几率,”联合国儿童基金会高级健康专家爱德华.霍克斯特拉 (Edward Hoekstra) 医生最近访问老挝监督免疫计划进展时指出。“这项计划因老挝政府做出的极大努力而成为可能,”他补充说。

事实证明,各方的集体努力是成功的。“卫生保健工作者和社区一起完成了这项工作,”霍克斯特拉医生说,“初期结果显示已达到超过 90% 疫苗接种覆盖率,这是非凡的成绩。”


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Lao People's Democratic Republic

Lao PDR takes a swipe at measles and rubella

By Shane Powell

VIENTIANE PROVINCE, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, 8 December 2011 – The sound of a gong from a nearby temple echoes in the distance as morning approaches.

The sky is still dark, but it’s not too early for Ms. Kongkeo, a nurse in the district hospital, who has been awake for hours. She and her team are preparing for another day of immunizations targeting children between ages 9 months and 19 years in the surrounding areas.

VIDEO: UNICEF correspondent Rachel O’Brien reports on a nation-wide vaccination campaign against measles and rubella in Lao PDR that aims to reach more than 3 million children between 9 and 19 years of age.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

The immunizations are part of a a wide-scale effort to eradicate two diseases – measles and rubella – that continue to harm and kill children across Lao PDR.

“We know how important this is to our country,” Ms. Kongkeo said. “If we can prevent everyone we’re targeting from contracting the rubella virus, we have a huge opportunity to protect children from being born with disabilities.”

Combination vaccine introduced

This is the first time the country has introduced a combination vaccine that will target rubella. Pregnant women infected with the rubella virus have a 90% chance of passing the virus to their child. The result can be death or life-long health problems involving the heart, ears and eyes.

Measles also continues to plague the country. It is one of the leading causes of death among children around the world and can be spread by person-to-person contact, meaning high vaccination coverage is essential to eradication.

The campaign aims to immunize more than 3 million young people around the country.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Lao PDR/2011
A health worker prepares to immunize children in Vang Vieng Province, Lao PDR, during a nation-wide vaccination campaign supported by UNICEF, WHO and partners.

“We’re trying to use every means possible to identify and encourage our target group to be vaccinated,” Ms. Kongkeo says.

Health workers are also distributing vitamin A to children between 6 and 59 months old and de-worming tablets to children aged 12 to 59 months.


Achieving ‘remarkable’ coverage

UNICEF, working alongside the World Health Organization and other partners, is a key supporter of the campaign, which is part of a broader government effort to improve the health and survival of women and children in order to meet the Millennium Development Goals.

“This will result in a major reduction of children who are born with disabilities,” said Dr. Edward Hoekstra, UNICEF Senior Health Specialist,  during a recent visit to monitor progress in the country. “This campaign has been possible because of the strong commitment of the government of Laos,” he added.

And the collective efforts are proving successful. “The health care workers and the community at large have made it all possible,” Dr. Hoekstra said. “The first results show over 90% coverage, and that has been remarkable.”


 

 

New enhanced search