印度

联合国儿童基金会协助印度几近达成根除小儿麻痹症的目标

拉雅.玛多克报道

印度莫拉达巴德,2011 年 6 月 8 日 – 对于 14 岁的帕罗而言,这是一个非常重要的日子。她是“布拉瓦.托利”的领导,“布拉瓦.托利”由一群孩子组成,他们吹着口哨,喊着口号,走家串户地通报大家小儿麻痹症疫苗接种员将来到他们社区。

视频:2011 年 5 月 23 日 - 联合国儿童基金会记者萨拉.克罗(Sarah Crowe)报道根除印度小儿麻痹症的战役。  在Realplayer中播放

 

帕罗和她的朋友走进一户人家,以确保每个家庭的每个孩子都已接种两滴小儿麻痹症疫苗。每到一站,就有更多儿童加入其团队,所以,不多时便有数十个兴奋的孩子到处喊着“无小儿麻痹症的社区、无小儿麻痹症的地区、无小儿麻痹症的国家”的口号。

与此同时,在该镇的另一个社区,37 岁的珊吉达默默地工作着,她正与同事一起为儿童接种疫苗。虽然这里没有一声声的口号,但却有着同样的目标:让地方社区人们摆脱这种致命的疾病。珊吉达曾亲身体验过小儿麻痹症的危害 – 她曾染上该病毒,那时她才两岁。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF India/2011/Curtis
在印度北方邦,14 岁的帕罗和她所在的青少年活动家团队挨家挨户地找寻还未接种小儿麻痹症疫苗的儿童。

为每一个孩子做体检

像帕罗和珊吉达这样日夜辛苦工作的有数千人,他们努力为使印度不再有小儿麻痹症患者这一目标而工作 —— 这种病毒可能对儿童造成致命危害。仅在印度最贫穷州之一的北方邦,就有超过25万小儿麻痹症医疗工作者在各级部门奋战,以确保这个州不再有小儿麻痹症患者。

珊吉达与同事采用的新方案是给家庭成员传授关于小儿麻痹症疫苗接种以外的知识。他们跟这些家庭成员交流保持良好卫生健康和环境卫生的重要性。他们还告诉母亲应用母乳喂养新生儿,完全母乳持续喂养孩子应达到六个月以上。珊吉达的丈夫也曾染上小儿麻痹症,她表示:“我们做的一切都将给予这里的家庭对抗小儿麻痹症的力量。”

通过公共服务公告以及鼓励宗教领袖在每日祈祷仪式上传播根除小儿麻痹症的知识已显现巨大成效。现在有越来越多的人成为小儿麻痹症医疗工作者,他们严格确保自己的孩子接种疫苗。与先前一些社区强烈抵制疫苗接种相比,如今的一些社区内,居民们的态度有了天翻地覆的转变。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF India/2011/Curtis
37 岁的卫生工作者珊吉达小时候曾患过小儿麻痹症。现在她正努力参与印度根除小儿麻痹症的活动。

洗去烙印

48 岁的卡力.穆罕默德.乌马尔是莫拉达巴德一座清真寺的主教,也是众多强烈主张根除小儿麻痹症的社区领袖之一。

乌马尔先生的侄子也是小儿麻痹症幸存者,他表示:“在初期,我们面临很多问题,当人们看到小儿麻痹症医疗工作者时多次与我们发生对抗,他们将孩子送去其他城镇的亲戚家或把孩子藏起来,担心我们会对孩子的身体健康造成不利影响。”

他补充道:“我们请医生和社区长者跟他们谈话,并让人们相信这种疫苗对他们的孩子和我们的国家非常有益。”

虽然北方邦一年多来未报道过一个病例,这种病毒似乎也在各社区得到很好的控制,但目前有一个大问题,那就是过着游牧生活的流动人口。控制和密切监视这些人群是否感染这种病毒是一大难题。联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴坚持不懈地工作在游牧民贫民窟及诸如火车和公共汽车的中转站,那里的多数儿童很可能是潜在的病毒携带者。在这些地方,每天都有数百名儿童接种疫苗,并且这样的工作还在继续。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF India/2011/Curtis
在印度北方邦,一位小儿麻痹症卫生志愿者在停留于莫拉达巴德火车站的列车内找寻未接种疫苗的儿童,为尽可能多的幼儿能接种疫苗。

据报道,到目前为止,印度今年仅有一个小儿麻痹症病例 – 加尔各答附近的豪拉的一名18个月大的女孩。对比前几年(2010年42 例,前年报道741 例),小儿麻痹症病例数量锐减。

联合国儿童基金会交流发展专家罗勃.柯蒂斯(Rod Curtis)在为印度几乎将要完全根除小儿麻痹症而感到兴奋时,也对流动人口问题表示担心。今年感染小儿麻痹症病毒的小女孩并不是在当地感染这种病毒:该病毒是从德里传过来的。

流动人口的问题

他解释道:“我们从所做的环境抽样中了解到这一情况,证实有人从德里坐上火车,经过1000 多公里路程去往加尔各答,在该地区传播了这种病毒,这一案例真实的说明在印度几乎快根除小儿麻痹症的这一阶段,流动人口给我们带来了怎样的考验。”

再回到哈拉姆普瑞,帕拉今天过得很开心,因为她所在的社区有将近 300 名儿童接种了疫苗。在她的朋友们再一次挨家挨户找寻未接种疫苗的孩子时,这位年轻的卫生支持者正在加紧为下一个免疫日做准备。她表示,在这种致命病毒被根除之前,她将与这种致命病毒继续斗争下去。


 

 

搜索

India

UNICEF supports final push to eradicate polio in India

By Rajat Madhok

MORADABAD, India, 8 June 2011 – For 14-year-old Paro, it’s a momentous day. She’s the proud leader of the ‘Bulawa Toli’, a group of children who run from house to house, lane to lane, blowing whistles and shouting slogans to herald the arrival of polio vaccinators in their community.

VIDEO: 23 May 2011 - UNICEF's Sarah Crowe reports on the battle to eradicate polio in India.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

Paro and her friends knock on doors, making sure that every child in each household has received their two drops of the polio vaccine. At every stop, more children join her so that there are soon scores of excited children filling the air with slogans calling for a polio free community, state and nation.

At the same time, across town in another community, Sanjida, 37, is quietly going about her work, vaccinating children along with her colleague. While there’s no slogan shouting here, the intent is the same: rid the local community of the deadly virus. Sanjida knows first-hand the effects of polio –she contracted the virus when she was just two years old.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF India/2011/Curtis
Paro, 14, and her group of young activists go from house to house looking for children who haven’t been vaccinated against polio in Uttar Pradesh, India.

Checking every child

Paro and Sanjida are among thousands working day and night trying to ensure India is free of polio, a virus which can have fatal effects on children. In Uttar Pradesh alone, one of India’s poorest states, more than 250,000 polio workers work at all levels to ensure the state remains polio free.

A new approach adopted by Sanjida and her colleagues is of counselling family members on matters beyond polio vaccination. They talk to them about good hygiene and sanitation. They also tell mothers to feed their newborns with colostrum and continue exclusively breast feeding their children for a minimum of six months. “All this will give them strength to fight against polio,” says Sanjida, whose husband has also been affected by polio.

Public service announcements and involvement of religious leaders who talk about polio eradication during daily prayers has made a significant difference. Now more people come up to polio workers and demand that their children be vaccinated, a significant shift from their earlier stance where certain communities strongly resisted vaccination drives.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF India/2011/Curtis
Health worker Sanjida, 37, contracted polio as a young child. She is now helping polio eradication efforts in India.

Fighting stigma

Qari Mohammad Umar, 48, the head priest of a mosque in Moradabad is one of the many community leaders strongly advocating for polio eradication.

 “Initially we faced a lot of problems, people fought with us and many times when they saw polio workers,” says Mr. Umar, whose nephew is also a polio survivor. “They would send their children to their family members in different towns or would hide their children fearing that we would make their children impotent.”

He adds: “We got doctors and community elders to speak to them and convince them that the vaccine is good for their children and for our nation.”

Whilst the virus seems well contained within communities with not a single case reported in Uttar Pradesh for over a year, the big concern now is of migrant populations who lead nomadic lifestyles. Containing and monitoring the virus among these communities is a challenge. UNICEF and partners constantly work at nomadic slums or transit points like train and bus stations where large numbers of children could be potential carriers. Every day hundreds of children are vaccinated at such places and the effort continues.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF India/2011/Curtis
A polio health volunteer looks for children inside a train at Moradabad train station in the Indian state of Uttar Pradesh and vaccinates as many toddlers as she can find.

Only one case of polio has been reported so far in India this year – an 18 month-old girl in Howrah near Kolkata. This is a marked decrease from 42 cases in 2010 and 741 polio cases reported the year previously.

But UNICEF Communication for Development Specialist Rod Curtis, while excited about India getting close to eradicating polio, is concerned about these migrant communities. The young girl affected by polio this year did not contract the virus locally: it had been carried from Delhi.

Challenge of migrant populations

“We know this from environment sampling that we do and it proves that somebody got on a train and travelled from Delhi, more than 1,000 km to Kolkata and spread the virus in that region,” he explains. “And it’s a perfect example to us of what threat migratory populations pose to us at this stage as we get very close to achieving eradication in India.”

Back at Bhramapuri, Paro has had a satisfying day, with nearly 300 children vaccinated in her area. The young health champion is gearing up for the next immunization day, when she and her band of friends will yet again go house to house looking for that one child who’s missed being vaccinated. Her fight against the fatal virus will continue until it is eradicated.


 

 

New enhanced search