免疫接种

阿富汗和印度板球队员在圣卢西亚举行的比赛中携手抗击小儿麻痹症

“消除小儿麻痹症”运动

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF St. Lucia/2010/Knott
阿富汗和印度板球队队长交换了板球拍,板球拍上队员们的签名表明了他们共同抗击小儿麻痹症的决心。

柯妮莉亚.瓦尔特报道

圣卢西亚罗德尼湾,2010年5月10日 –印度和阿富汗两国的板球队员到圣卢西亚进行比赛,他们团结一致,要共同抗击小儿麻痹症。这在历史上尚属首次。

阿富汗队队员诺瓦鲁兹.曼加勒(Nowroz Mangal)说:“只要我们团结起来,发展教育,就能消除小儿麻痹症。”

印度赢得了“国际板球杯世界20比赛”(又称T20)的冠军,但这次胜利又远不止赛场上的胜利。这两支球队共同合作,支持在亚洲及世界其它国家开展的“消除小儿麻痹症”运动。小儿麻痹症能致人瘫痪,目前这一严重的疾病只存在于阿富汗、印度、巴基斯坦和尼日利亚。

团结一致

T20比赛于5月1日进行,在比赛前夜,阿富汗队队长诺瓦鲁兹.曼加勒(Nowroz Mangal)与印度队长马亨德拉.辛格.多尼(Mahendra Singh Dhoni)交换了象征着“消除小儿麻痹症”的板球拍。

板球拍上有两队各11名球员的签名,他们表示要团结一致,消除本国乃至全世界的小儿麻痹症。

这项运动正在不断地取得进展。在2010年5月4日这天,全球确诊的小儿麻痹症共有115例,而去年此时确诊病例为396例。在今年确诊的这些病例中,有8例来自阿富汗,19例来自印度。

阿富汗的主要障碍

阿富汗消除小儿麻痹症的主要障碍是地区的不稳定因素,疫苗接种小组无法为冲突地带的儿童接种疫苗。

但也有好消息,尽管过去的主要障碍是缺乏社区的参与,但随着越来越多的阿富汗儿童进入学校受教育,这对消除疫情有很大帮助。现在,已有74%的学龄男童和46%的女童就读于小学,而在1999年,这两个数字分别只有42%和15%。

在阿富汗的13个不稳定地区,小儿麻痹症病毒已经被控制。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF St. Lucia/2010/Walther
在圣卢西亚岛举行的板球比赛开幕式上,阿富汗和印度板球队员同巴巴多斯青年队队员们站在一起,宣传提高公众对消除小儿麻痹症的意识。

消除印度的小儿麻痹症

印度即将实现消除小儿麻痹症的目标,小儿麻痹症的疫苗接种工作正在紧锣密鼓地进行。在儿童旅行之前,为他们接种疫苗至关重要。
自2007年,疫情除了在印度北方邦和比哈尔两个地区流行之外,超过40%的病例都出现在一些移民居住地区。

印度板球队队长多尼说:“如果我们不消除印度的小儿麻痹症,疫情将会影响全世界。没有什么事情比儿童的未来更重要。”

板球队员抗击小儿麻痹症

印度板球队选手自2003年就积极参与消除小儿麻痹症的活动,队员苏拉伍.甘古利(Sourav Ganguly),拉胡尔.德拉卫( Rahul Dravid)和扎伊尔.卡汉(Zaheer Khan)启动了“消除小儿麻痹症”运动。现在,板球队正在向全国推广口服小儿麻痹症疫苗。

阿富汗的板球运动日益盛行。二十世纪90年代,身处巴基斯坦的阿富汗难民热衷于板球运动,回国后热情仍丝毫未减。塔利班并未像对待音乐和其它运动那样将板球封杀,而是最终认可了这项运动。

阿富汗板球运动员拉伊.艾哈迈德扎(Raees Ahmadza),也是“阿富汗板球青年组织”(AYCSO)的创立者,他说:“我从小就立志当一名板球运动员。让儿童通过接种疫苗来预防小儿麻痹症非常必要。教育是一种能够促进社会发展的社会疫苗。”

“我们最好的时机”

2009年,联合国儿童基金会和AYCSO在喀布尔为50名儿童组织了一个板球训练营,今年也准备组织类似的活动。

只要印度和阿富汗的小儿麻痹症仍在流行,两国附近的邻国就有再次感染的危险。最近几周,尼泊尔和塔吉克斯坦就出现了再次感染小儿麻痹症病毒的病例。

世界卫生组织消除小儿麻痹症项目主任布鲁斯.艾尔沃德(Bruce Aylward)高度赞扬阿富汗和印度板球队,他们能在关键时刻帮助提高公众的意识。

艾尔沃德说:“目前正是我们彻底消除小儿麻痹症的最好时机。我们要在2010年底之前实现这一目标,最大的挑战是仍有12亿美元的资金缺口。全世界不要错失这个一次性彻底消除小儿麻痹症的最好时机。”


 

 

搜索

Immunization

At St. Lucia match, India and Afghanistan team up to end polio

'Bowl Polio Out' campaign

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF St. Lucia/2010/Knott
Members of the Afghan and Indian teams exchange cricket bats signed by the players as a sign of solidarity in the fight against polio.

By Cornelia Walther

RODNEY BAY, St. Lucia, 10 May 2010 – For the first time ever, the cricket teams of India and Afghanistan recently came together, playing a match here in St. Lucia in solidarity against the scourge of polio.

“Together we can bowl out polio, fielding education,” said Afghanistan team member Nowroz Mangal.

The International Cricket Council World Twenty20 game – known as ‘T20’ – ended with India’s victory, but the success goes far beyond the playing field. The two teams are joining forces to support a ‘Bowl Out Polio’ campaign across Asia and the rest of the world. The crippling disease, is endemic only in Afghanistan, India, Pakistan and Nigeria.

Gesture of solidarity

On the eve of the T20 Game, which took place on 1 May, Indian batsman Suresh Raina and Afghan team captain Nowroz Mangal exchanged ‘Bowl Out Polio’ cricket bats.

The bats were signed by the 11 members of each team in a gesture of solidarity to eradicate polio in their countries and worldwide.

Progress is being made. As of 4 May, there had been only 115 confirmed cases of polio globally in 2010, compared to 396 by the same date in 2009. Eight of this year’s cases have occurred in Afghanistan and 19 in India.

Major hurdles in Afghanistan

Insecurity is the key hurdle in eradicating polio in Afghanistan, where vaccination teams can’t reach all children in conflict areas.

But there is good news. While lack of community participation was a major hurdle in the past, the increasing numbers of Afghan children enrolled in school has helped. Today 74 per cent of boys and 46 per cent of girls of primary school age are enrolled in primary school, compared to just 42 per cent of boys and 15 per cent of girls in 1999.

The polio virus has been limited to 13 insecure districts in Afghanistan.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF St. Lucia/2010/Walther
Afghan and Indian cricketers stand with members of the Barbados Youth League during the opening ceremony of the match played in St. Lucia to raise awareness about polio eradication.

Approaching eradication in India

As India nears the goal of eradication, the frequency of polio vaccination rounds has been intensified. It is critical for children to be vaccinated before they travel.
Since 2007, more than 40 per cent of polio cases outside the endemic Indian states of Uttar Pradesh and Bihar occurred in migrant communities.

“If we do not end polio in India, the rest of the world will suffer,” said Mr. Dhoni, the Indian team captain. “Nothing is more important than our children’s future.”

Cricketers fight polio

Cricketers in India have been intensively involved with the polio eradication effort since 2003, when the ‘Bowl Out Polio’ campaign was launched by Indian cricket team members Sourav Ganguly, Rahul Dravid and Zaheer Khan. Today, the team promotes oral polio vaccination countrywide.

In Afghanistan, cricket’s popularity is growing. In the 1990s, cricket became popular amongst the Afghan refugees in Pakistan, who continued to play when they returned home. Unlike music and other sports, the Taliban eventually authorized cricket.

“My future as a cricket player was secured a long time ago, when I was a child,” said Afghan cricketer Raees Ahmadza, founder of the Afghan Youth Cricket Support Organization (AYCSO). “Vaccination is essential to protect our children from polio. Education is the social vaccine to boost our society.”

‘The best chance we've ever had’

In 2009, UNICEF and AYCSO organized a cricket training camp for 50 children in Kabul; and a similar one is planned for this year.

As long as in India and Afghanistan continue to see polio transmission, all of their neighbors are at high risk of re-infection. In recent weeks, both Nepal and Tajikistan have been re-infected with poliovirus.

Dr. Bruce Aylward, the Director of the Polio Eradication Initiative at the World Health Organization, paid tribute to the Afghan and Indian cricket teams for raising awareness about polio at such a critical time.

“Right now, we have the best chance we've ever had to end polio forever," he said. “The greatest threat to finishing the job by end of 2010 remains the $1.4 billion funding gap. The world must not squander this unique opportunity to bowl out polio, once and for all.”


 

 

New enhanced search