免疫接种

联合国儿童基金会计划为非洲8500万儿童接种脊髓灰质炎疫苗

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
一个幼儿正在接受疫苗接种。对非洲中部和西部地区的儿童来说,在世界许多国家已被根除的瘫痪疾病小儿麻痹症仍然是一个巨大的威胁。

珊莎.博洛门

2010年3月5日,美国,纽约 - 对非洲中部和西部地区的儿童来说,在世界许多国家已被根除的瘫痪疾病小儿麻痹症仍然是一个巨大的威胁。

在尼日利亚,致命的脊髓灰质炎仍然在流行。在2008年,脊髓灰质炎又从尼日利亚北部蔓延到了该地区的其他国家。

 点击此处观看视频

这里许多国家已迈向宣布根除小儿麻痹症的道路,并已成功地消灭了病毒。然而,随着人们频繁的跨国流动,国家的常规免疫水平不足,病毒已迅速蔓延开,现在许多地方又重新感染,使越来越多的儿童遭受到瘫痪甚至死亡的威胁。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
作为这次大规模根除脊髓灰质炎运动的一部分,卫生员将走进家庭提供接种服务。

在脊髓灰质炎重新流行的国家,第一轮的接种运动已阻止了病毒的蔓延。然而,在过去六个月中,布基纳法索、喀麦隆、乍得、几内亚、利比里亚、马里、毛里塔尼亚、塞内加尔和塞拉利昂等国家仍然不时爆发疫情。

在19个国家开展运动

为了遏止脊髓灰质炎蔓延和实现全球根除的目标,大规模疫苗接种运动工作正在进行。这一地区19个国家即将开展的同步跨境预防接种运动将在高度团结一致和协调下进行。

全球根除脊髓灰质炎倡议的运动由世界卫生组织(WHO)、国际扶轮社、美国疾病控制和预防中心(CDC)和联合国儿童基金会等合作伙伴率先发起。

我们的目标是为每一位五岁以下儿童提供接种。如果儿童接种疫苗的数量不足,病毒将继续传播。这是个雄心勃勃的计划:40多万志愿者和卫生人员的目标是为8,500万儿童免疫。3月6至9日将开始第一轮接种,随后将于4月24至27日进行第二轮接种。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Video
联合国儿童基金会的目标是为8500万儿童免疫接种脊髓灰质炎疫苗。

艰巨挑战

接种队伍将穿越非洲最艰苦、最难走的地区,以确保每一位儿童都得到接种。各个小分队将携带确保疫苗能处于8摄氏度的特殊运输工具,逐户寻找所有五岁以下的儿童。

经验丰富的卫生人员被派往那些最具挑战性的地点。针对不同国家的边境地区这一薄弱环节,设计了专门的工作计划。此外,为了跟踪项目的进展情况,还设计了独立的监控系统。

为确保家长知情并了解他们孩子接种疫苗后的状况,一项大规模宣传活动也同时正在进行。合作伙伴包括政府首脑、地区官员、宗教领袖和流行歌星,他们正在协助进行宣传。另一个好消息是,一种针对其余野生脊髓灰质炎的新型疫苗,将用于贝宁和尼日利亚的第一轮接种,然后用于所有国家的第二轮接种。这使后勤工作变得简单,同时使充分保护儿童的机会增加。

非洲中西部地区儿童的生活面临许多的挑战。根除脊髓灰质炎和防止终身残疾、遭受排斥和行动不便,将为儿童的生活减少一个威胁其生存、福祉和发展的因素。更大的接种覆盖范围,将使每一位儿童都得到免疫接种,这些运动可以成功地根除西非和中非的脊髓灰质炎病毒。


 

 

视频(英文)

2010年3月3日:联合国儿童基金会计划在非洲中部和西部地区为8500万儿童接种脊髓灰质炎疫苗。请看记者珊莎.博洛门的报道。
 视频   |

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

Immunization

UNICEF aims to immunize 85 million children against polio in West and Central Africa

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
A small child receives the polio vaccine as part of a massive campaign to eradicate the disease in West and Central Africa.

By Shantha Bloemen

NEW YORK, USA, 5 March 2010 – For children in West and Central Africa, the threat of the crippling disease polio, eradicated in much of the world, still looms.

In Nigeria, the virulent polio virus is still endemic. In 2008, it spread from the north of the country to other nations in the region.

VIDEO: Watch now

Many of these countries were on the way to being declared polio-free and had successfully eradicated the virus. Yet with the movement of people across borders, and the inadequate level of routine immunization in many areas, the virus has quickly spread. Now, many of these areas are reinfected, threatening more children with paralysis and even death.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Health workers take the vaccine to homes as part of the campaign to eradicate polio.

A first wave of immunization in reinfected countries has made progress against the virus. In the past six months, however, outbreaks have remained active in Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Chad, Guinea, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Senegal and Sierra Leone.

Campaign includes 19 countries

In an effort to curtail the spread and work towards the global eradication of polio, a massive vaccination campaign is about to take place in West and Central Africa. In an extraordinary display of solidarity and coordination, a set of synchronized cross-border vaccination campaigns will be conducted in 19 countries in the region.

The campaign is being spearheaded by the Global Polio Eradication Initiative, a network of partners including national governments, the World Health Organization, Rotary International, the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, UNICEF and the International Federation of the Red Cross.

The aim is to reach every child under the age of five. Without a critical mass of children being immunized, the virus will not be stopped. The plan is ambitious; more than 400,000 volunteers and health workers aim to immunize 85 million children. The first round, which will take place from 6-9 March, will be followed by a second round on 24-27 April.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Video
UNICEF aims to vaccinate 85 million children in West and Central Africa against polio.

Challenging terrain

In a massive logistical exercise, vaccination teams will cross some of the toughest and most challenging terrain in Africa to ensure that children are reached. The teams, equipped with special carriers that ensure the vaccine remains below the required 8 degrees Celsius, will go door-to-door in search of every child under five.

Learning from a similar campaign that took place last year, experienced health workers are being deployed to locations that have proven to be the most challenging. A special plan has been put in place to focus on the border areas between countries, and an independent monitoring system has been developed to track progress.

To make sure parents are informed and understand the importance of having their children vaccinated, a massive information campaign is under way. Partners – including heads of government, local district officials, religious leaders and pop stars – are spreading the word. Good news, too, is a new vaccine that can target both of the remaining wild polio serotypes. It will be introduced in Benin and Nigeria in the first round, then in all countries in the second. This not only makes the logistics simpler but increases the chances that children will be fully protected.

For West and Central Africa's children, life is already filled with many challenges. Eradicating polio and preventing a life of disability, exclusion and physical hardship will be one less threat to their survival, welfare and development. With better coverage that leaves no child unvaccinated, these campaigns can succeed in making West and Central Africa polio-free.


 

 

Video

3 March 2010: UNICEF correspondent Shantha Bloemen reports on the polio immunization campaign in West and Central Africa.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search