免疫接种

全球疫苗和免疫现状:儿童免疫率达历史最高水平

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2008-1508/Holtz
孟加拉一名卫生工作者展示一种可预防五种常见儿童疾病的疫苗。这五种疾病分别是B型流感嗜血杆菌、白喉、破伤风、百日咳和乙型肝炎。2009年的免疫运动由世界卫生组织和联合国儿童基金会等共同组织。

伊丽莎白.基姆报道

美国纽约,2009年10月21日 – 尽管现在接种预防致命疾病疫苗的儿童比以往任何时候都多,但是由于缺乏充足的资金和更好的渠道,至少还有2400万名婴儿未受到疫苗的保护。

联合国儿童基金会、世界银行和世界卫生组织今天发表的一份报告指出,五分之一的儿童没有接种麻疹、破伤风和白喉等可预防疾病的常规疫苗。

根据这份名为《全球疫苗和免疫现状》的报告,最近儿童死亡率降低的直接原因是免疫接种率提高的结果。

联合国儿童基金会执行主任安.维尼曼说:“2000年至2007年期间,全世界麻疹死亡人数减少了74%,接种疫苗对此发挥了重要作用。这一成绩必将激发新的努力,为全球儿童接种疫苗,预防威胁生命的疾病。”

 点击此处观看视频

成效显著

《全球疫苗和免疫现状》的发布强调了疫苗接种在预防传染病方面的突出作用。当前,全球许多国家正面临着急需大量预防H1N1病毒新疫苗的挑战。

在过去的30年中,预防白喉、破伤风、百日咳、小儿麻痹症、麻疹和肺结核的常规疫苗接种越来越普及,每年拯救了大约250万个年轻生命。

然而,要取得更大的进展,就必须改善获取疫苗的渠道和冷链控制系统(贮存和由疫苗制造商向疫苗接受人之间安全运输的系统)。

联合国儿童基金会卫生事务负责人和项目助理主任米奇.乔普拉(Mickey Chopra)博士说:“即使在免疫覆盖率高的国家,我们也发现有一部分,有时是相当大的一部分儿童完全被排除在免疫系统之外。这说明,一些儿童群体可能也被排斥在整个保健系统之外。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-0111/Uddin
在中非共和国博桑戈阿的一家医院,一名小女孩正在接种麻疹疫苗。在联合国儿童基金会和一些非政府组织的支持下,2008年政府启动的免疫运动为66万名五岁以下的儿童接种了麻疹疫苗。

研发新疫苗面临资金缺口

在过去的十年中,疫苗技术的突飞猛进带动了若干新疫苗的开发;最显著的成绩是研发出预防肺炎球菌病和轮状病毒腹泻病的疫苗,它们直接针对导致儿童死亡的两个主要杀手。

乔普拉博士称这些疫苗棒,但他警告说,资金缺口问题使这些新疫苗难以纳入各国的医疗免疫体系。

乔普拉先生说:“有一种危险是母亲以为她们的孩子只要接种了肺炎和腹泻疫苗,就能完全杜绝这些疾病......但我们相信这些疫苗只能防止20%至30%的肺炎和腹泻。

联合国儿童基金会主张推广宣传预防疾病的行为,比如洗手和纯母乳喂养是抗击腹泻和肺炎的重要干预措施。

接种疫苗是儿童的权利

在将为儿童提供免疫接种作为一项基本权利的问题上,联合国儿童基金会所面临的挑战是经费问题。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2007-0467/Nesbitt
在尼日利亚伊萨瓦镇一个防疫站,一名卫生工作者正准备登记儿童疫苗接种卡。

据估计,要为72个最贫穷国家的所有儿童提供新的和现有的疫苗,每年将需要十亿美元。

这份报告赞扬了像由世界卫生组织、联合国儿童基金会、世界银行以及比尔和梅琳达.盖茨基金会联合建立的全球疫苗免疫联盟这样在资金上进行合作的组织在扭转免疫率下降的趋势中所发挥的作用

但是,要把这些取得的成绩保持下去,除了筹集资金,还需要做许多宣传工作。

乔普拉博士说:“要大力推动,并使免疫接种根植于卫生系统和政策之中;使社区和母亲们知道这是他们的孩子的权利。这样,即使全世界的注意力有可能转向其他问题和疾病的方向,免疫接种也可以成为一项可持续的干预措施。”

联合国儿童基金会的带头作用

联合国儿童基金会是全球用于发展中国家的疫苗的最大采购者,为全世界半数以上的儿童提供了必要的疫苗。仅2007年,儿基会就购买了32亿支疫苗。

值得注意的是,对疫苗需求的增加,意味着发展中国家的制造商正日益成为占主导地位的供货商,他们满足了全球目前对传统疫苗86%的需求量。

不断扩大廉价疫苗的市场,并与蓬勃发展的研究和开发相结合,这些预示着实现未来免疫目标的良好趋势。《全球疫苗和免疫现状》报告指出了在未来10年内研发预防疟疾、结核病和艾滋病等新疫苗的潜力。


 

 

视频(英文)


联合国儿童基金会卫生事务负责人米奇.乔普拉介绍最新发表的《全球疫苗和免疫现状》。
 视频   |

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

Immunization

State of the World’s Vaccines: Childhood immunization at record high

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2008-1508/Holtz
A young girl receives a vaccine against measles at a hospital in Bossangoa, in the Central African Republic.

By Elizabeth Kiem

NEW YORK, USA, 21 October 2009 – More children are being immunized against deadly diseases than ever before, yet without  better  funding and improved access, at least 24 million infants are left unprotected.

VIDEO: Watch now

A report released today by UNICEF, the World Bank and the World Health Organization finds that one in five children are not receiving routine vaccinations against preventable diseases like measles, tetanus and diphtheria.

The report, ‘State of the World’s Vaccines and Immunizations’ (SOWV), shows that recent declines in child mortality rates are a direct result of higher immunization rates.

“Worldwide, measles death fell by 74 per cent between 2000 and 2007, and vaccinations played an important part in that decline,” said UNICEF Executive Director Ann M. Veneman. “Such progress must inspire new efforts to immunize children around the globe against life-threatening diseases.”

Gains from expanded coverage

As many nations worldwide confront the challenge of rolling out new vaccines against the H1N1 virus, SOWV underscores the prominent role of vaccination in preventing a range of communicable diseases.

In the past three decades, immunization against diphtheria, tetanus, pertussis, polio, measles and tuberculosis has become increasingly routine, saving an estimated 2.5 million young lives every year.

But improved access and cold chain control (the system to store and transport vaccines safely from manufacturers to recipients) are necessary to make further gains.

“Even in countries with high levels of coverage we do find pockets, large pockets sometimes, of children who are just completely excluded. And that reflects also that there may be groups of children… which are also excluded from the health system as a whole,” says UNICEF Chief of Health and Associate Director of Programmes, Dr. Mickey Chopra.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2009-0111/Uddin
At a storage facility in Bangladesh, a health worker displays a vaccine against five common childhood illnesses.

Funding gap for new vaccines

Rapid advances in vaccine technology in the past decade have led to the development of several new vaccines. Most significantly, vaccines against pneumococcal disease and rotovirus directly address the two leading causes of all child deaths.

Dr. Chopra calls these vaccines “wonderful,” but warns that a funding gap makes it a challenge to incorporate the new vaccines into national immunization programs in the places that need it most.

“There is a danger that care givers and mothers will believe that their children are fully immunized against pneumonia and diarrhoea… and we believe these vaccines will only cover 20 to 30 per cent of the cases of pneumonia and diarrhoea,” said Dr. Chopra.

UNICEF advocates scaling-up sensitization to behavioural prevention like handwashing and exclusive breastfeeding as key interventions in the fight against diarrhoea and pneumonia.

Vaccination is a child’s right

The challenge for UNICEF, which regards the provision of childhood immunizations as a basic right, is to ensure that funding for these vaccines is sustained.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2007-0467/Nesbitt
A health worker prepares to mark a child's vaccination card at a fixed immunization post in Isawa Town in Nigeria.

An estimated $1 billion per year will be needed to deliver new and existing vaccines to every child in the 72 poorest countries.

The report recognizes the roles of financing partnerships like the GAVI Alliance, which includes WHO, UNICEF, the World Bank and the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation in reversing a downward trend in immunization rates. But ensuring that recent progress is sustained requires as much advocacy work as donor resources.

“Making a big push and getting immunization entrenched into health systems and policies and making communities and mothers aware that this is something their child has a right to can make this a sustainable intervention even when global attention may shift to other issues and diseases,” said Dr. Chopra.

UNICEF’s leading role

UNICEF is the world’s largest procurer of vaccines, supplying necessary vaccines to more than half of the world’s children. In 2007 alone, the organization bought 3.2 billion doses. In 2008, UNICEF bought 2.6 billion doses.

Significantly, increased demand has meant that manufacturers in developing countries are increasingly the dominant providers, meeting 86 per cent of the global demand for traditional vaccines.

The expanding market for affordable vaccines, combined with the boom in research and development, bodes well for future immunization goals. The 2009 SOWV report cites the potential for new vaccines against malaria, tuberculosis and AIDS within the next decade.


 

 

Video


UNICEF Chief of Health and Associate Director of Programmes Dr. Mickey Chopra discusses the findings of the latest State of the World’s Vaccines report.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search