免疫接种

向根除脊髓灰质炎迈出“最后一英寸”的机会之窗正在关闭

UNICEF Photo
© Michael Loccisano/WireImage
联合国儿童基金会执行主任安.M.维尼曼和谷歌公司首席慈善传播者拉里.布里恩特博士在《最后一英寸》的特别放映仪式上合影。这部影片重点记录了根除残留的脊髓灰质炎病毒的斗争。

克里斯.奈尔斯报道

纽约,2009年4月3日 – 50多年前,人类发明了第一支安全有效的脊髓灰质炎疫苗;50多年后的今天,彻底根除脊髓灰质炎的机会之窗正在关闭。

 点击此处观看视频

在使脊髓灰质炎成为历史的努力中,人类已经取得了巨大的进展,但是气候变化的影响仍可能使这种疾病卷土重来。昨晚在纽约举办的《最后一英寸》的特别放映仪式上,专家小组就一系列问题进行了讨论,其中就包括这一惊人的事实。这部奥斯卡提名影片记录了印度的脊髓灰质炎问题。

减少脊髓灰质炎病例

联合国儿童基金会执行主任安.M.维尼曼说:“过去的20年中,在国际扶轮社和全球根除脊髓灰质炎行动的其他伙伴的努力下,脊髓灰质炎的病例减少了99%。”

她还补充说道:“只要我们继续致力于为儿童免疫投资,在全球根除脊髓灰质炎的目标是可以实现的。”

影片《最后一英寸》由朱红影片公司(Vermilion Films)和谷歌公司制作,由伊雷娜.泰勒.布罗德斯基(Irene Taylor-Brodsky)导演。该片记录了在印度北方邦和比哈尔邦根除脊髓灰质炎的努力——这一使人瘫痪而且往往致命的儿童疾病仅在世界少数几个地区流行,其中就包括印度的这两个邦。

避免更大范围的威胁

“由于气候变化,我们在印度根除脊髓灰质炎的机会之窗很小,” 谷歌公司首席慈善传播者拉里.布里恩特(Larry Brilliant)博士说,“如果我们现在错过这个机会,水平面继续上升,水媒疾病不断增加,那么我们将永远都不会再有在亚洲根除这一可怕疾病的机会了。”

维尼曼女士强调说在过去20年中根除脊髓灰质炎的大规模行动使得有这种流行病的国家的数量从25个减少到今天的4个:巴基斯坦、阿富汗、印度和尼日利亚。

然而,如果脊髓灰质炎在这四个国家不能够被彻底根除,那么它可能威胁到更广阔的地区。

“在贫困的帷幕之后”

布里恩特博士说根除残留的脊髓灰质炎病毒也是一种道德律令。

UNICEF Photo
© Michael Loccisano/WireImage
从左至右依次为前国际扶轮社社长詹姆斯.莱西、联合国儿童基金会执行主任安.M.维尼曼、谷歌公司首席慈善传播者拉里.布里恩特博士以及电影导演伊雷娜.泰勒.布罗德斯基。

他说:“全世界最受污染的地区是最贫困的地区。因此,我们毫不意外地发现‘最后一英寸’是被我们忽视的人性的‘一英寸’,它发生在贫困的帷幕之后。人们悄无声息地死去,没有人听到他们的声音。这是对我们人类文明的考验——我们如何照顾那些最脆弱的人口,如何照顾那些我们看不到的人口。”

《最后一英寸》于4月1日在美国有线电视网络HBO上首播,还将在4月7日的世界卫生日当天重播。HBO.com和YouTube网站上也将在线放映。


 

 

视频(英文)

2009年4月2日:联合国儿童基金会通讯员克里斯.奈尔斯就《最后一英寸》的特别放映仪式进行了报道,该影片重点记录了根除残留的脊髓灰质炎病毒的斗争。
 视频  高速 | 低速

搜索

Immunization

Window closing on chance to push polio ‘The Final Inch’ towards eradication

UNICEF Image
© Michael Loccisano/WireImage
Executive Director Ann M. Veneman and Google.org ‘Chief Philanthropy Evangelist’ Dr. Larry Brilliant at a special screening of ‘The Final Inch’, a film made with UNICEF’s assistance that documents efforts to stamp out polio in India.

By Chris Niles

NEW YORK, 3 April 2009 – More than 50 years after the discovery of  the first safe and effective polio vaccine, the window is closing on the chance to eradicate the disease for good.

VIDEO: Watch now

Enormous strides have been made in consigning polio to history, but the effects of climate change could bring it roaring back. That alarming prospect was one of several topics covered last night in the panel discussion at a special New York screening of ‘The Final Inch’, an Academy Award-nominated film about polio in India.

Reduction in polio cases
“Over the last 20 years, there has been a 99 per cent reduction in polio cases due to the commitment of Rotary and other partners in the Global Polio Eradication Initiative,” said UNICEF Executive Director Ann M. Veneman. “Eradication of polio worldwide is within reach with the continued investment in vaccinating children.”

Made by Vermillion Films and Google.org, and directed by Irene Taylor-Brodsky, ‘The Final Inch” documents efforts to stamp out polio in the Indian states of Uttar Pradesh and Bihar – which are among the few remaining areas where the paralyzing and often fatal childhood disease remains endemic.

The documentary was made with assistance from UNICEF India.

Averting a wider threat
“We have a very narrow window of opportunity to eradicate polio from India because of climate change,” said Dr. Larry Brilliant, ‘Chief Philanthropy Evangelist’ at Google.org. “If we miss it now and sea levels rise and waterborne diseases increase, we will never have another chance to rid Asia of this terrible disease.”

Veneman noted that massive efforts to eradicate polio in the last 20 years have resulted in the number of endemic countries dropping from 25 to just 4 today: Pakistan, Afghanistan, India and Nigeria.

However, if polio is not beaten in those four countries, it could become a wider threat, she said.

‘Behind the curtain of poverty’
Dr. Brilliant said eradicating the last vestiges of polio were also a moral imperative.

UNICEF Image
© Michael Loccisano/WireImage
At the screening, from left: former Rotary International executive James Lacey, UNICEF Executive Director Ann M. Veneman, Google.org ‘Chief Philanthropy Evangelist’ Dr. Larry Brilliant and film director Irene Taylor Brodsky.

“The most contaminated environments are the poorest environments in the world,” he said. “Therefore, it is not surprising that ‘the final inch’ will be that inch of humanity that we don’t see, that happens behind the curtain of poverty, where people die quietly with no one to hear them. It is a test of our civilization – how we care for the most vulnerable amongst us, how we care for the people who we don’t see.”

‘The Final Inch’ debuted on 1 April on the US cable television network HBO, which will re-broadcast the documentary on World Health Day, 7 April. The film will also be streamed lived on HBO.com and YouTube.com.


 

 

Video

2 April 2009: UNICEF correspondent Chris Niles reports on a special screening of ‘The Final Inch’, which highlights the battle to eradicate the last remaining pockets of polio.
 VIDEO  high | low

New enhanced search