Fact Sheet Expert Opinion First Person Photo Essay
UNICEF logo

Vaccination

Coqueluche

next

La maladie :

La coqueluche est une infection respiratoire caractérisée par une toux convulsive. Lors de sévères quintes, l’enfant infecté a du mal à respirer et émet un bruit de « coq » lorsqu’il inhale (d’où son nom familier). La coqueluche peut entraîner des complications qui menacent la vie, dont pneumonie, convulsions, encéphalite (inflammation du cerveau) et parfois conduire au décès. La coqueluche frappe surtout les jeunes enfants mais les adultes peuvent aussi en souffrir et la transmettre aux enfants non immunisés.

La coqueluche est causée par une bactérie, Bordetella pertussis, qui envahit l’arbre respiratoire. La maladie est très contagieuse et se transmet par des gouttelettes projetées par les éternuements ou la toux d’une personne malade. Un enfant peut aussi être contaminé par contact avec la salive ou les secrétions d’un malade ou en manipulant des objets contaminés.

Immunisation :

Il y a deux types de vaccins : à germes entiers et acellulaire. Le vaccin à germes entiers utilise une version tuée de la bactérie responsable de la maladie. Le vaccin acellulaire est une nouvelle variante qui utilise quelques parties seulement de la bactérie, plutôt que l’ensemble du germe tué. Les deux sont efficaces pour prévenir la maladie avec un avantage pour le vaccin acellulaire qui réduit les risques d’effets indésirables bénins observés avec le vaccin à germe entier : fièvre et abcèdation, rougeur et douleurs au bras. Cependant, le vaccin acellulaire étant nettement plus cher à produire, le vaccin à germes entiers, d’efficacité équivalente, est plus souvent utilisé dans les pays en développement. Chacun des vaccins peut être associé dans la combinaison diphtérie, tétanos et coqueluche (DTC). L’Organisation mondiale de la Santé (OMS) recommande que le DTC soit donné à six, 10 et 14 semaines.

Objectif :

D’ici 2010, assurer la vaccination de routine de 90 % des enfants de moins de un au plan national et d’au moins 80 % dans chaque district ou unité administrative équivalente.

Sources : OMS, CDC, UNICEF

Fact Sheet Expert Opinion First Person Photo Essay
UNICEF logo

Immunization

Pertussis

next

The Disease:

Pertussis is a respiratory infection characterized by a signature cough. During severe coughing spells, the infected child may have difficulty breathing and make a “whooping” noise as he or she tries to inhale. (Thus giving the disease its colloquial name: whooping cough.) Pertussis can result in several life-threatening complications, including pneumonia, seizures, encephalitis (inflammation of the brain) and in some cases, death. The disease most often strikes young children, but adults also suffer from the disease and may pass it on to infants that have not been immunized.

Pertussis is caused by a bacterium, Bordetella pertussis, that invades the respiratory tract. The disease is very contagious and is spread by droplets when an infected person coughs or sneezes. A child can also become infected after coming in contact with a sick person’s saliva or phlegm, or through contaminated objects.

Symptoms:

Pertussis can be difficult to diagnose because the initial symptoms are not unlike those of a cold – runny nose and a cough. Symptoms may appear two days to two weeks after exposure to the bacteria. Gradually, the coughing fits become more violent and prolonged. Some children may vomit or cough up discharge, or, in more severe cases, may develop respiratory infections that can make breathing difficult.

Immunization:

There are two types of pertussis vaccine, whole cell and acellular. Whole cell pertussis vaccine uses a killed version of the bacterium that causes the disease. Acellular pertussis vaccine is a newer variation that utilizes only some elements of this bacterium, rather than the whole killed bacteria. While both are effective in preventing the disease, the advantage of the acellular is that it reduces the chance of mild side effects associated with the whole-cell vaccine: fever and swelling, redness or soreness in the arms. However, because the acellular vaccine is much more expensive to produce, the whole-cell vaccine, which is equally effective, is more frequently used in developing countries. Either of these pertussis vaccines can be bundled in the combination diphtheria, tetanus, and pertussis shot (DTP). The World Health Organization (WHO) recommends that DTP be given at six weeks, 10 weeks and 14 weeks.

Goal:

By 2010, ensure routine childhood immunization of children under one year of age at 90 per cent nationally, with at least 80 per cent coverage in every district or equivalent administrative unit.

Sources: WHO, CDC, UNICEF