Fact Sheet Expert Opinion First Person Photo Essay
UNICEF logo

Vaccination

Sécurité des injections

Dr Edward Hoekstra, Conseiller principal, Section Santé, UNICEF

Q : Quels problèmes peuvent être dus aux injections ?

H. Le premier risque pour les enfants est d’être exposés aux maladies véhiculées par le sang, notamment par les virus de l’hépatite B(VHB), de l’hépatite C (VHC) et du syndrome d’immunodéficience acquise (VIH). La seule manière d’être totalement sûr est d’utiliser une aiguille stérile et une seringue stérile pour chaque enfant. Le second risque concerne les personnes qui vaccinent. Quand elles recapuchonnent l’aiguille, elles peuvent se piquer accidentellement. Dans le passé, on recapuchonnait pour protéger l’environnement et tous ceux qui pouvaient manipuler les déchets. Les études ont révélé que plus de 80 % de ceux qui effectuaient les injections avaient eu au moins une piqûre accidentelle d’aiguille en recapuchonnant. Ce qui a des conséquences majeures pour les agents de santé, notamment pour l’hépatite B, l’hépatite C et le VIH/SIDA. Enfin, si les aiguilles et les seringues ne sont pas correctement éliminées, les enfants peuvent jouer ou marcher sur le matériel contaminé et être exposé aux maladies véhiculées par le sang.

 

Q : Comment les enfants peuvent ils être exposés à une maladie véhiculée par le sang à l’occasion des immunisations ?

H : Un des problèmes que nous avions auparavant avec les injections était que les enfants étaient vaccinés avec des seringues déjà utilisées pour d’autres enfants. C’étaient des seringues en verre, démontables et réutilisables. Parfois stérilisées, parfois pas. On rencontrait surtout ce problème dans les zones rurales où elles étaient souvent lavées à l’eau tiède ou avec des produits contaminés. Et ainsi les enfants pouvaient être exposés à l’hépatite B, à l’hépatite C et aussi au VIH.
Les seringues jetables étaient aussi réutilisées; les aiguilles métalliques pouvaient être remployées plus de 100 fois. Souvent, les seringues étaient seulement nettoyées et ré-emballées. Un risque supplémentaire pour les enfants consistait au remplissage d’une même seringue pour plusieurs enfants suivi d’injections successives. Le problème est qu’une fois que l’aiguille est retirée du bras de l’enfant, une aspiration se produit et un petit peu de sang pénètre dans la seringue. L’enfant suivant est alors exposé aux maladies de l’enfant précédent.

 

Q : Quelle est l’ampleur du problème des injections sans sécurité ?

H : La question des injections sans sécurité dépasse largement le problème des immunisations. 5 à 10 % seulement des injections concernent l’immunisation et 90 à 95 % des soins à visée curative. Il est vraiment surprenant de voir combien de médecins effectuent des injections dénuées de sécurité. Pourquoi utilisent-ils les injections ? En partie par ignorance, mais aussi pour des questions de prix. Si les médecins travaillent dans un pays où le coût des seringues représente un pourcentage significatif de leurs salaires, ils peuvent être poussés à les utiliser plus d’une fois. Par exemple, ils peuvent dire, je peux utiliser la même seringue pour deux frères ou pour un couple marié puisqu’ils sont de la même famille. La sécurité devient en général un problème quand le prix de la seringue se rapproche du revenu, on arrive dans une zone pas claire… Pour l’UNICEF, la sécurité des injections est cruciale. Après tout, l’objectif de protection des enfants contre la maladie serait contredit si nous ne pouvions garantir qu’ils ne seront pas infectés par autre chose à l’occasion de la vaccination.

 

Q : Comment l’UNICEF travaille-t-il pour garantir la sécurité des injections ?

H : En gros, nous avons examiné le problème et nous nous sommes demandés : « Que pouvons nous faire ? S’assurer que les médecins soient mieux payés ? Cela n’arrivera pas. Rendre les dispositifs injectables moins chers ? Plus simple à dire qu’à faire. A la place, nous pensons que la réponse est d’effectuer les injections avec des dispositifs autobloquants impossible à réutiliser. Dans les seringues autobloquantes, l’aiguille est reliée à la seringue, vous ne pouvez pas l’enlever. Une fois le piston retiré puis le liquide injecté, un mécanisme fait qu’il est impossible de retirer à nouveau le piston.

 

Q : Comment les pays pauvres peuvent ils assumer les coûts des nouveaux dispositifs ?

H : Le prix de ces seringues diminue. Au début, le prix des seringues traditionnelles était d’environ 3 centimes de dollars et celui des seringues autobloquantes (seringues AB) de 15 centimes. Ceci posait un problème pour les pays pauvres et encourageait la réutilisation.
Maintenant, le prix de seringues AB est inférieur à 6 centimes de dollars et celui des traditionnelles est de 4 centimes. La différence de prix est donc nettement moins importante ce qui facilite notre travail et limite la tentation de réutiliser les seringues. Si tous les pays achetaient des seringues AB, cela imposerait un changement dans la production.

 

L’Alliance mondiale pour les vaccins et la vaccination (GAVI) a aussi mis des fonds à disposition des 74 pays en développement qui souhaitent acheter des seringues AB au cours des trois ans à venir. Nous espérons ainsi que la plupart des pays les plus concernés auront maintenant assez d’argent pour opérer ce changement. Actuellement, l’UNICEF fournit 40 % des vaccins dans le monde dont 20 % incluent des seringues autobloquantes et des collecteurs de sécurité. Ce pourcentage augmente tous les mois. L’emballage des vaccins avec ces matériels se fait par les pays eux mêmes.

 

Q : Quels résultats l’UNICEF a-t-il observé dans les efforts de sécurité des injections ?

H : L’UNICEF a commencé à utiliser des seringues autobloquantes en 1998. A cette époque, nous en avions 50 millions. En 2001, ce chiffre est monté à 225 millions et en 2002 à 375 millions. C’est lors des campagnes contre la rougeole que l’UNICEF a pour la première fois utilisé les seringues AB sur une large échelle. Depuis 2002, aucun vaccin contre la rougeole n’a été fait sans seringues AB et collecteurs de sécurité. Avant, les personnels de santé courraient le risque de piqûre d’aiguille accidentelle en recapuchonnant l’aiguille après l’injection. Maintenant, ils déposent la seringue directement dans la boîte, habituellement en plastique ou en carton. Une fois qu’elles contiennent 100 seringues, les boites sont incinérées et les restes enterrés.

 

Au cours de ces campagnes, nous construisons des incinérateurs plus efficients pour éliminer les quantités énormes de déchets produits lors des campagnes de vaccinations de masse. Sur une courte période de sept jours, nous touchons plus de 95 % des enfants d’une population – ce qui peut signifier jusqu’à 10 millions d’enfants en une semaine. Sur un total de 70 millions d’enfants en Afrique vaccinés contre la rougeole dans les deux dernières années, tous l’ont été avec des seringues AB accompagnées de boîtes collecteurs de sécurité. L’élimination des déchets a été suivie et nous avons aidé les communautés à construire des incinérateurs qui peuvent maintenant être utilisés par les services de santé.

Fact Sheet Expert Opinion First Person Photo Essay
UNICEF logo

Immunization

Injection safety

Dr. Edward Hoekstra, Senior Health Advisor, Health Section

Q: What are the problems associated with injections?

A: The first risk for children is exposure to blood-borne diseases, particularly hepatitis B virus (HBV), hepatitis C virus (HCV), and human immunodeficiency virus (HIV.) The only way to be completely safe is to use one sterile needle, one sterile syringe for each child. A second risk is to the person administering the vaccine. When they cap the syringe they may be accidentally jabbed. In the past recapping was done to protect the environment and anyone who might handle the waste. Research has shown that more than 80 per cent of those administering injections had at least one needle-stick injury during recapping. This has major consequences for health workers, particularly with Hepatitis B, Hepatitis C and HIV. Lastly, if the needles and syringes are not disposed of properly, children may play with or step on infected devices and be exposed to blood-borne diseases.

 

Q: How can children be exposed to blood-borne disease during immunization?

A: One of the problems we've had over the years with injections is that vaccines were given to children using syringes that had already been used for others. These were glass syringes that could be dismantled and the parts reused. Sometimes they would be sterilized, other times not. This was especially problematic in rural areas where they were often cleaned with lukewarm water or with contaminated substances. Thus children were exposed to blood borne diseases such as Hepatitis B, Hepatitis C and also HIV. 

 

Disposable syringes were also reused; the steel needles could be reused as many as 100 times. Often the syringes would just be cleaned and repackaged. Another further risk to children was in circumstances where the same syringe was filled with inoculations for several children and then used for a series of injections. The problem is that once the needle is pulled out of a child's arm, a vacuum is created and a small amount of blood goes into the syringe. This then exposes the next child in line to whatever diseases the previous children may have.

 

Q: How widespread is the problem of unsafe injections?

A: The issue of unsafe injections is larger than immunization. Only 5 to 10 per cent of injections are for immunization, while 90 to 95 per cent are for curative purposes. It really is surprising how many doctors administer injections in an unsafe way. Why do doctors reuse syringes? It is partly ignorance, but it also has to do with the price. If physicians work in a country where the cost of syringes is a significant percentage of their salaries, they often may rationalize using a syringe more than once. For example, they may say, I can use the same syringe on two brothers or with a married couple, as they are all in the same family. Generally safety becomes a problem if the price of the syringe is close to the income – that is when you move into a grey area. For UNICEF, injection safety is a critical concern. After all, it would certainly defeat the purpose of protecting children against the disease if we can't guarantee that they won't be infected with something else during vaccination.

 

Q: How is UNICEF working to guarantee the safety of immunization injections?

A: Basically, we looked at the problem and asked, “What can we do about it?” Make sure doctors get paid more? Not going to happen. Make the syringe device cheaper? Not necessarily as easy as it sounds. Instead, we believe the answer is to perform injections with an auto-disabling device that is impossible to reuse. In the auto-disable syringes, the needle is stuck to the syringe – you can't break it off. Once you pull out the plunger and push in fluid once, this triggers a mechanism that makes it impossible to pull the plunger out again.

 

Q: How can poor countries afford the new devices?

A: The price of these syringes is coming down. At first, the price for traditional syringes was about US3 cents and the auto-disable syringe (AD syringe) US15 cents. This posed a problem for poorer countries and encouraged syringe reuse. Now the price for AD syringes is less than US6 cents, with traditional syringes at US4 cents. So, with the difference in price being so much lower, this makes our job much easier and decreased the temptation to use traditional syringes. If all countries bought AD syringes, this would force a production change.


The Global Alliance for Vaccines and Immunization (GAVI) has also made funds available for all 74 developing countries that wish to buy AD syringes over a three years period. Thus we hope that most of the critical countries will now have sufficient money to make the switch. At this time, UNICEF provides 40 per cent of the world's vaccines, with 59 countries using only AD syringes and safety boxes for their immunization services. This percentage is increasing monthly. The bundling of the vaccines with these materials occurs in the countries themselves.

 

Q: What results has UNICEF seen from the needle safety efforts?

 

A: UNICEF started using auto-disable syringes in 1998. At the time, we had 50 million syringes. By 2006, that number had grown to almost 900 million. The measles campaign was where UNICEF first put the AD syringe to widespread use. Since 2000, no measles vaccines have gone out without AD syringes and safety boxes. In the past, physicians faced the risk of accidental needle jabs when they went to cap a syringe after injection. Now, they drop the syringe directly into the box, usually a plastic or cardboard container. Once the box contains 100 syringes, the boxes are incinerated and the remains buried.

 

As part of these campaigns, we built more efficient incinerators to accommodate the huge amount of waste produced during massive vaccination campaigns. Over a short period of seven days, we reach more than 95 per cent of the children in a population - that can mean up to 10 million children in one week. Of a total of 297 million children in Africa and 73 million in the rest of the world that have been vaccinated for measles during the last six years, all were done with AD syringes and safety boxes. The waste management was also monitored and we helped communities build incinerators that can now be used by the health system.