越南

联合国儿童基金会的援助项目为罹患急性营养不良症的越南儿童带来希望

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Viet Nam/2011/Huong
两岁的阿涛 (A-thau) 和他的姐姐。当阿涛的父母将他送到地区医院时,他高烧不退、呼吸困难,经检查诊断患有肺炎和严重的急性营养不良。

Nguyen Thi Thanh Huong 报道

越南昆嵩,2011 年 10 月 13 日 —— 两岁的阿涛和家人居住在越南昆嵩省一个偏远山村的简陋小屋里,昆嵩是位于越南中部高地的一个省。他是六个孩子中最小的一个,主要由年长的兄弟姐妹进行照料,因为父母忙于田间劳作,无法时刻照顾他。由于出生时体重较轻,加上缺乏营养食品,导致患上了复发性疾病。当父母终于将他送到地区医院时,已经是高烧不退并且呼吸困难,经检查诊断为患有肺炎和严重的急性营养不良。

恶性循环

营养不良对儿童的生存和发展构成了严重威胁。但是在昆嵩,很多父母只会在孩子出现严重健康问题时才会去寻求医疗咨询。

“我儿子生下来个头就那么小,我当时觉得很正常,”阿涛的父亲说,“我本来以为他会像其他孩子一样慢慢长大的。我不知道可能会死于营养不良。”

罹患急性营养不良症的儿童对传染病的抵抗力较差,而且很可能会由于其他常见的儿童疾病(如肠道疾病和呼吸系统感染)而导致死亡。康复情况较差,加上动不动就生病,使得生还儿童的营养状况非常糟糕,这样便陷在了不停复发的恶性循环中,导致这些儿童成长迟缓,阻碍了正常发育。

阿涛在肺炎痊愈后便转入儿童病房,进行急性营养不良的治疗;在这里,他可以喝到医用牛奶(也称为 F75 和 F100)。在体重明显恢复、健康状况明显改善之后,阿涛在两个星期之后便出院了。出院后,还为阿涛提供了本地生产的即食型医疗食品(名为 HEBI),因为阿涛还要在家里继续治疗整整一个星期;目前阿涛正在做全面康复。

管理与预防

阿涛是联合国儿童基金会援助的越南急性营养不良综合管理计划的首批受益人之一。该计划旨在将卫生设施管理与社区管理相结合,从而向更多罹患急性营养不良症的儿童提供救助。在解决急性营养不良症的过程中,联合国儿童基金会帮助加强了卫生设施的建设,具体做法是对医疗人员进行培训,并开展监测和治疗等活动。

在社区层面,该计划集中在预防措施上,同时在急性营养不良症状发展到需住院治疗之前即对症状进行确认并开展救治活动。保健工作人员还安排了烹饪演示,向护理人员展示如何使用当地可用的食品为小孩子做出营养食品。提高社区层面的意识是解决受影响区域营养不良现象的关键所在。

联合国儿童基金会还支持越南政府开展即食型医疗食品的研发工作,以便能在社区内进行治疗。在越南,有一种医疗食品叫做 HEBI,松软可口,方便儿童随时食用。

“新的全球性证据表明,大部分患有急性营养不良症的儿童都可以在所在社区进行治疗,而且能否获得即食类医疗食品对于门诊就医来说非常重要,”联合国儿童基金会营养专家罗杰.马蒂森 (Roger Mathisen) 表示,“我们希望通过支持越南本国生产的即食型医疗食品,从而确保食品供应的安全性,并加强本计划的可持续发展。”

未来发展

降低儿童的营养不良状况一直是越南公共卫生议程中优先考虑的事项。预计该计划将支持越南政府发展适用于急性营养不良综合管理的本地能力和相关系统。该计划将在试点期结束后在全国范围进一步推广,针对急性营养不良症的检查、治疗和跟进的相关服务及产品将会包含在国家社会医疗保险和其他类似的医疗保健融资机制中。


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Viet Nam

UNICEF-supported programme brings hope to severely malnourished children in Viet Nam

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Viet Nam/2011/Huong
Two-year-old A-thau and his sister. When his parents brought him to the district hospital with a high fever and breathing difficulties, he was diagnosed as having pneumonia and severe acute malnutrition.

By Nguyen Thi Thanh Huong

KON TUM, Viet Nam, 13 October 2011 – Two-year-old A-Thau lives with his family in a simple house in a remote village in Kon Tum – a central highland province of Viet Nam. The smallest of six children, he is mainly looked after by his elder siblings, as his parents are too busy working in the fields to care for him all the time. Low birth weight and a lack of nutritious food resulted in recurrent illness and when his parents eventually brought him to the district hospital with a high fever and breathing difficulties, he was diagnosed as having pneumonia and severe acute malnutrition.

A vicious cycle

Malnutrition is a serious threat to child survival and development. However, many parents in Kon Tum only seek medical advice when their children experience a critical health situation.

“My son has been small ever since he was born and I thought it was normal,” said A-Thau’s father. “I thought he would eventually start to grow like my other children. I didn’t know that you could die from malnutrition.”

Children with acute malnutrition have lowered resistance to infection and are also more likely to die from other common childhood ailments like diarrhoeal diseases and respiratory infections. Poor convalescence with frequent illness saps the nutritional status of those who survive, locking them into a vicious cycle of recurring sickness, faltering growth and stunting.

While being cured from pneumonia, A-Thau was transferred to the children’s ward to be treated for acute malnutrition, where he was given therapeutic milk, also known as F75 and F100. After significant weight gain and improvement to his health, he was released from the hospital after two weeks. Provided with locally produced ready-to-use therapeutic food, known as HEBI, A-Thau continued his treatment at home for a full week and is now on the road to a full recovery.

Management and prevention

A-Thau is among the first beneficiaries of UNICEF-supported Integrated Management of Acute Malnutrition Programme in Viet Nam, which aims to reach more children with acute malnutrition through a combination of management at both health facilities and in the community. UNICEF helps to strengthen the health facilities in addressing acute malnutrition by training health staff on detection, as well as monitoring and treatment.

At the community level, the programme focuses on prevention as well as identifying and addressing acute malnutrition before symptoms require in-patient treatment. Health workers also organize cooking demonstrations to show caregivers how to make nutritious food for small children from locally available food. Raising awareness among the community is essential in addressing malnutrition in affected areas.   

UNICEF has also supported the Government to carry out research and development of the ready to use therapeutic food for treatment in the communities. Known as HEBI in Viet Nam, the therapeutic food is soft, palatable and easy for children to eat without any preparation.

“New global evidence suggests that large numbers of children with acute malnutrition can be treated in their communities and the availability of ready-to-use therapeutic food is very important for the out-patient treatment,” said Roger Mathisen, UNICEF Nutrition Specialist “By supporting Viet Nam to produce their own ready-to-use therapeutic food, we hope to ensure supply security and enhance the sustainability of the programme.”

The way forward

Malnutrition reduction remains a major priority in the public health agenda of Viet Nam. The programme is expected to support the Government of Viet Nam in developing local capacity and systems for Integrated Management of Acute Malnutrition. After the pilot period, the programme is expected to be scaled up at national level and its services and products for detection, treatment and follow up of acute malnutrition to be included in the National Social Health Insurance and other similar health financing mechanisms.


 

 

New enhanced search