乌兹别克斯坦

对乌兹别克斯坦的儿童进行灾难发生时的逃生训练

罗伯.麦克布莱德 (Rob McBride) 报道

乌兹别克斯坦塔什干,2011 年 11 月 2 日——在乌兹别克斯坦塔什干地区的基坶约加夏令营,一位护士正在给一名男孩的胳膊缠绷带。男孩因疼痛而表情痛苦。在他们周围,一群孩子一边凝神观看,一边倾听护士讲解如何治疗他的伤口。

联合国儿童基金会通讯员罗伯.麦克布莱德报道了帮助儿童防范和应对灾难的项目。 在Realplayer中播放
从观众们脸上的微笑可以看出,“病人”的痛苦表情是装出来的——他的表情非常逼真。尽管如此,孩子们却从中学到了未来某一天也许用得上的紧急救护方法。

这种急救演示是“降低灾难风险”(DRR) 培训项目的组成部分。该培训包含一系列如何应对自然灾难及其它紧急情况的演习和课程。为了确保学生的学习效果,每个课程都有学生参与:如演习地震来临时如何撤离集体宿舍、如何正确佩戴口罩等。

“我们撤离到外面以后,聚集在指定区域,这样他们才能确保我们全部合格完成演习。”在刚刚参加了这个为期两周的夏令营的一次逃生演习后,11 岁的绕山.卡西莫夫解释说。除了地震逃生的演习,绕山还参加了应对洪水的演习,并学习了当发生小火灾时,如何一边呼救一边灭火的课程。
UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
在乌兹别克斯坦的一个营地里,儿童们在学习防灾的基本知识。该项目是由联合国儿童基金会和欧盟委员会支持的。

至关重要的培训

对于乌兹别克斯坦的儿童来说,进行此类应对紧急状况的培训非常必要。1966 年发生的强烈地震几乎将首度塔什干夷为平地。今年七月在费尔干纳盆地发生的、超过里氏六级的强震夺走了13人的生命。全球气候的变化预计也会对极端天气事件发生的严重程度和频率有所影响。

为了确保孩子们在发生此类事件时能够保护自己,俄罗斯紧急事件部、欧洲人道援助办事处 (ECHO) 和联合国儿童基金会支持在整个教育系统范围内进行降低灾难风险 (DRR) 培训。

迄今为止,已有5千名教师和35万学生参加了培训。所有人都认为这个项目行之有效,可以持续进行。

“让人令人印象深刻的是,政府也很支持这个项目并积极参与进来。”联合国儿童基金会社会政策和经济专员琳达.萨图尔诺 (Linda Saturn) 说,“这个项目是由联合国儿童基金会在去年夏天发起的。今年,联合国儿童基金会仅对此工作提供了一些辅助支持。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
这一由联合国儿童基金会和欧盟委员会支持的夏令营活动,旨在帮助儿童在发生自然灾害时保护自身安全。

推动全国降低风险策略

联合国儿童基金会还提倡将 DRR 策略整合到全国的发展议程中,他们正在帮助地方政府开发行动方案,以便在发生重大灾难事件时,保护社区、农村居民点、学校和幼儿园的安全。

“联合国儿童基金会不会将干预范围仅限于学校和学生,”萨图尔诺女士说,“通过与政府合作,我们已将活动范围扩展到与社区领导一起,开展应对灾难事件的培训。”

像10岁的儿童玛蒂娜.日内瓦这样的儿童,也准备为社区尽一份微薄之力。玛蒂娜在参加基坶约加的DRR培训之前,曾经遭遇过一次小地震。现在通过培训,她已经能够更好地应对此类事件。

“那是个小地震,地震发生的整个过程中我都在睡觉,”她解释说。“地震后妈妈才告诉我当时的情况。我想现在我们已经学会如何应对大地震了。”


 

 

搜索

Uzbekistan

Disaster readiness training for the children of Uzbekistan

By Rob McBride

TASHKENT, Uzbekistan, 2 November 2011 – At the Kimyogar summer camp, in the Tashkent region of Uzbekistan, a boy winced with pain as a nurse applied a bandage to his arm. Around them, a group of children watched intently, listening as the nurse explained how to attend to his injury.

UNICEF correspondent Rob McBride reports on a programme that helps children to prepare for and cope with disasters.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

But smiles in the audience showed that this patient’s pain was just a performance, and a very good one at that. Still, the children were learning valuable skills that might someday save lives.

This first-aid demonstration was part of Disaster Risk Reduction (DRR) training, a series of drills and lessons about how to react during natural disasters and other emergency situations. To ensure maximum impact, each of the lessons contained an element of student participation, from practising dormitory evacuations during earthquake drills to learning how to properly don respirators.

“After we go outside, we gather in the area they tell us so they can make sure we are all accounted for,” explained Ravshan Kasimov, 11, after an evacuation drill at the annual two-week camp. In addition to the earthquake drill, Ravshan had also taken part in a flood drill and a lesson in how to extinguish small fires while summoning help.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Children at a camp in Uzbekistan learn the basics of disaster preparedness. The programme is supported by UNICEF and the European Commission.

Critical training

It is critical that the children of Uzbekistan be prepared for such emergencies. A powerful 1966 earthquake all but destroyed Tashkent, the capital. More recently, in July of this year, a powerful tremor measuring more than six on the Richter scale claimed 13 lives in the Fergana Valley. Global climate change is also expected to influence the severity and frequency of weather events.

To ensure children are able to protect themselves in these events, the Ministry of Emergency Situations, the European Commission Humanitarian Aid Department (ECHO) and UNICEF are supporting DRR training throughout the education system.

Thus far, over 5,000 teachers and 350,000 students have undergone training. And by all accounts, the programme appears effective and sustainable.

“What’s really most impressive is the ownership that the Government has taken of this programme,” said UNICEf Social Policy and Economic Specialist Linda Saturno. “This is a programme that was initiated by UNICEF last summer. This year, UNICEF is providing only minor support to this effort.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
UNICEF and the European Commission support summer camps in Uzbekistan showing children how to keep themselves safe during a natural disaster.

Promoting national risk-reduction strategies

UNICEF also advocates for the integration of DRR strategies into the overall national development agenda and is assisting regional governments in the development of action plans for keeping communities, rural health points, schools and kindergartens safe in an event of major disasters.

“UNICEF cannot limit our interventions only to schools and students,” said Ms. Saturno. “So in working with the Government, we have expanded our efforts to working with community leaders, in coming together in the event of a disaster.”

Children like Madina Ganieva, 10, are prepared to do their part for their communities. Madina had experienced a small earthquake before initiating DRR training at Kimyogar. Now, with training, she is better prepared for such events.

“It was a small quake and I slept through it,” she explained. “My Mum told me about it afterwards, and I think we are now prepared if a big one happens.”


 

 

New enhanced search