乌兹别克斯坦

欧盟和联合国儿童基金会支持乌兹别克斯坦的产妇和儿童健康工作

萨维塔.瓦尔德-纳克维报道

乌兹别克斯坦塔什干,2010年11月24日 – 改善产妇和儿童健康服务是乌兹别克斯坦政府的首要任务,联合国儿童基金会和欧盟也对此给予大力支持,上周欧盟代表团到该国访问,对这一问题表示了极大关注。

视频:2010年11月16日 – 联合国儿童基金会报道由欧盟发展专员安德里斯.皮耶巴尔格斯带领的欧盟代表团访问乌兹别克斯坦首都塔什干。  在Realplayer中播放

 

在塔什干,由欧盟发展专员安德里斯.皮耶巴尔格斯(Andris Piebalgs)带领的五位成员组成的代表团从地区医护专业人员得知,他们正通过目前在该国8个地区试点的创新型项目“母亲和儿童健康项目”接受资金援助。该项目的主要任务是培训和监测医护人员使用高效低成本的技术。

超过13000名医疗专业人员,包括医生、护士、助产士和医疗管理人员通过该项目接受了培训。有关促进产妇和儿童卫生保健的信息普及到试点地区约1450万人口,超过该国人口总数的一半。

乌兹别克斯坦东部纳曼干地区儿童医院的主任内科医师阿布杜马里克.拉马诺夫(Abdumalik Rahmanov)博士说:“通过接受有关儿童生存和新生儿护理方面的培训,我们确保为因今年6月吉尔吉斯斯坦暴力冲突而逃往费尔干纳山谷的难民中的35000名儿童接种疫苗并提供良好护理。”

获得医疗服务

乌兹别克斯坦若想在2015年的最后期限前实现联合国千年发展目标的第四和第五个目标——即减少儿童死亡率和改善产妇健康状况,关键是要向儿童和妇女提供有效和价廉的医疗服务。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Uzbekistan/ 2010/Irismetov
乌兹别克斯坦卫生部人员、医疗专业人员和欧盟代表团的成员,包括欧盟发展专员安德里斯.皮耶巴尔格斯(前排中),站在他两侧的是卫生部长阿德汉姆.伊卡拉莫夫教授,联合国儿童基金会驻乌兹别克斯坦代表让-米歇尔.德尔莫特和卫生部副部长阿卡米洛夫教授。

哈比博. 易卜拉欣莫娃(Habibo Ibragimova)博士在“母亲和儿童健康项目”其中一个试点地区吉扎克经营了一家儿科医疗中心。她说该项目带来的益处非常显著,因窒息而造成的新生儿死亡人数已有所下降,传染病的整体防控也取得了明显改善。随着儿童能得到更及时有效的治疗,住院时间也相应减少,为家庭和医院节省了大量资金。埃斯姆拉多夫(Eshmuradov)博士说:“这给所有人都减轻了压力。”

来自另一地区的医生科奇科尔.埃斯姆拉多夫(Kochkor Eshmuradov)博士说,他和同事起初有些犹豫,最后还是被说服来参加这个项目。

他说:“我们很多人刚开始都很怀疑,但看到对于儿童疾病所采取的综合管理方式取得了十分积极的成效,我们才清楚的认识到,我们急需新的知识和技术。我大约35年前从学校毕业,可以说自那以后,医学方面发生了很大变化。”

合作伙伴关系与公平

除了联合国儿童基金会和欧盟以外,该项目的其它合作伙伴还包括,世界卫生组织、美国国际开发署(USAID)和总部位于德国的国际发展机构德国技术合作公司(GTZ)。这些支持以及对乌兹别克斯坦贫困偏远地区的重点关注是确保成功的关键。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Uzbekistan/2010/Irismetov
产妇和儿童健康专家哈里.克里斯纳.班斯克塔博士(左)和欧盟发展专员安德里斯.皮耶巴尔格斯讨论用于向乌兹别克斯坦农村家庭介绍基本卫生保健常识的宣传材料。

联合国儿童基金会驻乌兹别克斯坦代表让-米歇尔.德尔莫特(Jean-Michel Delmotte)强调,合作伙伴关系和公平是“母亲和儿童健康项目”得以开展的两个主轴。他说:“这个合作的项目…让我们能够实行一项重点关注于难以到达的贫困社区的举措,实际上这比关注最易到达地区能取得更好的成效。”

欧盟已经同意开展该项目的第二阶段工作,项目将继续致力于促进家庭在儿童护理、营养、卫生和保健方面形成良好的习惯,并指导家庭及早发现危及儿童健康的“危险信号”。

从欧盟的立场来看,皮耶巴尔格斯先生认为乌兹别克斯坦所做的努力起了很好的带头作用。他说:“产妇和儿童健康并不是一次性政策干预就能完全改善的,还需要卫生体系的不断发展和完善。我们可以以此为榜样,推广到其它国家,尤其是农村地区,从而为我们创造出双赢的局面。”


 

 

搜索

Uzbekistan

European Union and UNICEF support maternal and child health in Uzbekistan

By Savita Varde-Naqvi

TASHKENT, Uzbekistan, 24 November 2010 – Improving maternal and child health services is a key priority for the Government of Uzbekistan, and UNICEF and European Union support is helping – as highlighted during an EU delegation’s visit to the country last week.

VIDEO: 16 November 2010 - UNICEF reports on a visit by a European Union delegation led by EU Commissioner for Development Andris Piebalgs to Uzbekistan's capital, Tashkent.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

In Tashkent, the five-member delegation, led by EU Commissioner for Development Andris Piebalgs, heard from regional health professionals who are receiving funding through the Mother and Child Health Project, an innovative programme now being piloted in eight regions of the country. Central to the project is the training and mentoring of health providers in low-cost, high-impact techniques.

More than 13,000 health professionals – including doctors, nurses, midwives and health managers – have been trained through the project. Messages promoting maternal health and child care have reached about 14.5 million people in the pilot regions, comprising more than half the country’s population.

“With the training we received in child survival and newborn care, we made sure to vaccinate and take care of 35,000 children who came into the Ferghana Valley with the refugee influx from Kyrgyzstan in June this year,” said Dr. Abdumalik Rahmanov, chief physicians at the Namangan Regional Children’s Hospital in eastern Uzbekistan.

Access to health services

Making effective and inexpensive health services accessible to children and mothers is crucial if Uzbekistan is to achieve UN Millennium Development Goals 4 and 5 – which call for reducing child mortality and improving maternal health – by the MDGs’ 2015 target date.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Uzbekistan/ 2010/Irismetov
Uzbek Ministry of Health staff and medical professionals with European Union delegation members, including EU Commissioner for Development Andris Piebalgs (front row centre), flanked by Minister of Health Prof. Adham Ikramov, UNICEF Representative in Uzbekistan Jean-Michel Delmotte and Deputy Minister of Health Prof. A Kamilov.

Dr. Habibo Ibragimova runs a paediatric centre in Jizzak, one of the Mother and Child Health Project’s pilot regions. She said the benefits of the project have been immediate. Newborn deaths due to asphyxia have gone down and overall infection control has considerably improved. With children being treated more effectively and efficiently, the length of hospital stays has also been reduced, saving families and hospitals considerable money. “It is less stressful for everyone,” said Dr. Eshmuradov.

Another doctor from the region, Dr. Kochkor Eshmuradov, noted that he and his colleagues had been won over to the project after some initial hesitation.

“A lot of us were skeptical, but after seeing positive outcomes of an integrated management approach to childhood illnesses, it became evident that we badly needed a surge of new knowledge and techniques,” he said. “I graduated some 35 years ago, and can tell you that a lot has changed in medical science since then.”

Partnership and equity

In addition to UNICEF and the EU, the project’s other partners include the World Health Organization, USAID and GTZ, an international development agency based in Germany. This support – and a focus on remote and impoverished areas of Uzbekistan – have been key to ensuring success.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Uzbekistan/2010/Irismetov
Dr. Hari Krishna Banskota, maternal and child health specialist (left) and EU Commissioner for Development Andris Piebalgs talk about outreach materials used to take primary health care to rural families in Uzbekistan.

UNICEF Representative in Uzbekistan Jean-Michel Delmotte highlighted partnership and equity as the two main axes along which the Mother and Child Health Project is built. “This joint project … enables us to implement a strategy that concentrates on the hard-to-reach and the poorest communities, making it, in fact, more cost-effective than focusing on the most accessible,” he explained.

The EU has already agreed to a second phase of the project, which will concentrate on promoting positive household practices in child care, nutrition, health and hygiene, as well as teaching families to recognize ‘danger signs’ in children’s health.

From the EU’s standpoint, Mr. Piebalgs thinks Uzbekistan’s efforts are leading the way. “Maternal and child health is not a one-time intervention. It requires an ongoing development of the health system,” he said. “We can use this example in other countries, especially in the rural areas to create a win-win situation for all.”


 

 

UNICEF-EU Partnership

New enhanced search