索马里

联合国儿童基金会与SAACID 在遭受旱灾的索马里社区推广纯母乳喂养

UNICEF Photo
© SAACID
纳瓦尔.默罕默德.努尔与一位 SAACID 工作人员参加母乳喂养咨询指导会议。

SAACID 及伊娃.吉列姆报道

索马里摩加迪沙,2011 年 12 月 9 日 – 34 岁的纳瓦尔.默罕默德.努尔 (Nawaal Mohamed Nur) 带着九个孩子,生活在摩加迪沙的辛加尼 (Shingani) 区。今年六月,她的女儿阿米拉 (Amira) 被诊断出严重营养不良,这几个月以来,她一直为此痛心。

他们被转至一个以社区为基础的治疗护理项目,该项目由索马里非政府组织和联合国儿童基金会合作伙伴 SAACID (发音与英文词 say-eed 相同,意思是在索马里“提供援助”)支持。17 个月大的小阿米拉在那里得到了药物和治疗性食物。

八月中旬,阿米拉的身体状况开始好转。但就在她身体的趋于完全康复时,她的母亲临产的日子也即将到来。

此时,一名 SAACID 婴幼儿喂养 (IYCF) 顾问夏姆斯.阿卜杜拉赫 (Shamso Abdullahi) 再一次为他们家提供了帮助。

通过咨询,努尔女士了解到,母乳喂养对于防止营养不良非常重要,可以避免她的下一个孩子也像阿米拉那样,患上营养不良。

母乳是最好的

联合国儿童基金会和世界卫生组织建议,孩子出生后,应对其进行至少六个月的纯母乳喂养。母乳可以提供新生儿健康成长所需的一切营养,而且母乳中还含有预防常见儿童疾病的重要抗体。纯母乳喂养还可防止婴儿摄取奶粉中可能混有的污水。

母乳喂养和奶粉喂养的区别非常明显:在婴儿出生后的头几个月,进行母乳喂养的婴儿成活率比非母乳喂养高至少六倍。

尽管如此,许多索马里妇女并不对她们的孩子进行纯母乳喂养,除母乳外,他们还给孩子喂驼乳、茶或水。

”在索马里,多数母亲会对孩子进行母乳喂养,至少有时如此。”努尔女士说,“但最常见的做法是,在母乳喂养的同时,也喂食婴儿奶粉。在农村地区,妇女通常在生产后几天内就开始到田间劳作,因此让母亲们遵照纯母乳喂养建议是非常困难的。”

饥荒和干旱带来严重影响

阿卜杜拉赫 (Abdullahi) 女士说,干旱和饥荒迫使许多农村妇女来到首都,而在首都,奶瓶喂养方式比较普遍,这也影响了纯母乳喂养的推广。

“许多农村妇女通常采用母乳喂养方式,有时甚至把孩子喂到一岁大,即使授乳妇女患有营养不良,也不例外。”她说,“但是当这些妇女来到摩加迪沙时,她们看到这里的妇女采用奶粉喂养,因而认为这种方式更好。于是便开始效仿。”

随着难民营中婴儿奶粉的增多,情况变得更糟。这些婴儿奶粉大部分是世界各地的人捐赠的,他们认为患有营养不良的母亲无法用母乳喂养孩子。

“虽然捐赠奶粉是出于善意,但我们完全不鼓励这种做法。”联合国儿童基金会驻索马里办事处的儿童生存与发展主任国井修 (Osamu Kunii) 医生说,“婴儿奶粉仅适用于婴儿失去母亲、母亲无法授乳或找不到奶妈的情况下。在母乳喂养能够实现的情况下,就绝不应该采用奶粉喂养。”

国井修医生进一步解释说,实际上,奶粉捐赠可能增加儿童死亡率,因为母亲们会认为婴儿奶粉更好,从而选择放弃母乳喂养。

  
改变婴儿喂养习惯,挽救更多生命
SAACID 等组织正致力于改变这种观点。在联合国儿童基金会和世界粮食计划署的支持下,SAACID 在摩加迪沙开设了15 个中心,治疗营养不良的儿童,并为孕妇和授乳妇女提供营养咨询指导和帮助。

“我们开展 IYCF 计划的目的是,”阿卜杜拉赫女士说,“解释为何母乳喂养如此重要,阐明不采用纯母乳喂养的儿童所面临的风险。

她还鼓励母亲们在婴儿出生后一小时内进行母乳喂养,以保证孩子喝到妈妈的初乳。初乳富含抗体且比常乳的蛋白质含量更高。

阿米拉在出生时就没有喝初乳,并且她接受纯母乳喂养的时间只有两个月。在向 IYCF 咨询后,阿米拉的母亲决定,不再这样对待她的下一个孩子。

之后,努尔女士生下小阿彦 (Ayan),并立即给他喂了初乳。阿彦也正在接受纯母乳喂养,而且,努尔女士也在向他社区成员推广母乳喂养。

“在了解到的知识中,有两个重要的方面令我永生难忘,”她说,“第一,即使在怀孕的时候,也可以用母乳喂养自己的孩子。第二,孩子出生后的头六个月,应该采用纯母乳喂养,不添加任何其他奶或食物。”

 

 

搜索

Somalia

UNICEF and SAACID promote exclusive breastfeeding in Somalia's drought-affected communities

UNICEF Image
© SAACID
Nawaal Mohamed Nur attends a counselling session on breastfeeding with a SAACID worker.

By SAACID and Eva Gilliam

MOGADISHU, Somalia, 9 December 2011 – Nawaal Mohamed Nur, a 34-year-old mother of nine in the Shingani District of Mogadishu, has had a harrowing several months.  In June of this year, her daughter Amira was diagnosed with acute malnutrition.

They were referred to a community-based therapeutic care programme operated by the Somali NGO and UNICEF partner SAACID (pronounced say-eed, meaning 'to help' in Somali), which provided 17-month-old Amira with medicine and therapeutic foods.

By mid-August, Amira’s body was beginning to heal. Yet as she approached her final days of recovery, her mother was approaching the final days of a pregnancy.

Once more, the family received assistance from SAACID, this time from Shamso Abdullahi, a counsellor in Infant and Young Child Feeding (IYCF) practices.

Through counselling, Ms. Nur learned about the importance of breastfeeding to protect her next child from the malnutrition that had afflicted Amira.

Breast is best

Exclusive breastfeeding for at least the first six months of life is recommended by UNICEF and the World Health Organization. Breast milk provides all the nutrients newborns need for healthy development and also provides important antibodies against common childhood illnesses. Exclusive breastfeeding also prevents babies from ingesting contaminated water that could be mixed with infant formula.

The difference between breastfeeding and formula feeding is tremendous: Breastfed children have at least a six-fold greater chance of survival in the early months than non-breastfed children.  

Still, many Somali women do not exclusively breastfeed, instead feeding their infants camel’s milk, tea or water in addition to breast milk.

“In Somalia, most mothers do breastfeed their infants,” at least some times, Ms. Nur said.  “However, the common practice is to also feed babies other infant formulas. In rural areas, women often return to strenuous work in the fields within days after giving birth, so it is especially difficult for mothers to follow recommendations regarding breastfeeding.”

Famine and drought take a toll

Ms. Abdullahi says the drought and famine have also taken a toll by driving many rural women to the capital, where bottle-feeding is common.

“Many of the women from the countryside usually do breastfeed, even up to one year, even if the lactating mother is malnourished,” she said. “But when these women come to Mogadishu, they see the women here bottle-feeding with formula, and believe it is better. Then they start changing their ways.”

Making matters worse is the abundance of infant formula in camps for the displaced, much of it donated by people around the world who believe malnourished mothers are unable to breastfeed. 

“While this is well-meaning, we strongly discourage this,” said Dr. Osamu Kunii, Chief of Child Survival and Development in the UNICEF Somalia office.  “Infant formula should only be used in extenuating circumstances where infants have lost their mothers, or the mother cannot produce milk and no wet-nurse can be found. It should never be used if breastfeeding is an option.”

Dr. Kunii went on to explain that the donations can actually increase child mortality, as mothers may choose to forgo breastfeeding in the belief that infant formula is better.
  
Changing habits to save lives

But programmes like SAACID are helping to change this perception. Supported by UNICEF and the World Food Programme, SAACID operates 15 centres across Mogadishu, treating malnourished children and providing nutrition counselling and assistance to pregnant and lactating women.

“What we do in the IYCF programme,” said Ms. Abdullahi, “is explain why breastfeeding is so important, as well as explain the risks to the child if breastfeeding is not exclusive.”

She also encourages mothers to initiate breastfeeding within one hour of birth to ensure infants receive their mother’s first milk, known as colostrum, which is antibody-rich and higher in protein than ordinary milk. 

Amira did not receive colostrum when she was born, and she was exclusively breastfed for only two months. After the IYCF counselling, Amira’s mother made other plans for her next child.

Ms. Nur has since given birth to baby Ayan, whom she fed colostrum immediately after giving birth. Ayan is also being exclusively breastfed, and Ms. Nur is helping to promote breastfeeding to other community members.

“There are two important things that I have learned that I will not forget for the rest of my life,” she said. “The first thing is that you can feed your baby with breast milk even during pregnancy. The other thing is that you should feed your baby with breast milk for the first six months without any other milk or food.”


 

 

New enhanced search