尼日尔

在尼日尔和马里扩大综合社区案例管理规模

马克.杨报道

尼日尔马达龙法(MADAROUNFA)、马里基塔(KITA),2012年4月18日 —— 腹泻、肺炎和疟疾是导致全球儿童死亡的主要原因,占儿童死因的40%以上。在撒哈拉以南的一些非洲国家,这一比例更高。如在尼日尔和马里,5岁以下死亡的儿童中,由腹泻、肺炎和疟疾导致的占60%;约三分之一的儿童因营养不良而早逝。

视频:联合国儿童基金会报道在尼日尔通过培训社区医疗工作者的项目为最难到达的地区提供拯救生命的健康服务。马克尔.卡鲁克指导、摄影;尼古拉斯.奥利芬特及迈克尔.克鲁克撰写。www.michaelcrook.com 在Realplayer中播放

一直以来,降低儿童死亡率的主要障碍之一是因上述原因病倒的儿童无法获得及时的治疗。

因此,联合国儿童基金会与加拿大国际开发署(CIDA)在一个名为“推动百万生命拯救计划(Catalytic Initiative to Save a Million Lives)”的合作关系下,支持综合社区案例管理(ICCM)项目对腹泻、疟疾、肺炎和急性营养不良的治疗。

这种以社区为基础的策略要求聘用受过培训的当地社区医疗工作者,在医疗设施匮乏的地区,为最需要的儿童提供拯救生命的医疗服务。

将公平付诸于行动

“综合社区案例管理(ICCM)项目将公平战略付诸行动,惠及最贫困和最弱势的群体,”联合国儿童基金会驻尼日尔的儿童生存官员卡勒德.本赛德(Khaled Bensaid)说。在偏远地区,推广像ICCM这样卓有成效的儿童拯救策略,使5岁以下儿童的死亡率自2005年以来降低了34%。 

联合国儿童基金会驻马里代表马塞尔.路达幸瓦(Marcel Rudasingwa)说:“对于约41%的马里人而言,最近的医疗设施至少离其居住地5公里远。因此,该国大部分的人口无法获得基础医疗服务。为了帮助这些人(最贫穷和最脆弱的群体之一),有必要将这一战略落实到社区,为其提供基本的医疗服务。”

视频:联合国儿童基金会报道在尼日尔通过培训社区医疗工作者的项目为最难到达的地区提供拯救生命的健康服务。马克尔.卡鲁克指导、摄影;尼古拉斯.奥利芬特及迈克尔.克鲁克撰写。www.michaelcrook.com 在Realplayer中播放

自2011年以来,联合国儿童基金会和加拿大国际开发署还支持了ICCM为马里的2000名社区健康工作者进行的培训项目。通过在农村和贫困社区部署这些健康新标兵,马里有望显著降低该国的儿童死亡率。  
 
降低社区的脆弱性

联合国儿童基金会也正在通过ICCM策略,应对萨赫勒地区不断蔓延的人道主义危机。由于干旱、歉收、粮食价格上涨及冲突的影响,该地区上百万名5岁以下的儿童面临致命的营养不良的风险。

ICCM正被用于加强医疗系统、建立社区抗灾能力、提高政府、服务提供者及社区领袖的工作能力以减轻危机的影响并管理潜在的健康风险。

联合国儿童基金会通过增加救生服务的渠道,增强了社区在面临紧急事件时的应对能力。并通过宣传纯母乳喂养、肥皂洗手、适当求助等家庭行为规范,帮助个人和社区培养应对能力,以求在根本上消除导致营养不良及儿童死亡的原因。


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Niger

Scaling-up Integrated Community Case Management in Niger and Mali

By Mark Young

MADAROUNFA, Niger, and KITA, Mali, 18 April 2012 – Globally, diarrhoea, pneumonia and malaria are the main killers of children, accounting for more than 40 per cent of child deaths. And in certain countries of sub-Saharan Africa, these diseases kill an even greater proportion of children. In Niger and Mali for example, diarrhoea, pneumonia and malaria cause 60 per cent of deaths among children under age 5, and malnutrition is an underlying cause in one third of child deaths.

VIDEO: UNICEF reports on a programme to train community health workers to provide life-saving services in the hardest-to-reach places in Niger. Directed and photographed by Michael Crook; written by Michael Crook and Nicholas Oliphant. www.michaelcrook.com  Watch in RealPlayer

 

And access to treatment for these illnesses has been a major barrier to reducing child mortality.

This is why UNICEF and the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA), through a partnership known as the Catalytic Initiative to Save a Million Lives, have supported Integrated Community Case Management (ICCM) of diarrhoea, malaria, pneumonia and acute malnutrition.

This community-based strategy uses trained, supervised community health workers living in areas without access to medical facilities to deliver life-saving health services to the children who need them the most.

Equity in practice

“ICCM is a direct translation of the equity strategy into practice…reaching out to the poorest…the most disinherited,” said Khaled Bensaid, Chief of Child Survival at UNICEF Niger. Scaling-up effective child survival strategies like ICCM in remote areas has contributed to a 34 per cent decrease in the under-5 mortality rate since 2005.

Marcel Rudasingwa, UNICEF Representative in Mali, said, “Today, we estimate that 41 per cent of the Malian population lives more than 5 km away from a primary health care facility. For this reason, a great proportion of the population of this country does not have access to basic health services. In order to reach this population, which is among the poorest and most vulnerable, it was necessary to put into place this strategy based on essential curative services at the community level.”

UNICEF reports on a programme to train community health workers to provide life-saving services in the hardest-to-reach places in Mali. Directed and photographed by Michael Crook; written by Michael Crook and Nicholas Oliphant. www.michaelcrook.com  Watch in RealPlayer

 

UNICEF and CIDA have also supported ICCM training for 2,000 community health workers in Mali since 2011. With this new cadre of health workers deployed in the most rural and deprived communities, Mali is poised to significantly reduce the number of children who die there every year. 
 
Reducing communities’ vulnerabilities

UNICEF is also using the ICCM approach to address the unfolding humanitarian crisis in the Sahel region, where drought, poor harvests, rising food prices and conflict have left a million children under age 5 at risk of deadly malnutrition.

ICCM is being used to strengthen health systems, build the resilience of communities, and improve capacity of governments, service providers and community leaders to mitigate the effects of the crisis and manage health risks.

By increasing access to life-saving services, UNICEF is making communities less vulnerable in the face of these kinds of emergencies. And by promoting key family practices such as exclusive breastfeeding, hand-washing with soap, and appropriate care-seeking behaviour, UNICEF is helping build the capacity of individuals and communities to address the underlying causes of malnutrition and child mortality.


 

 

Review of Systematic Challenges to the Scale-up of Integrated Community Case Management

New enhanced search