尼日尔

哈毕巴的故事:早婚给尼日尔年轻女性造成的悲剧

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
17岁的哈毕巴住在尼日尔南部提比里的一个小村子里。 她还未满14岁时就结婚了,现在因为患有阴道瘘,过着与世隔绝的日子。

萨宾.德兰报道

2007年5月29日,尼日尔马拉迪- 今年17岁的哈毕巴住在尼日尔南部替比利地区的一个小村庄。 她三年前结婚,此后就一直生活在由早婚导致的悲剧中。

哈毕巴说:“我刚14岁的时候,就嫁人了。 当时,我还挺健康的。 婚后一年,我怀孕了。 我生孩子的时候生了两天都生不出来,就被送到地区医院,在那里做了剖腹产。 我就是这么得了阴道瘘。”

拙劣的剖腹产手术穿透了她的小子宫,使得尿和排泄物不断地流入阴道 - 这种状况被称为阴道瘘。 哈毕巴的阴道瘘导致她长期小便失禁和疼痛。 她的孩子出生后几小时就夭折了。

但是哈毕巴的苦难没有到此结束。 在她的痛苦分娩过后,她的丈夫离开了她,全村人也都排斥她。 现在她同母亲住在一起。 她觉得自己被抛弃、被侮辱,从此足不出户,甚至都不出去打水。

早婚率最高

哈毕巴的母亲栽娜博.玛哈曼今年45岁。 她说她女儿夜里有时会因疼痛惊醒。 哈毕巴要花很长时间冲洗自己,以缓解疼痛,给身体降温,并使自己不散发异味。

这种情况在尼日尔并不少见, 该国具有世界最高的早婚率,妇女一生的平均生育七个孩子。 半数以上的女孩在15岁以前结婚,并且多数人在婚后两年之内就有孩子了。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF video
14岁的苏巴已经订婚,但是她父亲在参加过村里关于早婚危害的宣传活动后,决定推迟婚礼。

不幸的是,这么早开始怀孕的年轻女孩很容易有患阴道瘘的风险。

联合国儿童基金会正在与尼日尔政府及具影响力的首领和宗教领袖共同努力,希望将女性适婚的最低年龄提高到18岁,并帮助她们获得保健和教育的机会。 后者尤其重要,因为早婚是女孩受教育的主要障碍。 多数女孩一旦结婚,就会辍学。

村里的宣传活动

14岁的苏巴就住在离哈毕巴几小时路程的地方。

苏巴已经订了婚,但是她的母亲说,她父亲在出席了村里关于早婚危害的宣传活动以及听到哈毕巴的故事后,决定推迟婚礼。

苏巴47岁的母亲哈蒂撒.塞都,也是年龄很小时就结婚,并生了七个孩子。 她说她一直反对她的女儿早婚。

她说:“我强烈反对早婚,我自己的一个姐妹就是因为婚后小小年纪便怀孕,结果由于孕期不适而造成终生残疾。”

苏巴说她父亲最终改变了主意,她一下如释重负。 “能逃过结婚,我特别高兴和感动。 我邻居的情况及她婚姻的不幸说明了一切。 上帝拯救了我!”

“我的梦想是能康复”

对哈毕巴来说,她的梦想是重新开始正常的生活。

她说:“我的梦想是能够康复。 我不和任何人接触,因为他们讨厌我的味道。 所以我的梦想是被治愈。”

联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴 - 包括非政府组织团结会和联合国人口基金会 -为像哈毕巴一样的女孩提供手术帮助,同时,联合国儿童基金会还帮助她们重新融入社区生活。

哈毕巴被安排在未来的几个月内做修复手术。现在,她的母亲正在为她祈祷。


 

 

视频(英文)

2007年5月:
联合国儿童基金会通讯员萨宾.德兰报道哈毕巴自14岁生孩子得了阴道瘘之后,就一直过着与世隔绝的生活。

 视频  高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

相关链接

搜索

At a glance: Niger

Habiba’s story: Early marriage leads to tragedy for a young woman in Niger

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Habiba, 17, who lives in a small village in southern Niger, was married when she was barely 14 and today lives in social isolation with fistula.

By Sabine Dolan

MARADI, Niger, 29 May 2007 – Habiba, now 17, lives in a small village in southern Niger’s Tibiri region. Married three years ago, she has since endured a tragedy that illustrates some of the worst perils of early marriage.

“I was given in marriage when I turned 14,” says Habiba. “At that time I was healthy. I became pregnant one year after the marriage. I was in labour for two days and was transferred to a regional hospital where I had a caesarean. That’s when I suffered a fistula.”

A botched caesarean ripped her small uterus, allowing leakage of urine and faeces into the vagina – a condition known as fistula. Habiba’s fistula left her with chronic incontinence and pain. She lost her baby hours after he was born.

But Habiba’s ordeal didn’t stop here. After the disastrous delivery, her husband left her and the village rejected her. Today she lives alone with her mother. Ostracized and humiliated, she no longer ventures outside her house, not even to get water.

Highest incidence of early marriage

Habiba’s mother, Zeinabou Mahaman, 45, explains that her daughter sometimes wakes up from the pain in the middle of the night. She says Habiba has to spend a lot of time washing herself to soothe the pain, cool her off from the intense heat and  make sure she doesn’t smell.

This fate is not unusual in Niger, which has the world’s highest incidence of early marriage and where, on average, women bear seven children each. By 15, half of all girls are married, and most begin having children within two years.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF video
Soueba, 14, was promised to a prospective husband but her father delayed the wedding after attending a village awareness campaign about the dangers of early marriage.

Unfortunately, young women who become pregnant this early are especially at risk of fistula.

UNICEF has been working with the Government of Niger, as well as influential traditional chiefs and religious leaders, to raise the minimum marriage age for girls to 18 and to support their access to health care and education. This latter point is critical because early marriage is one of the main obstacles to a girl’s education. Once married, most girls drop out of school.

Village awareness campaign

Just a few houses away from Habiba lives Soueba, 14.

Soueba was promised into marriage but, her mother explains, the girl’s father delayed the wedding after attending a village awareness campaign about the dangers of early marriage and then hearing about Habiba’s fistula.

Hadiza Saidou, 47, Soueba’s mother, married young and gave birth to seven children. She says she was always against her daughter’s early marriage.

“I strongly opposed it,” she explains. “One of my own sisters became handicapped for life soon after her wedding as a result of a difficult pregnancy at a young age.”

Soueba says she was relieved when her father finally changed his mind. “I’m really happy and moved to have escaped from my marriage. My neighbour’s situation and the horrible consequences of her wedding speak for themselves. God saved me!”

‘My dream is to be cured’

For her part, Habiba dreams of resuming a normal life.

“My dream is to heal,” she says. “I no longer have any contacts with anybody because they show their disgust with my smell. That’s why my dream is to be cured.”

UNICEF and its partners – including the non-governmental organization Solidarité and the United Nations Population Fund – support surgical interventions for girls like Habiba, while UNICEF also helps them reintegrate into their communities.

For now, her mother prays for Habiba, who is scheduled to have restorative surgery in the coming months.


 

 

Video

May 2007:
UNICEF correspondent Sabine Dolan reports on Habiba, who lives in social isolation with fistula after giving birth at 14 in Niger.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search