尼泊尔

在尼泊尔农村,新建的分娩中心使怀孕和分娩更有安全保障

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Nepal/2010/UKhadka
尼泊尔的胡姆拉村,21岁的卡利.布哈拉(右),和刚出生的儿子及其母亲在一起,婴儿是在一个联合国儿童基金会支持的新分娩中心出生的。

阿萨马.什雷斯塔.巴斯内特报道

2010年5月25日,尼泊尔胡姆拉 - 位于尼泊尔山区西北部的胡姆拉地区,是地球上最偏远的地方之一。偏僻而荒凉的独特地理环境使这片土地显得格外美丽,但也使当地的居民生活困难。他们没有足够的食物、缺乏教育和卫生设施、并经常因此而遭受生活中种种艰难困苦。

但在胡姆拉,遭到最大风险的一个群体的生活正逐步改善:即孕产妇和新母亲们。感谢联合国儿童基金会对孕产妇保健方案的支持,胡姆拉偏远村庄中那些过去在分娩时没有基本医疗保健的妇女们,现在有了新的选择,她们面临的风险也少了许多。

使分娩更加安全

胡姆拉最大的城市锡米科特,只能步行或乘小型飞机到达。距离锡米科特步行约五小时的特合村,只能通过山坡上一条狭窄陡峭的羊肠小道前行。村里的生活很艰苦。饥饿、营养不良及恶劣的卫生条件是这里的日常问题。

尽管风险很大,但特合的妇女们祖祖辈辈都在家中分娩。自联合国儿童基金会去年在村里建立了现代分娩中心后,如今,越来越多的孕产妇女前往中心分娩。

21岁的卡利.布哈拉,像许多特合妇女那样在家中生了第一个孩子。“是我婆婆和家中其他妇女帮助了我,”她回忆道。“产前的阵痛非常厉害,持续了约两天的时间。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Nepal/2010/UKhadka
尼泊尔胡姆拉:卡利.布哈拉(右)和她刚出生的儿子、她的大孩子(中)和其他家庭成员坐在一起。

一束希望之光

然而,布哈拉女士来到新的分娩中心,生了第二个孩子。分娩在技术熟练的接生员和一名女性社区卫生志愿者的辅助下完成,她们得到过专门的培训,使接生更安全,并提供产前和产后护理。

“产前阵痛开始不久,我就被送往医疗中心,在那里我得到了很好的护理,”布哈拉女士说道。“在分娩中心生孩子更卫生也更方便。”

在家中接生的习俗由来已久,是该国文化和传统中根深蒂固的东西。尼泊尔只有大约19%的分娩由技术熟练的接生员辅助。而最近的研究表明,在胡姆拉地区,得到辅助的分娩率少于全国平均值,仅有不到9%的妇女分娩时由熟练的接生员辅助。

为了打破不安全分娩的习惯,联合国儿童基金会在胡姆拉支持了12个分娩中心的成立,并提供培训七名技术熟练的接生员。此外,“产前准备”的训练也提供给当地所有社区宣传员、女性卫生志愿者、村辅导员等,帮助他们在社区宣传了解孕产和新生儿关键健康问题。

成功分娩

自分娩中心的成立,特合村所有的分娩都在那儿进行,一位熟练的接生员萨比.塔布达说道。到目前为止,该中心已辅助了40多次分娩。

尼泊尔政府还协助为来自偏远地区的新母亲们提供资金,当她们在分娩中心安全分娩后,为她们回家支付路费。

提及在特合的中心,布达女士说“我们提供24小时服务”。“我们这里基本设施齐全,能够治疗分娩期间可能出现的多种并发症。”


 

 

搜索

Nepal

In rural Nepal, new birthing centres make pregnancy and childbirth safer

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Nepal/2010/UKhadka
Kali Bohara (right), 21, with her newborn son and her mother in their village in Humla, Nepal, where the baby was born in a new UNICEF-supported birthing centre.

By Ashma Shrestha Basnet

HUMLA, Nepal, 25 May 2010 – Humla district, in Nepal’s mountainous north-west, is one of the most remote places on the planet. This is a land whose severity makes it beautiful, but also difficult for the people who live here. They face limited access to food, education and health facilities, and frequently suffer hardships as a result.

But life is slowly improving for one of the most at-risk groups in Humla: pregnant women and new mothers. Thanks to a UNICEF-supported maternal health programme, women giving birth in Humla’s remote villages – who were once stranded without access to essential medical care – now have new options and facer fewer risks.

Making birth safer

Simikot, the largest city in Humla, can be reached only on foot or by small plane. Situated about a five-hour walk from Simikot is Thehe village, accessible only via a narrow foot trail atop the steep hills. Life in the village is challenging. Hunger, malnutrition and poor sanitation are daily problems here.

Despite significant risks, women in Thehe have been delivering children at home for generations. Today, more and more pregnant women are delivering in a modern birthing centre established by UNICEF in the village last year.

Kali Bohara, 21, is one among the many women in Thehe who delivered her first baby at home. “I was assisted by my mother-in-law and other female members of the family,” she recalled. “The labour pain I went through was intense and went on for two days.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Nepal/2010/UKhadka
In Humla, Nepal, Kali Bohara (right) sits with her newborn son, her elder child (centre) and other family members.

A ray of hope

To deliver her second child, however, Ms. Bohara went to the new health centre. The delivery was assisted by a skilled birth attendant and a female community health volunteer – both trained to make delivery safer and to offer ante- and post-natal care.

“I was rushed to the health centre soon after the labour pains started, and I was well looked-after,” said Ms. Bohara. “It is much cleaner and easier to deliver a baby at the birthing centre.”

Delivering at home is deeply rooted in the country’s culture and tradition. Only about 19 percent of births in Nepal are attended by skilled birth attendants. And recent studies show that in Humla district, the number of assisted births is less than half of the national average, with fewer than 9 per cent of women delivering with a skilled attendant.

To break the pattern of unsafe deliveries, UNICEF has supported the establishment of 12 birthing centres in Humla and provided training to seven skilled birth attendants. In addition, ‘birth preparedness’ training has also been provided to all community mobilizers, female health volunteers and village facilitators in the district, to help them create awareness in the community on critical maternal and newborn health issues.

Successful deliveries

Since the birthing centre was established, all deliveries in Thehe village have taken place there, said Sabita Buda, a skilled birth attendant. So far, there have been more than 40 deliveries at the centre.

The Government of Nepal is also assisting the effort by providing funds to cover the transportation costs of new mothers as they return home to remote regions, having delivered their babies safely at a birthing centre.

“We provide a 24-hour service,” said Ms. Buda, referring to the centre in Thehe. “We have all the basic facilities available here and are able to treat many of the complications that may arise during delivery.”


 

 

New enhanced search