老挝人民民主共和国

老挝儿童举办洗手活动庆祝世界洗手日

谢恩.鲍威尔 (Shane Powell) 报道

老挝人民民主共和国万象,2011 年 10 月 25 日 —— 站成几排的孩子们,在拥挤的院子里一边有节奏地用肥皂搓洗双手,一边背诵正确洗手的步骤。这项充满欢声笑语的活动是第四届世界洗手日为期一天的庆祝活动的一部分。

联合国儿童基金会记者雷切尔.奥布莱恩 (Rachel O’Brien) 报道在老挝人民民主共和国首都万象进行的世界洗手日庆祝活动。 在Realplayer中播放
超过 2000 名儿童参加了 10 月 15 日的活动 —— 该活动旨在强调洗手和清洁对于预防疾病的重要性。本年的主题是“不只是一天”,强调了洗手这项普通、但却能挽救生命的日常活动的重要性。

简单却能挽救生命

腹泻和急性呼吸道感染是五岁以下儿童主要死亡病因。然而,专家称用肥皂洗手能消除约 50% 的腹泻和 25% 的呼吸道感染机会。这是一项简单易行、能够拯救全世界数百万生命的干预行动——但却没有得到应有的重视和足够的实践。

“腹泻和急性呼吸道感染每年导致数千名五岁以下儿童死亡,”联合国儿童基金会驻老挝人民民主共和国代表蒂姆.沙福特 (Tim Schaffter) 指出,“我们不得不加大工作力度以确保老挝全国的儿童能获取(正确洗手的)相关信息和资源。”

这些可预防的疾病同样影响着儿童的教育。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Lao PDR/2011/Hodgson
一名女孩在万象参加世界洗手日的洗手活动。
“疾病是儿童缺课或辍学的主要原因之一,”老挝教育和体育部副部长里图.步瓦普 (Lytou Bouapao) 指出,“但许多这些疾病通过日常洗手这样简单的动作就能预防。”

向全世界宣传

万象的孩子们笑着弯下腰,在一桶桶清水里冲洗双手。就在附近,其他孩子们正在参加洗手比赛,欢呼声和掌声不绝于耳。也有孩子在一旁围绕“清洁”这一主题唱歌、画画。

全世界 100 多个国家有超过 2 亿人参加了类似的庆祝活动,这些活动旨在教育儿童和成年人在关键时刻——如上厕所之后和接触食物之前用肥皂和清水洗手的重要性。

关于正确洗手习惯的信息也在老挝的数千所学校传播,帮助全国的学生确保他们的健康和未来。


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Lao People's Democratic Republic

Lao lathers up for Global Handwashing Day

By Shane Powell

VIENTIANE, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, 25 October 2011 – In a crowded courtyard, rows of children lather their hands, scrubbing in unison and reciting the steps to proper handwashing. The activity, punctuated by peals of laughter, is part of a day-long event celebrating the fourth annual Global Handwashing Day.

UNICEF correspondent Rachel O’Brien reports on the Global Handwashing Day celebrations in Vientiane, Lao PDR.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

Over 2,000 children took part in the 15 October event, which centred on the importance of handwashing and cleanliness to prevent disease. This year’s theme, ‘more than just a day’, emphasizes the importance of handwashing as a routine, everyday – yet life-saving – practice.

Simple and life-saving

Diarrhoeal disease and acute respiratory infections are leading causes of death among children under age five. But, experts say, handwashing with soap can cut diarrhoea by almost 50 per cent and respiratory infections by nearly 25 per cent. It is a simple, affordable intervention that can save millions of lives around the world – but it is not practiced regularly enough.

“Each year diarrhoeal diseases and acute respiratory infections are responsible for the deaths of thousands of children under the age of five,” said Tim Schaffter, UNICEF Representative in Lao PDR. “We have to increase our efforts to ensure the messages and resources are widely available to children throughout the country.”

Preventable diseases also jeopardize children’s educations.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Lao PDR/2011/Hodgson
A girl in Vientiane takes part in handwashing activities during Global Handwashing Day.

“Illnesses are one of the main reasons that children either miss classes or drop out of school,” said Deputy Minister of Education and Sports Lytou Bouapao. “But many of these illnesses are preventable by the simple act of routine handwashing.”

Spreading the world

The children in Vientiane giggle as they bend to rinse their hands in buckets of clean water. Nearby, other children take part in a handwashing competition, encouraged by the clapping and cheers of their friends. Still others draw pictures or sing songs about cleanliness.

They are among more than 200 million people involved in similar celebrations in over 100 countries around the world, all of it teaching children and adults alike the importance of washing with soap and water at critical times – such as after using the toilet and before handling food.

Messages about proper handwashing habits were also spread through thousands of Lao schools, helping students around the country safeguard their health and futures.


 

 

New enhanced search