印度

在印度,一个社区致力于改变环境卫生和个人卫生习惯

阿图.库马尔(Atul Kumar)报道

印度北方邦米尔扎布尔(MIRZAPUR),2012年9月4日 —— 在拉拉布尔(Lalapur),11岁的沙尔达(Sharda)和6个朋友敲着鼓、喊着口号,穿梭于村子里的各条小巷。他们要传递的信息是:在北方邦的这个偏僻村庄杜绝露天排便现象。

联合国儿童基金会通讯员阿图.库马尔报道印度北方邦城镇米尔扎布尔开展应对露天排便的运动。 在Realplayer中播放

其中的一个口号大意是“养成良好的个人卫生习惯,远离疾病”。另一句口号则是“女孩和母亲别去田野(排便),让我们(修建厕所)维护她们的尊严”。

从小开始培养良好的习惯

拉拉布尔是位于印度北部省份北方邦东部的一个村庄,约有760名村民。该省有约2亿居民,大部分人属于被社会排斥的边缘群体。近期的一份政府调查显示:在北方邦,拥有厕所的家庭不到36%,这就意味着该省约有1.3亿人口必须露天排便。

沙尔达和朋友们念的学校是一所由当地政府开办的小学,校方认为,教育学生从小养成良好的环境和个人卫生习惯非常重要。校园中的学前教育中心有一个适于儿童使用的厕所,通风门的高度与眼睛高度持平。在那里,最年幼的儿童学习感受使用厕所带来的舒适感与安全感。各年龄段的儿童都已经知道使用肥皂洗手非常重要。之后,他们回家后让家里修建厕所,教家人用肥皂洗手。

“几百年来,这个地区的人们一直露天排便。但是,由于儿童们开始在学校里使用厕所,这种现象正在逐渐改变。我希望,人们今后能够改掉露天排便的习惯。”拉拉布尔小学校长拉姆.纳拉扬.莫尔亚(Ram Narayan Maurya)说。

北方邦兴起改变之风

拉拉布尔的改变源自社区成员本身。村民们要求使用厕所,然后他们修建厕所 —— 现在他们监督大家使用厕所。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF India/2012/Madhok
在北方邦,一个小女孩在当地政府开办的小学里读书。学校已经开始教育儿童在生活中养成良好的卫生习惯。

推动这一切改变的人正是村长瑞诗凯诗.辛格(Rishikesh Singh)。他从动员妇女和儿童、并保持与她们交流的过程中发现,人们对于改变环境和个人卫生习惯表示欢迎。“现在,拉拉布尔的每户家庭都有厕所,并且都在使用。”这位45岁的村长说。

辛格先生向我们讲述了拉拉布尔生活的苦涩现状:“生活在这个小村庄的人们属于被社会排斥的群体。有时,其他人甚至不允许他们在自家田地里排便。但是,随着耕地不断减少,他们还能去哪里呢?对于他们来说,在家里修建厕所并切实使用是非常重要的。”

辛格先生向我们解释说,在露天排便的日子里,村民们面临许多障碍。女人只能在天亮前去田地里方便,别无选择,因为她们必须赶在男人醒来前。她们还要担心受到蛇蝎及其他昆虫的叮咬。

50岁的拉杰旺提.戴维(Rajwanti Devi)腿脚不便。回想起过去,她告诉我们她对走很远的路去方便是何等的恐惧。现在家里有了厕所,她再也不用经历这个艰难的过程,可以随心所欲地上厕所了。

其他村庄效仿的榜样

“在北方邦,露天排便问题非常严重,对于儿童健康和环境有着恶劣的影响。”联合国儿童基金会驻北方邦地方办事处主任阿黛尔.胡德尔(Adele Khudr)说。她补充说:“拉拉布尔的成功是一个极好的榜样,其他村庄易于仿效。对于几百年来长期处于弱势地位的边缘群体而言,停止露天排便将重塑群体尊严。”

村民们说他们都使用家里的厕所,没有人再露天排便了。但是,据辛格先生所说,还是存在一些不愿改变习惯的人,还有一些人偶尔露天排便。“大部分人都使用家里的厕所,他们发现厕所用处很大。但是,仍有一些人露天排便,以老年人居多。”他说。

在拉拉布尔,女性不必再等到天黑才去排便。在家里上厕所,村民们感到更安全、更有尊严。

对于沙尔达而言,他和他的乐队伙伴保证在将来杜绝村庄里的露天排便现象。


 

 

搜索

India

In India, a community works to change sanitation and hygiene practices

By Atul Kumar

MIRZAPUR, Uttar Pradesh, India, 4 September 2012 - Eleven-year-old Sharda and half a dozen friends beat drums and chant slogans as they walk through the narrow lanes of Lalapur. Their message is: make the remote village in Uttar Pradesh free from open defecation.

UNICEF correspondent Atul Kumar reports from Mirzapur, Uttar Pradesh, India, on a campaign that tackles defecation in the open.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

“Adopt hygienic practices, say goodbye to diseases” is a loose translation of one of their slogans. Another is “Daughters and mothers not to go to the fields [to defecate], let us protect their dignity [by having toilets]”.

Good practices at an early age

Lalapur is a village of some 760, in the eastern part of Uttar Pradesh, a state in northern India. The state boasts almost 200 million inhabitants. The majority belong to a socially excluded and marginalized community. A recent government survey showed that less than 36 per cent of households in Uttar Pradesh had toilets, which means that about 130 million people in the state must defecate in the open.

The school that Sharda and his friends attend, a local government primary school, has decided it is critical to introduce good practices of sanitation and hygiene at an early age. The preschool centre within the school compound has a child-friendly toilet, with a ventilated door at eye level. There, the youngest children learn to feel the comfort and security of using toilets. Children of all ages are taught the importance of washing their hands with soap. In turn, they have gone home and asked their families for toilets, and for soap.

“For centuries, people of this region have been defecating in the open. But, now that the children have begun using toilets in schools, the habit is breaking. And, hopefully this will change the practice in future,” says headmaster of Lalapur Upper Primary School Ram Narayan Maurya.

Winds of change in Uttar Pradesh

Change in Lalapur has come from within the community. The villagers have asked for toilets, they have worked for them – and now they monitor their use.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF India/2012/Madhok
A young girl attends a local government primary school in Uttar Pradesh that has started introducing good practices of hygiene in the lives of young children.

A driving force behind the process of change has been village head Rishikesh Singh. He has found that, through mobilizing women and children, and maintaining continuous dialogue, people welcome the changes to sanitation and hygiene practices. “Today, every house in Lalapur has a toilet and is using it,” says the 45-year-old community leader.

Mr. Singh narrates a bitter truth about life in Lalapur: “People in this hamlet belong to a socially excluded community. There are times when other people don’t allow them to even defecate in their fields. And, with decreasing land, where do they go? It was important for them to make these toilets at home and actually use them.”

Mr. Singh explains that villagers faced many obstacles in the days of open defecation. Women had no choice but to go to the fields before dawn in order to defecate before the men had awoken. There were also concerns of snakes, scorpions and insects.

Fifty-five-year-old Rajwanti Devi has trouble walking. She recalls how she dreaded having to cross long distances to defecate. With a toilet at home, she is no longer bound to uncomfortable trips and can make use of it whenever she wants.

An example that can be replicated in other villages

“The problem of open defecation in Uttar Pradesh is of great magnitude. It has serious implications on the health of children and the environment,” says UNICEF Chief of Field Office in Uttar Pradesh Adele Khudr. She adds, “The success of Lalapur is an excellent example that can be replicated easily in other villages. Stopping open defecation will restore dignity of a community which has been disadvantaged and marginalized for centuries.”

Members of the community say that they use their toilets and that no one defecates in the open anymore. Mr. Singh reports, however, that some have been resistant to change, and that mistakes are sometimes made. “Most people use their toilets. They find it useful. However, there still are some old people who slip up and go out in the open,” he says.

In Lalapur, women no longer have to wait for the cover of darkness to defecate. Community members feel safe, secure and dignified, with access to a toilet in their own homes.

For his part, Sharda and his band have pledged to keep their village free from open defecation, into the future.


 

 

New enhanced search