免疫接种

联合国儿童基金会执行主任宣布最新全球免疫接种策略

2012年4月21-28日是首个世界免疫周。联合国儿童基金会世界各地的办事处正致力于免疫活动的开展,提高人们对疫苗接种提高儿童存活率重要性的认识。联合国儿童基金会作为全球最大的疫苗采购方,为世界上最穷困国家的儿童提供疫苗的时间已长达超过50年。

克里斯.摩恩报道

2012年4月25日,美国纽约 —— 本周,联合国儿童基金会执行主任安东尼.雷克及其他最新命名的“麻疹和风疹”倡议中的合作伙伴,一起发布了一项旨在将麻疹死亡率和风疹综合征降低至零的最新全球战略。.

2012年4月25日:在首个世界免疫周期间,联合国儿童基金会执行主任安东尼.雷克发表了一段关于免疫接种重要性的讲话。他的演讲发布的同时,联合国儿童基金会及其合作伙伴的一项最新免疫策略也同时发布,旨在将麻疹死亡和风疹综合征降低至零。 在Realplayer中播放

该演讲在首个世界免疫周期间发布。最新数据显示,在各界与日俱增的支持和努力之下,全球麻疹死亡率已降低74%,从2000年的约53.5万人降至2010年的约13.9万人。

消除麻疹和风疹

“我在儿时患过麻疹,那(经历)非常糟糕。”联合国儿童基金会执行主任安东尼.雷克说道,“但是对于1900万每年没有进行疫苗接种的孩子来说,这是可能致命。”

每天,麻疹夺去约380个儿童的生命——他们几乎都生活在贫困社区。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/NYHQ2011-1238/Modola
在肯尼亚索马里边境附近的IFO难民营,联合国儿童基金会支持的麻疹及脊髓灰质炎免疫接种运动正在开展,图为一名社区医疗人员正在为孩子接种疫苗。

雷克先生强调了免疫接种在降低麻疹死亡率至74%中的重要作用。据《柳叶刀》杂志报道,通过增加例行免疫接种范围及大规模的免疫运动,非洲在2000年至2010年期间将麻疹死亡率降低了85%,成效显著。

新策略旨在取得更多进展,在2015年以前将全球麻疹死亡率在2010年的基础上降低至少95%,在2020年以前在至少五个世界卫生组织规定的区域内完成彻底根除麻疹和风疹的计划。策略包括:提高免疫接种的覆盖率、通过实验室支持的观测技术追踪疾病传播情况;发病预测、响应及麻疹病例管理、传播及社区参与、其他研究和发展项目等。

在新策略下,63个目前没有推广风疹免疫接种的国家被鼓励使用现有的麻疹免疫接种系统将风疹免疫引入其国家免疫规划,让儿童通过一次接种预防两种疾病。

许多高收入国家已经通过麻疹、风疹疫苗或麻疹、腮腺炎及风疹疫苗提供麻疹和风疹的例行免疫接种。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF India/2011/Halle'n
在印度瓜里尔,一名当地的医疗人员正在学校里为学生接种麻疹疫苗。

进一步推广

最新数据显示2001年至2007年之间降低麻疹死亡率的成效最为显著。然而,对防治麻疹的投资和政治承诺在2008年和2009年里有所下降,导致许多儿童没有接种疫苗。在2010年里,约1900万新生儿 —— 多数在撒哈拉以南的非洲地区以及东南亚——没有得到麻疹疫苗接种,而这些疾病又死灰复燃。在非洲、东南亚、欧洲及北美都有大规模病例爆发。

这些疾病在非洲的大规模爆发、印度控制麻疹政策的推迟实现、都意味着在2010年底前将麻疹死亡率降低90%(与2000年相比)的目标没有实现。在2010年里,印度占了全球麻疹死亡病例总数的47%。

随着免疫接种新战略的发布,现今已有的免疫接种努力将持续,并进一步加大力度。

麻疹和风疹倡议在2001年创立(最初名为“麻疹倡议”),由美国红十字会、联合国基金会、美国疾病控制与预防中心、联合国儿童基金会及世界卫生组织共同领导。


 

 

搜索

Immunization

UNICEF Executive Director announces new global immunization strategy

The first-ever World Immunization Week takes place from 21-28 April 2012. UNICEF offices around the world are engaging in immunization campaigns and raising awareness about the importance of vaccines to child survival. UNICEF is the world’s largest buyer of vaccines for the world’s poorest countries, and has been supplying vaccines to children for over 50 years.

By Christian Moen

NEW YORK, USA, 25 April 2012 – This week, UNICEF Executive Director Anthony Lake, alongside partners in the newly renamed Measles and Rubella Initiative, launched a new global strategy aimed at reducing measles deaths and congenital rubella syndrome to zero.

25 April 2012: UNICEF Executive Director Anthony Lake delivers a statement on the importance of vaccination, part of the first-ever World Immunization Week. His announcement comes as UNICEF and partners launch a new immunization strategy aimed at reducing measles deaths and rubella syndrome to zero.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

The announcement coincided with the first-ever World Immunization Week, and was accompanied by new data showing that accelerated efforts have resulted in a 74 per cent reduction in global measles mortality, from an estimated 535,000 deaths in 2000 to 139,000 in 2010.

Eliminating measles and rubella

“I had measles as a child, and it was painful,” said UNICEF Executive Director Anthony Lake. “But for 19 million children who are not vaccinated every year, it can be fatal.” 

Every day, measles claims some 380 lives – almost all of them children living in poor communities. 

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/NYHQ2011-1238/Modola
A community health worker vaccinates a child during a UNICEF-supported measles and polio immunization campaign in the Ifo refugee camp near the Kenya-Somalia border.

Lake highlighted the important role that vaccines played in achieving the 74 per cent reduction in measles deaths. Through increased routine immunization coverage and large-scale immunization campaigns, Africa made the most progress with an 85 per cent drop in measles deaths between 2000 and 2010, according to a new study published in yesterday’s Lancet.

The new strategy aims to make even more progress, cutting global measles deaths by at least 95 per cent by 2015 compared with 2000 levels, and achieving measles and rubella elimination in at least five World Health Organization (WHO) regions by 2020. The strategy includes: high vaccination coverage; monitoring spread of disease using laboratory-backed surveillance; outbreak preparedness and response and measles case management; communication and community engagement; and research and development.

Under the new strategy, 63 countries currently not using rubella vaccines are encouraged to use their measles vaccination delivery system to introduce rubella vaccines into their national immunization schedule, protecting children against both diseases with one combined shot. Many high-income countries already offer routine immunization for both measles and rubella through the use of combined measles-rubella or measles-mumps-rubella vaccine.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF India/2011/Halle'n
A local health worker administers measles vaccinations at a school in Gwalior, India.

A need to intensify efforts

The new data underscores that progress in reducing measles deaths was especially strong from 2001 to 2007. However, investment and political commitment to measles control faltered in 2008 and 2009, leaving many children unimmunized. In 2010, an estimated 19 million infants – mostly in sub-Saharan Africa and South-East Asia – did not receive the measles vaccine, and the disease came roaring back, causing large outbreaks in Africa, South-East Asia, Europe and North America.

Large-scale outbreaks in Africa, combined with delayed implementation of measles control activities in India, meant that the goal of reducing measles mortality by 90 per cent by the end of 2010 (compared with 2000 levels) was not met. India accounted for about 47 per cent of global measles deaths in 2010.

Efforts will have to be intensified – and sustained – as the new immunization strategy is rolled out.

Founded originally as the Measles Initiative in 2001, the Measles and Rubella Initiative is led by the American Red Cross, the United Nations Foundation, the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), UNICEF and WHO.


 

 

New enhanced search