加纳

加纳儿童受益于联合国儿童基金会的“IWASH”项目

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Ghana/2010/Williams
加纳北部一所小学,12岁的艾哈迈德向同学们展示正确的洗手方法。

内里达.威廉姆斯报道

加纳塔马利,2010年9月8日 – 有人说,养育一个孩子,需要全村的力量。但是联合国儿童基金年会在加纳开展的洗手项目(又称“I WASH ”)向我们证明,孩子们自己同样也能将重要的事情做得很好。

该项目主要针对小学学龄儿童,目前已经取得了一定的成果,并且对全村都产生了影响。

了解有关洗手的信息

腹泻疾病仍然是导致五岁以下儿童死亡的世界第二号杀手。每年有近1/5的儿童死亡(约150万)因腹泻造成。腹泻造成的幼童死亡人数比艾滋病、疟疾和麻疹造成的死亡幼童总数还多。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Ghana/2010/Williams
来自加纳北部一所小学的学生认真看着联合国儿童基金会负责“IWASH”项目的官员向他们展示用肥皂洗手。

比数字更令人震惊的是,因腹泻而导致的死亡很容易预防。只需要通过简单而且花费也不大的治疗就可以预防儿童脱水和死亡。

六月中旬暖和的一天,我随联合国儿童基金会考察团队一起,来到加纳北部地区一个偏远农村学校的教室里。教室里坐了70多名学生,据校长说,这是学校的人数较少的班级之一。我们一进门,学生们便立即起立,用练习过的英文礼貌地向我们问好:“早上好,我们都很好。”

我们的向导是IWASH项目的地区资源协调人员伊沙.贝拉(Issah-Bello)。他问学生们有关用肥皂洗手的一些问题,学生们似乎对不用肥皂洗手可能带来的健康危害有不同的看法。虽然了解有关知识,联合国儿童基金会和欧盟也为学校提供了洗手设施,但是学生们说他们还是不经常用肥皂洗手。

预防疾病

12岁的学生艾哈迈德说:“有天晚上,我爸爸急急忙忙地回家吃饭,我告诉他,请用肥皂洗手后再吃饭,我们的老师都要求我们这么做。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Ghana/2010/Williams
来自加纳北部宾比拉市偏远农村地区的一所示范小学的一名女孩在用肥皂洗手。

艾哈迈德说,他接着赶忙跑到隔壁房间拿了肥皂给爸爸,爸爸洗了手之后才吃饭。在这种以长为尊的文化传统中,孩子们不常质疑自己的父母,但艾哈迈德向我们展示了他的勇气。

据联合国儿童基金会驻加纳办事处估计,腹泻造成了约18%的五岁以下儿童的死亡。但是如果能够使用清洁用水,并改变基本的卫生习惯,如在家里用口服补水盐(ORS)治疗腹泻、在婴儿出生后六个月内进行纯母乳喂养以及每天用肥皂洗手等,就能有效地预防死亡。

呼吁改变的大使

“IWASH”项目重点针对难以深入的社区,扩大安全用水、卫生设施的覆盖面,致力于帮助加纳实现有关安全用水、卫生以及降低儿童死亡率方面的千年发展目标。千年发展目标是世界各国共同认可的减少世界贫困的一系列目标,呼吁到2015年使无法拥有安全饮用水和基本卫生设施的人口比例减半。

参观教室过后,我们走过一块污地来到洗手池边,艾哈迈德自豪地向我们和他的70位同学展示如何用肥皂洗手。贝拉先生利用这个机会为学生上了一堂重要的课。

他说:“你们要和其他同学分享你们的知识与经历,也与父母分享知识,成为一名呼吁改变行为习惯的大使。”

 


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Ghana

Ghanaian children benefit from UNICEF 'IWASH' project

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Ghana/2010/Williams
Ahmed, 12, shows his classmates the correct way to wash their hands at a primary school in northern Ghana.

By Nerida Williams

TAMALE, Ghana, 8 September 2010 – They say it takes a village to raise a child. But children themselves are equally capable of important work, as UNICEF Ghana’s new handwashing project, known as ‘IWASH,’ is proving.

Directly targeted at children of primary school age, the programme is yielding results that are already rippling throughout entire villages.

Learning about handwashing

Worldwide, diarrhoea remains the second leading cause of death among children under the age of five. Nearly one in five child deaths – about 1.5 million each year – is due to diarrhoea. The illness kills more young children than AIDS, malaria and measles combined.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Ghana/2010/Williams
Children from a primary school in northern Ghana look on as UNICEF officers from the 'IWASH' project demonstrate handwashing with soap.

More shocking even than these staggering statistics is the fact that deaths from diarrhoea are easily preventable. Simple, inexpensive treatments exist which can help prevent a child becoming dehydrated and dying.

On a warm day in mid-June, I entered a classroom in a remote village in Ghana’s northern region with a visiting team from UNICEF. Before us sat no fewer than 70 children, which, according to the headmaster, is one of the school’s smaller classes. The children rose as we entered, politely greeting us in perfectly rehearsed English: “Good morning, we are fine.”

My guide for the day was the District Resource Coordinator for the IWASH project, Issah-Bello. He began asking the students about handwashing with soap. They seemed to have a critical understanding of the possible health effects of not washing their hands. Yet even armed with knowledge and a handwashing facility at the school – which is jointly provided by UNICEF and the European Union – students say it is not always easy to wash.

Disease prevention

“One night my father was coming [home] to eat in a hurry,” recalled one student, Ahmed, 12. “I told him, please wash your hands with soap before eating, this is what our teachers told us to do.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Ghana/2010/Williams
A young girl from the Demonstration Primary School in the remote village of Bimbila, northern Ghana, practices washing her hands with soap.

Ahmed said that he then rushed into the adjoining room to fetch some soap for his father, who proceeded to wash his hands before eating. In a culture where age is respected above all else and parents aren’t frequently questioned by their children, Ahmed displayed enormous courage.

UNICEF Ghana estimates that diarrhoea is responsible for about 18 per cent of the deaths among children under five. But these deaths can be easily prevented through the provision of clean water and basic behavioural changes such as treating diarrhoea at home with Oral Rehydrating Salts (ORS), exclusive breastfeeding before six months of age and handwashing with soap at critical times of the day.

Ambassadors for change

By targeting hard-to-reach communities and increasing access to safe water, hygiene and sanitation, the IWASH project is working to help Ghana achieve the United Nations Millennium Development Goals targets related to safe water and sanitation, as well as child mortality. The MDGs, a set of internationally recognized targets for reducing poverty worldwide, call for reducing the by half the proportion of people around the world without access to safe drinking water and basic sanitation by the year 2015.

After ending our classroom visit and walking across the dirt pitch to the handwashing facility, Ahmed proudly showed us and his 70 classmates how he washes his hands with soap. Mr. Bello used the opportunity to give the children an important lesson.

“Share your knowledge and experience with other children,” he said. “Share with your parents and be an ambassador for behaviour change.”

 


 

 

New enhanced search