加纳

加纳农村地区修建公共厕所,卫生条件日渐改善

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Ghana/2010/Williams
加纳北部农村地区希里弗维利村的孩子们冲着照相机微笑。

内里达.威廉姆斯报道

加纳塔马利,2010年8月26日 – 在希里弗维利村,从村长家屋子的门口一直看到丢满陶器和陶瓷炊具的院子,似乎几个世纪以来这个村子都不曾发生任何变化。

但事实上,这里发生了一个重要的变化。

一个新项目(联合国儿童基金会的社区卫生项目的一部分)最近向村子里推广修建公厕,村民们有生以来第一次使用更安全的卫生设施。在加纳北部地区的偏远农村,人们一直以来都在灌木丛里露天排便。

老问题,新办法

露天排便会给健康带来严重危害,使人们更容易受到腹泻疾病、蠕虫侵袭和肝炎疾病的威胁。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Ghana/2010/Williams
加纳北部的希里弗维利村村长带头在村子里推广改善卫生条件。

但如今,加纳的卫生条件正在迅速改善。1990到2006年期间,该国的改良卫生设施覆盖率从6%上升到10%。

联合国儿童基金会通过实施“IWASH”项目,希望越来越多的村庄能够达到“无露天排便”的目标。位于该国北部地区的希里弗维利村是率先实现这一目标的村庄之一。现在所有的村民都能使用到公共厕所或者搭建的小茅房。

希里弗维利村村长在呼吁村民支持新公厕的修建上起了很关键的作用,他向邻居们宣传改良卫生设施的益处,希里弗维利村现在成为该地区卫生设施最先进的村庄之一,他感到非常自豪。

“绝好主意”的流行

几周之前,地区资源协调人员伊沙.贝洛骑车经过邻村,一些村民叫住他,好奇地询问他的工作情况。伊沙.贝洛向他们展示了所拍摄的希里弗维利村公厕的录像带。看到邻村的景象和修建完好的公厕,这些村民也决心在自己的村里修建公厕。

有人问:“为什们他们能做而我们就不能呢?如果别人能修建公厕,我们也可以!”

UNICEF Photo
加纳北部农村地区,乔瑟夫.布努加拉姆站在村子里刚修建的公厕前。

就这样种下了改变的种子。

村民们对伊沙.贝洛说,他们也愿意修建厕所,并且不需要任何外界援助。为了向他证明,村民们让他三周之后再过来。

三周过后,伊沙.贝洛又来到了邻村。几名男子正在尘土飞扬的主路旁的树下等他。社区领导乔瑟夫.布努加拉姆自豪地带他来到新的公厕,公厕用泥土砌成,两边都有门。门上贴了一块波形铁皮,用以区分男厕和女厕。

布努加拉姆说:“这不仅仅是个好主意,而是个绝好的主意。以前你可能踩到别人的粪便,苍蝇也围着你。新的公厕为健康带来的益处非常明显,孩子们不再生病了,腹泻疾病也得到了控制。”

向千年发展目标迈进

这种安全、简单的创新源于村民、服务村民。厕所不但有实际用处,也大大有助于加纳实现有关安全用水和卫生的联合国千年发展目标。千年发展目标是联合国全体成员为减少贫困而力争实现的目标,呼吁到2015年使无法持续获得安全饮用水的人口比例减半。

在希里弗维利村,村长有一个强制使用厕所的特别方法:如有任何村民被发现在露天排便,那么将要接受3个赛地币或约2美元的罚款。

公厕的修建可能并非那么重要,但是杜绝露天排便带来的健康益处却将影响深远。

村长说:“这改变了我们的生活,将对大家有终身的影响。”


 

 

搜索

At a glance: Ghana

Improved sanitation catches on in rural Ghana one latrine at a time

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Ghana/2010/Williams
Children of Chirifoyili village in rural northern Ghana smile for the camera.

By Nerida Williams

TAMALE, Ghana, 26 August 2010 – Peering through the doorway of the Chief’s hut in the village of Chirifoyili, into a courtyard littered with earthenware and ceramic cooking pots, it seems nothing has changed in this village for centuries.

But in fact, one very important thing has changed.
 
A new initiative – part of a UNICEF Community Led Total Sanitation project – has recently introduced latrines to the village, and for the first time, people are using safer sanitation methods. In this and other remote villages in northern Ghana, people have practiced open defecation in the bush throughout history.

Ancient problem, new solutions

Open defecation presents serious health hazards. Communities that practice it are at greater risk of diarrhoeal diseases, worm infestations and hepatitis.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Ghana/2010/Williams
The Chief of Chirifoyili in northern Ghana, who has been instrumental in introducing improved sanitation to his village.

But today improved sanitation is expanding rapidly in Ghana. Between 1990 and 2006, the country’s rate of improved sanitation access has increased from 6 to 10 per cent.

Through its ‘IWASH’ project, UNICEF Ghana is hoping to make more and more villages ‘open defecation-free.’ One of the first villages to obtain this coveted status is Chirifoyili, located in the country’s northern region. Today all community members here have access to drop-toilet latrines, or small outhouses built over safe waste pits.

The Chief of Chirifoyili village, as is frequently the case, was instrumental in rallying the community’s support for new latrines. Having worked to educate his neighbours on the health benefits of improved sanitation, he is now extremely proud of Chirifoyili’s status as one of the first villages in the district to have an advanced method of waste disposal.

‘Excellent idea’ catches on

A few weeks earlier the district resource coordinator, Issah-Bello, was travelling past a nearby village in his vehicle. He was stopped by some villagers, curious to know what his business was in their area. Issah-Bello showed them video footage that he had just taken of the latrines in Chirifoyili. Seeing images of their neighbours and their successful latrines, the villagers were inspired to build their own.

“How could they do this and we can’t?” one asked. “If he can build a latrine toilet, so can I!”

UNICEF Image
Joesph Bnugaram stands in front of a latrine his village recently built in rural northern Ghana.

And so the seeds of change were planted.

The villagers told Issah-Bello that they too would build their own drop toilet latrines – and without any outside help. To prove it, they asked him to return to their village in three weeks.

After three weeks, Issah-Bello did return to the neighbouring village. Several men were awaiting him under a tree nearby the dusty main road. Then community leader Joseph Bnugaram proudly led him to the new latrines – small mud structures with doors on either side. The female side was differentiated by the male side by a sheet of corrugated iron covering the doorway.

“This is not just a good idea, it is an excellent idea,” said Mr. Bnugaram. “Previously, you would step in someone’s defecation, and flies would follow you.” The health benefits of the new latrines have been immediately obvious as well, he said. “Children have not fallen sick, and it has limited diarrhoea.”

Strides toward the MDGs

This safe, simple innovation was built for villagers, by villagers. Besides being practical, the latrines will go a long way to helping Ghana meet the United Nations Millennium Development Goals targets related to safe water and sanitation. The MDGs, a set of internationally recognized targets for reducing poverty worldwide, call for reducing the by half the proportion of people around the world without access to safe drinking water and basic sanitation by the year 2015.

In Chirifoyili, the village Chief has a unique way of enforcing latrine use: he threatens a fine of GHS3.00, or about $2, for any villager caught defecating in an open space.

The construction of latrines may not seem monumental. But the health benefits gained by eradicating open defecation may in fact be.

“It has changed our lives,” said the Chief. “This will have a life-long impact.”


 

 

New enhanced search