埃塞俄比亚

埃塞俄比亚的全国运动提供了挽救生命的免疫接种

尹迪拉斯.格塔丘报道

埃塞俄比亚戴尔区摩托村,2010年11月11日——今年10月,25岁的米萨.沃伽,来到戴尔区摩托村的接种点,她排在了喧闹的长队里,耐心地等待着,这都是因为急着为她六个月大的婴儿达格玛伊.阿亚里接种预防麻疹和小儿麻痹症的缘故。

视频:联合国儿童基金会的安雅.巴容报道联合国儿童基金会对埃塞俄比亚麻疹和小儿麻痹症免疫运动的支持。 在Realplayer中播放

“预防的好处是,可以防止儿童被疾病传染,让他们能健康成长,”米萨说道。“这也是为什么我们将他们带到这里。”

平等免疫

近月来,埃塞俄比亚全国一些地区发生了麻疹疫情,使最近在减少麻疹死亡率方面取得的成果受到了挑战。对此,埃塞俄比亚卫生部在10月22日发起了一次为期四天的全国统一的预防麻疹和小儿麻痹症的免疫运动,这次运动将为年龄在六个月至五岁间的近八百万埃塞俄比亚儿童提供挽救生命的疫苗接种。

马丁.拉菲博士,是联合国儿童基金会驻埃塞俄比亚南方各族州(SNNPR)方案支助办公室的负责人,她对这项运动的重要性进行了说明:

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Ethiopia/2010
在国家麻疹和小儿麻痹症疫苗免疫运动中,马丁.拉菲博士在埃塞俄比亚的摩托村在给儿童接种疫苗。

“如果将欧洲与埃塞俄比亚的麻疹疫情举例做个比较的话,显然欧洲的疫情不会造成儿童的死亡,”她接着说道,“而在埃塞俄比亚,麻疹是造成儿童致死的原因之一,加上儿童在其生活中的脆弱性,以及所有其他可能的困难,会导致严重的营养不良、肺部并发症、脑部感染等疾病,所以在非洲这是我们需治疗的主要疾病之一。”

近年来尽管常规免疫接种服务的提供有了明显进步,但埃塞俄比亚在世界上所有国家 中仍排名倒数第六,并且未接种疫苗的儿童人数最多。2009年,全国麻疹免疫接种率达77%,地区之间仍有巨大差距。该运动旨在寻找那些还没有被现有常规免疫方案恰当覆盖的族裔群体,从而解决这种不平等现象。

参与人数增加

“该运动将为五岁以下的儿童提供麻疹和小儿麻痹症免疫,”古纳特.祖迪埃说道,他是埃塞俄比亚南方各族州戴尔区摩托村的一名接种疫苗的卫生推广人员。“我们每个月在接种点进行麻疹和小儿麻痹症疫苗接种,这项运动还需针对那些还没有打完所有剂量的儿童。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Ethiopia/2010
埃塞俄比亚摩托村的儿童参与麻疹和小儿麻痹症免疫运动。

志愿社区的卫生通讯员对埃塞俄比亚七个地区进行了游说,通告村民有关运动的情况,使参与人数有了提高。

阿达那.安得波是带孩子到摩托村预防接种运动中心的众多关注免疫的母亲之一。

“我们来这里是因为宣传提到在这里可以接种疫苗,这对我们孩子的健康有好处,”安得波女士说道。“他们告诉我们,还有预防麻疹和其他疾病的疫苗。我小的时候得过一次麻疹。当时全身发了疹子。我必须带孩子来的原因是为了让他们将来对这些病有抵抗力,健康的成长,而且有机会受到教育。我希望我的孩子们长大后能成为政府的工作人员。”


 

 

搜索

Ethiopia

National campaign provides life-saving measles vaccinations in Ethiopia

By Indrias Getachew

DALE DISTRICT, Ethiopia, 11 November 2010 – This past October, Meaza Worga, 25, took her place in a bustling queue at the Dale District vaccination post in Moto village and waited patiently – if not a tad anxiously - to get her six-month-old baby Dagmawi Ayalew immunized against measles and polio.

VIDEO: 22 October 2010 - UNICEF correspondent Anja Baron reports on UNICEF-supported measles and polio vaccination campaigns in Ethiopia.  Watch in RealPlayer

 

“The benefit is that it will protect the children from disease, so that they will grow up healthy,” said Meaza. “That is why we have brought them here.”

Immunization with equity

In recent months a measles outbreak in several regions across Ethiopia has threatened to undo recent gains made in the reduction of measles-related mortality. In response, a four-day national integrated measles and polio vaccination campaign launched on 22 October by the Ethiopian Ministry of Health has provided life-saving vaccinations to nearly eight million Ethiopian children between the ages of six months to five years.

Dr. Martine Le Fur, Head of UNICEF Ethiopia’s Area Programme Support Office in Southern Nations Nationalities and Peoples’ Region (SNNPR) explained the importance of the campaign:

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Ethiopia/2010
Dr. Martine Le Fur administers vaccinations as part of a National Measles and Polio Vaccination Campaign in Moto Village, Ethiopia.

“If you compare the measles epidemic in Europe with the measles epidemic in Ethiopia, for instance of course the epidemic will not kill children in Europe,” she continued, “In Ethiopia measles is one of the killers and the vulnerability of the children in the context of their life, with all the other difficulty they can have, will bring severe malnutrition, will bring pulmonary complications, brain infections, so this is one of the main diseases that we are fighting against in Africa.”

Despite marked improvements in the provision of routine immunization services in recent years, Ethiopia ranks sixth among all countries in the world with the largest number of unvaccinated children. In 2009, the national measles immunization rate reached 77 per cent, with large disparities between regions. The campaign sought to address this inequity by seeking out population groups not adequately covered by the existing routine immunization programmes.

Turn-out was high

“The campaign will provide children under five years with measles and polio vaccinations,” said Guenet Zewdie, a health extension worker administering vaccines in Moto Village, Dale District in SNNPR. “We offer measles and polio vaccination once a month at the health post, but this campaign is needed to catch those who may not have completed all their doses.”

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Ethiopia/2010
Children at the Measles and Polio Vaccination Campaign in Moto Village, Ethiopia.

Voluntary community health messengers canvassed seven regions of Ethiopia, informing villagers about the campaign and turn-out was high.

Adanech Andebo was one of the many concerned mothers to bring her children to the Moto Village vaccination campaign centre.

“We came because they announced there would be vaccinations here which are good for our children’s health,” said Ms. Andebo. “They told us that there would be vaccinations against measles and other diseases. I had it once when I was a child. I had rashes all over. The reasons that I have brought my children here is so that they will be protected against diseases and grow-up healthy and have a chance to be educated. I want my children to grow up to be government workers.”


 

 

New enhanced search