刚果

火车阻止疟疾:刚果铁路帮助联合国儿童基金会运送30万顶蚊帐

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Congo/2007
刚果卫生社会政策和家庭部部长埃莫琳.拉奥尔派火车运送由日本捐助的30万顶蚊帐。

莎拉.可鲁报道

2007年8月13日, 刚果共和国黑角市。一切源于传播疟疾病毒的蚊子,和为预防这一致命疾病而慷慨捐赠的大量的防蚊蚊帐,加之该国没有几条铺过的道路,而众多有需要的人口居住在边远的叛军占据地区。

随后有了一个好主意: 乘坐火车是去首都布拉柴维尔市唯一的方法,沿着该国大西洋海岸的陆路交通距离黑角港口600公里。

最后,经过几周的准备工作,八节车厢满载着30万顶蚊帐,火车上披挂着彩旗和标语,政要们聚集在黑角宏伟的火车站前。 刚果卫生社会政策和家庭部部长埃莫琳.拉奥尔戴着白色的工程师帽子,吹响发车的哨声,一个历史性的旅程开始了。

儿童的最大杀手

穿过刚果的两天特殊火车之旅史无前例,装满蚊帐的集装箱被转送到港口的车厢里,随着火车的前进,蚊帐再被装到火车站的卡车上继续它们的旅程。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Congo/2007
火车离开黑角之前,工人们正在装载要送往刚果各地家庭的蚊帐。

来自日本政府的捐助和联合国儿童基金会专用的美国基金,以及刚果政府和国家铁路公司的支持,在所有这些帮助下,联合国儿童基金会得以推动抗击该国儿童最大杀手的运动。

这是为即将到来的儿童健康日做准备的第一步,预先将蚊帐发放到遍布刚果的各个卫生区。 儿童健康日是一项大规模的综合运动,将提供维生素A补充剂、常规防疫,及防虫和防疟疾的蚊帐。 抗击疟疾的火车还将帮助宣传预计进行的十月运动,届时将发放50万顶蚊帐 - 目标是惠及每个五岁以下的儿童。

“认真地斗争”

拉奥尔女士说:“这非常有创意,启用火车,我们是在声明,我们抗击疟疾的斗争是认真的。

“当然,蚊帐只是一部分,”卫生部长继续指出需要推广蚊帐的正确使用、在家周围喷洒杀虫剂、更好的卫生设施,以及为疟疾患儿即时进行治疗。

拉奥尔女士说:“疟疾很折磨人,因此主要的努力是在它们传染给人之前就将病毒消灭。”

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Congo/2007
这个婴儿睡在蚊帐里,而刚果每年数千名未受保护的五岁以下儿童死于疟疾。

战略合作伙伴关系

火车上有武装警察的保护,通过叛军占领的普尔地区,驶过早些时候有火车出轨痕迹的地段 -在急转弯处有被丢弃的刹车片。 但是尚无明显迹象显示法国殖民统治时期建设铁路死亡的工人。

联合国儿童基金会驻刚果代表寇恩.宛诺麦伶根博士说:“很大的讽刺是,1920年代靠牺牲两万人的生命建造的铁路,现在被用来拯救生命。”

宛诺麦伶根博士继续说:“要运出这些蚊帐很困难,通常需要用一年的时间运送它们,所以我们想出与铁路公司和政府建立战略合作伙伴关系的办法。”

保护所有的儿童

之所以有这么大的计划,是因为在每个医院或诊所,都清楚地看到疟疾患儿不胜枚举。  据联合国儿童基金会国家办公室的报告,刚果只有5%的孕妇和五岁以下的儿童在驱虫蚊帐里睡觉。 疟疾是儿童患病和死亡的主要原因;也是引起孕妇贫血危险的主因,这会造成新生儿的体重过轻。

在卢博莫市和恩卡伊市火车站,一些蚊帐直接分送给了孕妇和带小孩的母亲们。 她们非常兴奋,因为这些蚊帐在今后的五年中不需要再做杀虫剂处理。

28岁的阿莱特.伯恩舟抱着她18个月大的女儿玛丽亚.洛尔说:“我们在市场买的蚊帐不像这些这么安全,所以我们的孩子还是会患疟疾。 现在,有了这样的蚊帐,我们就有保障了。”

穿越急流险滩,葱郁的热带雨林和干燥开阔的平原前往繁忙的布拉柴维尔,为抗击疟疾,火车承载着保护每位刚果儿童免受可预防疾病的伤害,渐渐驶近千年发展目标。


 

 

视频(英文)

2007年8月13日:
联合国儿童基金会通讯员莎拉.可鲁报道与刚果国家铁路建立战略合作伙伴关系来发放防疟疾蚊帐。

 音频 高速 | 低速

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

At a glance: Congo

On track to stop malaria: Congolese railroad helps UNICEF deliver 300,000 bednets

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Congo/2007
Congo’s Minister of Health, Social Policy and Family, Emelienne Raoul, sends off the train carrying 300,000 insecticide-treated bednets donated by Japan.

By Sarah Crowe

POINTE NOIRE, Republic of Congo, 13 August 2007 – It all started with an excess of malaria-carrying mosquitoes and a generous but bulky donation of insecticide-treated bednets to prevent the killer disease – plus a country with few paved roads and a population in need, living in inaccessible rebel-held areas.

Then came a bright idea: Get on the train, the only way to reach Congo’s capital, Brazzaville, 600 km overland from the port of Pointe Noire on the country’s Atlantic coast.

In the end, after weeks of preparation, eight train cars were loaded up with 300,000 bednets, the train was draped in flags and banners, and dignitaries gathered in front of Pointe Noire’s imposing Art Deco station. The Minister of Health, Social Policy and Family, Emelienne Raoul, donned a white engineer’s hat and whistled off the train, and the historic journey was under way.

Biggest killer of children

The special train’s two-day trip through Congo was a first. The journey had begun with containers of bednets being transferred onto the rail carriages at the port, and as it continued, the nets were reloaded onto trucks at stations along the way.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Congo/2007
Before the train leaves Pointe Noire, workers load it with bednets to be distributed to families throughout Congo.

Donations from the Government of Japan and the US Fund for UNICEF, and support from the Congolese Government and the national railroad company, all helped UNICEF get the campaign rolling out against the biggest killer of this country’s children.

It was the first step in pre-positioning the bednets at health districts across Congo for the upcoming Child Health Days, a major integrated campaign that will provide vitamin A supplementation, routine vaccination and de-worming as well as malaria nets. The train against malaria also helped to create awareness about the scheduled October campaign, during which half a million bednets will be distributed – with the aim of reaching nearly every child under the age of five.

‘Serious about the struggle’

“It is really innovative,” said Ms. Raoul. “By launching this train, we are saying that we are serious about the struggle against malaria.

“Of course, the bednets are only one part of it,” the health minister continued, pointing to the need to promote the proper use of the nets along with insecticide spraying around homes, better sanitation and prompt treatment for children who contract malaria.

“Malaria is a real struggle for us, so the main thing is try and kill the larvae before they infect people,” said Ms. Raoul.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Congo/2007
This baby is sleeping under a bednet, but every year thousands of unprotected Congolese children under five die from malaria.

Strategic partnership

With armed police on board for protection through the rebel-held Pool region, the train passed signs of some earlier derailments along the track – shards of metal discarded around sharp corners. But there was little visible evidence of the toll the railroad took during its construction in the French colonial heydays here.

“It’s a great irony that the railroad that took 20,000 lives to build in the 1920s is now being used to save lives,” said UNICEF’s Representative in Congo, Dr. Koen Vanormelingen.

“It was a tremendous challenge to get these nets out, and on a regular schedule it would have taken a year to transport them,” added Dr. Vanormelingen. “So we came up with the strategic partnership with the railroad company and the government.”

Protecting every child

The reason for such big plans is plain to see at any hospital or clinic, where child malaria cases abound. According to the UNICEF country office, only about 5 percent of pregnant women and children under five sleep beneath insecticide-treated bednets in Congo. Malaria is the major cause of sickness and death in children; it is also the leading cause of dangerous anaemia in pregnant women, which results in low birthweight among newborns.

At the Dolisie and Nkayi train stations, some bednets were handed out directly to pregnant women and mothers with small children. They were especially thrilled because the nets were the kind that do not have to be re-treated with insecticide for five years.

“The mosquito nets we get at the market are not impregnated like these, so our children still get malaria. With these ones now we are secure and protected,” said Arlette Boungou, 28, with her 18-month-old daughter Marie-Loure in her arms.

Travelling across swift rivers and rapids, lush tropical forests and dry open savannah to busy Brazzaville, the train against malaria put Congo on track to protecting every child from preventable diseases and coming closer to reaching its Millennium Development Goals.


 

 

Video

13 August 2007:
UNICEF correspondent Sarah Crowe reports on a strategic partnership with the Congolese national railroad to deliver malaria nets.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search