喀麦隆

志愿者在喀麦隆北部地区为民众进行营养教育

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2009/Sweeting
在位于喀麦隆北部琼奇村的联合国儿童基金会支持的保健中心内,玛丽.马布雷(右)给她年幼的双胞胎女儿中的一个喂富含维生素、高能量、高蛋白的食物,而社区卫生志愿者萨拉.丹纳托则抱着马布雷女士的另一个女儿。

喀麦隆琼奇,2009年11月13日 – 两岁的孪生姐妹马辛.埃斯特(Massing Esther)和提托.安娜比正常体重轻5公斤。因为营养不良,她们没法像正常孩子一样行走。在喀麦隆北部琼奇村的老家,她们无论去哪里都得叫人抱着才行。

 点击这里观看视频

她们的母亲、今年42岁的玛丽.马布雷(Marie Maboule)也患有营养不良,但是她还是去哪里都抱着她们。马布雷总共有12个孩子,所有孩子都患营养不良。家里有固定收入,所以每天吃一顿有营养的饭都是难事。

马布雷说自己每天准备一种用沸水搅拌的玉米糊,这是当地人吃的主食。她还说:“蔬菜很少,家里根本吃不起肉。”

尽管这位母亲努力地种庄稼养家,过去的这一年还是过得很艰辛。她说:“我们今年收获的庄稼根本不够养活12口人。我觉得全家一天吃两顿饭都很困难。”

营养宣传行动

营养不良是喀麦隆儿童的最大杀手之一,在北部地区情况尤其严重。根据2009年7月以来的记录,仅仅琼奇的保健中心就有大约155个儿童营养不良病例。

为了应对这一情况,联合国儿童基金会正在这个地区支持一个旨在召集400多名社区保健志愿者到各家各户宣传营养知识的计划。

萨拉.丹纳托(Sara Djanatou)就是琼奇的一位社区志愿者。她每天要走15公里的路宣传有关如何摄取营养的信息。

她说:“这个地区的很多人是文盲,尤其是妇女。 这里各个家庭的人口也很多。再加上贫困,这就意味着很多家庭每天连两顿饭都吃不上。”

培训医生和护士

在马布雷的家里,丹纳托借助自己制作的画有食物图片的海报,指着图片上的鸡蛋、水果和营养含量高的蔬菜,告诉大家如何在他们经济能力的范围内烹制营养均衡的膳食。

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF/2009/Sweeting
在喀麦隆北部的琼奇村,玛丽.马布雷的五岁女儿德博拉.摩尔琮帮助她给马布雷营养不良的双胞胎女儿之一提托.安娜喂玉米糊。

社区志愿者们还鼓励村民去联合国儿童基金会与当地卫生部门合作开办的保健中心。在中心里,护士们通过量身高和体重来彻底检查儿童的身体状况,还给那些体重不足的儿童发放加强食品——一种玉米、大豆、糖和油的营养混合物。

患有其他并发症的营养不良儿童则被转到附近的盖德区级医院。在那里,十多名联合国儿童基金会培训的护士和医生使用一系列的干预措施努力挽救他们的生命。

初显成效

医院的工作人员们已经注意到,在他们帮助下回复健康的儿童越来越多。

盖德医院的儿科医生娜娜.帕梅拉(Nana Pamela)说:“在联合国儿童基金会的这个项目于2009年开始以前,人们无法获得用来治疗营养不良的特殊食物。现在他们能够从医院获得食疗牛奶,还可以从保健中心和医院领取随时可以食用的食疗食品。”

项目已经初见成效。比如,2009年10月没有记录显示有儿童死于营养不良,而7月和8月共有7名死亡病例。

联合国儿童基金会驻喀麦隆营养专员丹尼斯.卡尼尔(Denis Garnier)说:“在北部地区,我们有10万名体重正急速下降的营养不良的儿童。这个项目覆盖了这里41个地区中的11个,可以治愈5000到10000名儿童。我们正在寻找资金来扩大这个项目的规模。”


 

 

视频(英文)

2009年11月11日:联合国儿童基金会通讯员艾什.斯维廷报道喀麦隆北部社区正努力应对营养不良问题。
 视频   |

从新闻市场下载广播质量的视频

搜索

Cameroon

Community volunteers fight undernutrition in northern Cameroon

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2009/Sweeting
At the UNICEF-supported health centre in Tchontchi village, northern Cameroon, Marie Maboule (right) feeds vitamin-fortified, high-energy and protein-rich therapeutic food to one of her young twin daughters, while community health volunteer Sara Djanatou holds Ms. Maboule’s other twin.

By John Nkuo

TCHONTCHI, Cameroon, 13 November 2009 – Almost 5 kilos underweight and too undernourished to walk, two-year-old twins Massing Esther and Tito Anna have to be carried everywhere they go in their home village of Tchontchi, in northern Cameroon.

VIDEO: Watch now

Their mother, Marie Maboule, 42, does the carrying, despite being undernourished herself. Ms. Maboule has a total of 12 children, all of whom struggle from lack of nutrition. The family lacks a regular income, so providing nutritious meals on a daily basis is a difficult task.

“I prepare niri,” Ms. Maboule says, referring to the local staple of corn or millet flour boiled in water. “Vegetables are few and far between, and the family cannot afford to eat meat,” she adds.

It has been a difficult year, despite the mother’s efforts to cultivate crops for her family: “The crops we harvested this year are not enough to feed a family of 12,” she says. “I find it very difficult to give my family two meals a day.”

Nutrition education initiative

Undernutrition is one of the biggest killers of children in Cameroon. The northern region is particularly hard hit; since July 2009, some 155 cases of severe acute malnutrition in children have been registered at the local health centre in Tchontchi alone.

In response, UNICEF is supporting an initiative in the region that is bringing more than 400 community health volunteers to area households to educate families about nutrition.

Sara Djanatou is one such community volunteer in Tchontchi. She travels up to 15 kilometres every day to spread key messages on good nutrition.

“A lot of the people in this area, particularly women, are illiterate,” she says. “The size of families here is also very high. So this, coupled with poverty, means that many families can’t afford to have two meals a day.”

Training for doctors and nurses

In Ms. Maboule’s house, Ms. Djanatou overcomes these obstacles by producing a poster with pictures of foods such as eggs, fruit and highly nutritious vegetables. She points to the pictures, giving the family guidance on how to cook a balanced meal within their financial means.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF/2009/Sweeting
In Tchontchi village, northern Cameroon, Marie Maboule’s five-year-old daughter Deborah Morzone helps her feed niri (corn or millet flour mixed in boiled water) to Tito Anna, one of Ms. Maboule’s undernourished twins.

The community volunteers also encourage villagers to visit the local UNICEF-supported health centre, which is operated in collaboration with the Ministry of Health. At the centre, nurses examine children thoroughly by checking their weight and height. Bowls of fortified food – made from a nutritious mixture of corn, soya bean, sugar and oil – are distributed to those who are underweight.

Undernourished children with medical complications are referred to the nearby Guider District Hospital, where more than a dozen UNICEF-trained nurses and doctors work to save their lives through a range of interventions.

Signs of effectiveness
The hospital staff has already noticed an increase in the number of children they’ve managed to bring back to good health.

“Before the UNICEF programme started in 2009, people did not have access to the special type of food needed to treat malnutrition,” recalls Dr. Nana Pamela, a paediatrician at Guider. “Now they have access to therapeutic milk through the hospital, as well as ready-to-use therapeutic food, both at the health centres and the hospital.”

The programme is showing early signs of its effectiveness. No deaths from undernourishment were recorded in October 2009, for example, compared to the seven recorded in July and August.

“In this northern region, we have 100,000 malnourished children with rapid weight loss,” says UNICEF Cameroon Nutrition Specialist Denis Garnier. “The programme, which covers 11 out of the 41 districts here, has made it possible to treat 5,000 to 10,000 children. We are looking for funds to scale up the programme.”


 

 

Video

1 November 2009: UNICEF’s Salma Zulfiqar reports on community efforts to fight malnutrition in northern Cameroon.
 VIDEO  high | low

Broadcast-quality
video on demand
from The Newsmarket

New enhanced search