布隆迪

在布隆迪,互动剧场增强了当地社区对抗疟疾的凝聚力

UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Burundi/2011/Krzysiek
互动剧场使当地社区人们能够反抗他们在日常生活中面对的压迫。

Pawel Krzysiek 报道

布隆迪恩戈齐,2011 年 10 月 3 日 —— “还给我!你不能把它卖了!疟疾会让咱们的孩子没命的!”一个年轻女人哭喊着,正与她父亲为争夺一个蓝色塑料袋展开激烈的拉锯战。一群围观的人迅速聚集在两人周围,此时响起他们的欢呼声、笑声和热烈的掌声。

尽管这个场景可能看起来很真实,但实际上观众正在目睹的是为推广使用驱虫蚊帐 (ITN) 而演出的露天互动戏剧。

增强社区力量

“剧院使我们有机会与压迫我们、剥夺我们蚊帐使用权利的人互动”,一个五岁孩子的妈妈 Odette 说,她参与了戏剧表演。“就为一瓶啤酒把它卖了可不行——蚊帐能救我们和我们的孩子。”

这里是马兰加拉 (Marangara),位于布隆迪北部的恩戈齐省,人们采用互动剧场作为切入点,直捣社区问题的根源。社区采用“压迫者”的方法鼓励人们参与自我激励活动,比如对话和批判性思考,帮助他们反抗在日常生活中面临的压迫。

“布隆迪的人们喜爱参与露天活动”,Asteria Nizigiyimana 女士解释道,她在地方非政府组织 Tubiyage 工作,这个组织负责运作由联合国儿童基金会 (UNICEF) 赞助的互动剧场。“我们用幽默、歌唱和角色扮演鼓励他们参与我们的节目。”

Nizigiyimaana 女士着重强调了挑战社会禁忌、误解和态度的需求。“剧场是这些人的世界,因为我们演的是他们的真实生活,他们与我们共同表演,”她说。
UNICEF Photo
© UNICEF Burundi/2011/Krzysiek
在布隆迪农村,只有 48% 的五岁以下儿童和 48% 的怀孕妇女能睡在蚊帐里。在农村和更边远的地区,统计结果更糟糕。

致命杀手

Adel Namacumi 先生是马兰加拉的一名店主,对他来说剧场还是一种能够战胜无知的工具。

“大多数人不会阅读或写字,他们忽略了这么重要的问题”,他说。“我以前有一个蚊帐,但是我把它卖了,就因为我不知道怎么用。现在我知道它能保护我和我的家人。”

每30秒就有一个撒哈拉以南非洲地区的孩子死于疟疾。这种病伴发腹泻和肺炎,是导致五岁以下儿童死亡的主要原因。最小的孩子和怀孕妇女通常最脆弱。

虽然联合国儿童基金会及其发展伙伴通过在全国范围内分发驱虫蚊帐 (ITN),那些蚊帐往往被用来交易或滥用。

“疟疾是全国保健中心问诊的主要原因”,联合国儿童基金会卫生专家 Sophie Leonard 博士解释道。“但大约 40% 需要立即就医治疗的布隆迪儿童被留在家中,未采取任何措施。”

向最易感人群伸出援手

为了与疾病抗争,社区的参与至关重要。 联合国儿童基金会在布隆迪分发驱虫蚊帐 (ITN) 的同时全面推行辅助干预措施,其中包括宣传、能力培养、社会动员、为改变行为而进行沟通,以及基于社区的卫生干预措施。

这些活动的目的是接触最边缘化的弱势群体,这些人大多处于边远地区,获得基本服务的途径有限。


 

 

搜索

Burundi

In Burundi, interactive theatre empowers local communities in the fight against malaria

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Burundi/2011/Krzysiek
Interactive theatre enables local communities to fight back against the oppression they face in their daily lives.

By Pawel Krzysiek

NGOZI, Burundi, 3 October 2011 -  “Give it back! You will not sell this! Malaria is killing our babies!” screams a young woman, as she engages in a passionate tug-of-war with her father over a blue plastic bag. A crowd of onlookers quickly gather around the duo, offering up their cheers, laughter and enthusiastic applause.

Although this scene may appear real, the audience is actually witnessing a scene of open-air interactive theatre, promoting the use of Insecticide-Treated Nets (ITN).

Empowering a community

“The theatre gives us a chance to interact with our oppressors who stop us from using the net as we should do,” said Odette, a mother of five and theatre participant. “It is bad to sell it only for a beer - the nets can save us and our children.”

Here in Marangara, in Burundi’s northern province of Ngozi, interactive theatre is used as an entry point to reach the root causes of community problems. Using the technique of “The Oppressed”, the community is encouraged to engage in self-empowering processes such as dialogue and critical thinking, to help them fight back against the oppression they face in their daily lives.

“The people of Burundi love open-space participatory events,” explained Ms. Asteria Nizigiyimana who works with the local NGO Tubiyage, which runs the UNICEF-supported interactive theatre. “We use humour, songs and role-play to encourage them to join us in the show.”

Ms. Nizigiyimaana, went on to highlight the need to challenge community taboos, misconceptions and attitudes. “The theatre is the people’s world because we play their real lives and they play with us,” she said.

UNICEF Image
© UNICEF Burundi/2011/Krzysiek
Only 48 per cent of the children under five and 48 per cent of pregnant women in the rural areas sleep under mosquito net in Burundi. Statistics gets worse in the rural and most remote areas.

A major killer

For Mr. Adel Namacumi, a shop owner in Marangara, the theatre is also an excellent tool to fight people’s ignorance.

“Most people can’t read or write and they are ignorant about such important issues,” he said. “I had a mosquito net before, but I sold it because I didn’t know how to use it. Now I know it will protect me and my family.”

Every 30 seconds, malaria kills one child in the sub-Saharan Africa. Together with diarrhoea and pneumonia, the disease is a main cause of mortality among children under five. The youngest children and pregnant women are, as always, the most vulnerable.

Although UNICEF and development partners are responding to the crisis with the nationwide distribution of ITNs, they are often traded or misused.

“Malaria is the first reason for consultation in the Health Centres across the country,” explained UNICEF Health Specialist Dr Sophie Leonard. “Yet, around 40 per cent of Burundi children in need of immediate medical treatment are left home without any assistance.”

Reaching the most vulnerable

In order to fight the disease, community participation is essential. UNICEF in Burundi combines the distribution of ITNs with a wide-range of supplementary interventions including advocacy, capacity building, social mobilisation, communication for behaviour change and community-based health interventions.

The activities aim to reach the most marginalised and vulnerable populations, mostly in remote areas, with limited access to basic services.


 

 

New enhanced search